Khaolak Merlin Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Khaolak Merlin Resort

7 / 7 Phetkasem Road Lamkaen, Taimuang, Khao Lak 82210 Thailand
Traveller (2780)
Room & Suite (411)
Tropical Garden at the Khaolak Merlin Resort
Dining (142)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£87
Fully refundable before Tue, 28 May
Go to your Happy Price
£102
Breakfast included
£55
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#6 of 39 resorts in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Khaolak Merlin Resort is a deluxe resort with style inspired by Thailand's rich culture, situated approximately 50 minutes away from Phuket International Airport yet set amongst peaceful tropical forest landscape and tranquil beaches. It has direct access to 190 meters of Khao Lak Beach front and is surrounded by 15 acres of lush tropical gardens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

7 / 7 Phetkasem Road Lamkaen, Taimuang, Khao Lak 82210 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 77 out of 100
77
Phuket Intl Airport
34.8 mi
See all flights
1,511Review414Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 978
  • 413
  • 90
  • 16
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kevin M wrote a review Mar 2020
Bedford, United Kingdom464 contributions82 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for last 2 weeks of Feb 2020. First time in Thailand but will not be the last..
Hotel set in beautiful grounds all planted with large and small trees and bushes. The whole width of the beach front was lawned with gardens kept neat and tidy the whole time. Plenty of sunbeds, trees and umbrellas for shade. Loads of room no crammed in rows. No problem getting a sunbed but of course if you want prime spots you have to get in early. The beach (no sunbeds allowed) one of the cleanest I have seen only the odd piece of seaweed and very occasional plastic.. Rooms are set back in blocks 2 stories high. We had a standard room above a swim up room I wonder if it is worth paying extra for one of those. Good size room, very good aircon, kept clean. with a sunken bath.
We were AI cannot fault the food good choice at breakfast We mainly ate buffet style in the evening large choice. Some buffets you go to the food sits around for a while after all the good pieces have been taken ,not here served in small freshly cooked amounts and replenished swiftly .
I must mention the lunch menu in the veranda restaurant good choice very well cooked my favourite was the temporra prawns and the fish and chips. OK a bit englishman abroad but don't know what the fish was but it was spot on.
All the staff were friendly and efficient no complaints there. It is the land of smiles.
Evening entertainment was very low key so not a lot going on which was fine for us but others might find it dull
Short walk out of the hotel various shops (supermarket pharmacy tourist shop a couple of taylors ) bars and restaurants. We usually stopped for a nightcap in the Tigar Bar. good drinks sit and watch the world go by. Caught a taxi a couple of times to the main drag 250B each way .
I hope that the current virus doesn't do too much damage to the tourist industry here, We will be back as soon as the problems gone
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Merlin Group, Sales at Khaolak Merlin Resort
Responded 22 Mar 2020
Dear Bigkev88, Thank you so much for staying at our resort and for detailing your exceptional stay with us. It is really great to know that you found our property located at the edge of the town in a unique large plot with lots of old trees and a lush forest garden of prime quality. Also, we are happy to know that you were totally comfortable in your room and your appreciation for the quality service our staff provided you will be shared with our team members. We really hope that the current situation will soon improve and that we will be able to welcome you back to our tropical forest in the near future. Best regards, The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary S wrote a review Jan 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom34 contributions77 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent one week here 7/1/20 and very happy to recommend the hotel. We had a standard room overlooking second pool which was very nice. Hotel has a lovely 'jungle' feel to it with well maintained gardens around most of the rooms. Higher floors unless you fancy a swim-up would be my recommendation as some ground floor rooms are very screened by the large plants. Pools include hydro, and one with a small slide for the kids. Beach is nice, nothing to get too excited about if you enjoy snorkeling but fine for a swim, Plenty of sun beds and nicely spread out. We were B&B as we enjoy eating out in Thailand. Outside the hotel there is a decent selection of restaurants to choose from and some of the fish on offer is excellent value - Lecker we thought was particularly good, Initially did wonder if we had booked a hotel too far from the Khao Lak centre but after a cheap taxi ride one evening to the centre we decided location of the Merlin was perfect as local area we much preferred to the centre which is all laid out on one long stretch of dual carriageway and has little charm/character. A lack of Thai charm and character would be our only complaint about Khao Lak resort in general - Krabi where we spent our second week had so much more to see and do. Anyone with a young family may appreciate the location as the resort seems much more family friendly than some areas of Thailand we have seen. If you fancy a stay in this area would thoroughly recommend the Merlin.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you book a standard room try and get one above swim-ups as they have the most attractive setting.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Merlin_Group, The Management at Khaolak Merlin Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Gary, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, very happy to read your review here following your stay at our resort. We undoubtedly have a fantastically central location to give our guests, Khao Lak National Park is just a few steps away from the property and nearby is a waterfall just across the main road. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed the lush and well looked after resort grounds with beautiful trees, streams of flowers and wildlife. Next time you visit Khao Lak we hope you stay with us. Best regards, The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ryman47 wrote a review Jan 2020
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom9 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Landed in Thailand at 04:30 hrs. we opted for the meet and greet at the Airport, of which we went through customs within 15 minutes excellent service, collected our luggage and set us off in a taxi to our hotel Merlin Beech Resort in Khao Lan.
On arrival at our hotel we were booked in smoothly to our room by 06:00 hrs.
Room spacious and clean plenty of wardrobe and storage space and balcony overlooking swimming pool jacuzzi.
Unpacked cases and went for an early breakfast then set off exploring the hotel grounds. We were surprised how large the beach garden was, and very well maintained, the beach was spotless clean and beautiful sand and clear waters.
All our food during the two weeks we stayed was high quality and excellent service from the staff, also the bar service was very good especially in Lobby Bar our shout out to Zanook and Bumking (I hope the spelling is correct :) .
Also Fee at the Beach restaurant, Dang at breakfast, Joob breakfast and mid lunch.
Champoy was a pleasure to meet and willing to accommodate anything we wanted.
Our overall staff member was Max evening bar and restaurant, but all the staff were friendly and excellent service and cleanliness. Thank you all for a lovely first time holiday to Thailand. Room 2212
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We were in 2212 great room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Merlin_Group, The Management at Khaolak Merlin Resort
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear Ryman47, Thank you very much for your excellent feedback from your recent visit and for sharing the highlights of your holidays. It was indeed a pleasure to learn that you had a fully enjoyable holiday and that the team was able to meet, or even exceed your expectations! It is such a delight to know as well that you enjoyed the extensive breakfast selection with eggs cooked to order to a high standard and including both local and more European items. All the team truly hopes that you will be able to return to Khaolak Merlin Resort and it would be our pleasure to be able to host you here once again. Best regards, The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony W wrote a review Mar 2023
Southport, United Kingdom255 contributions223 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at this hotel having spent a week at the Cape Panwa hotel in Phuket. It's the first time we have done a 2 centre holiday and we wanted to experience different areas of this beautiful country.

The drive from Cape Panwa was 2 hours and we arrived just after official check in time of 2pm.

Merlin Resort is in very rural setting, alongside a couple of hotels, with a small vibrant village nestled behind it.

We were allocated Room 2211 which after spending a week at the resort, was in a perfect quiet spot, with access to 2 hidden pools in enclosed courtyard areas. The room is perfectly proportioned and spacious.

The resort is perfect. The PR stuff makes huge claims that when building the resort they did not remove or cut down any of the existing mature trees. From the random and unusual design, you can see that is right and it adds to the character and ambience of the whole resort.

It has an amazing beachfront presence. The sea is delightful, there are walks down the beach in both directions and a little village of shops/restaurants congregated around the couple of hotels situated in this area.

The hotel has 2 restaurants.

Garden restaurant does breakfast buffet and evening buffet, although on Monday and Thursday it does a la carte.

The Verandah restaurant does all day lunch and evening a la carte, apart from Mondays and Thursdays when it is the buffet restaurant.

Food choice and quality is amazing.

Drink choice is amazing. My wife found the white wine undrinkable but the red wine perfect. Unfortunately as is usual for Thailand there is no house sparkling wine!!

The beachfront was beautiful. Getting seats in the morning, was one of the most chilled experiences as there are lots of seats, many areas, some in the shade, some not. The sea is delightful and the walks up and down the stretch of beach are lovely.

There are lots of pools scattered about the resort. We did not sample them except those beside the rooms as the beach was where we wanted to be all day.

As we were only in the resort a week it was difficult for us to form any close relationship with the staff, but as you come to expect in Thailand, the service was always amazing, attentive and friendly.

This is a resort we are already planning to come back to!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Merlin Group, Sales at Khaolak Merlin Resort
Responded 13 Mar 2023
Dear BisphamRoad, Thank you for your wonderful review of Merlin Resort! We are so glad to hear that you had a great time and were able to experience different areas of this beautiful country. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and were able to take advantage of all the resort had to offer. We are delighted to hear that you were allocated a room that was perfect for your stay and that you enjoyed the amazing beachfront presence. It’s wonderful to hear that you were able to find the perfect spot to relax and take in the beautiful scenery. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and drink options available, however we noted your comments on the white wine. We’re thrilled to hear that you are already planning to come back to the resort! We hope to see you again soon! Living in Harmony with Nature, Warm regards, The Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
walkerjames2018 wrote a review Feb 2020
Haslingden, United Kingdom24 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently went on holiday to the Merlin resort Khaolak in Thailand.
We visited Thailand for the first time with our friends and were not disappointed. The hotel and staff were all excellent and to be honest you would go a long way to beat the food and service received. The best gluten free menu I think we have seen without needing to ask the chef what is actually available.
The hotel is positioned on a large sandy beach where you could walk at your leisure for around half a mile one way or the other way probably further taking in beach bars or massage areas should this be to your liking.
Only a short walk out of the main hotel entrance there were a small selection of bars, restaurants and shops . If you wanted to venture out to other areas there were tuk tuk taxis available which were reasonably priced and an experience in theirselves .
Beautiful country which we would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Merlin Group, Sales at Khaolak Merlin Resort
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear walkerjames2018, It is such a pleasure to read your glowing review of your stay with us at Khaolak Merlin Resort. We truly appreciate it when our guests share their lovely thoughts and experiences with us. We welcome guests from all over the globe, which of course means we see many different dietary requirements, and our team is trained to cater just about anything our guests need. Our chefs will be delighted to know that they were able to impress you with a high level of quality in their cooking. Our staff strives to make sure all our guests experience the highest level of hospitality, and they will be very pleased to know that their efforts did not go unnoticed. We're are also glad that you loved the location of our property. We can't wait to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thomas E wrote a review Jan 2020
Uckfield, United Kingdom37 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Don’t come here if you want jet ski ,banana boat, organised activities etc...but do if you want a relaxed atmosphere of a quality resort on the beach and set in landscaped tropical gardens.
Hotel was full when we were there but it did not seem so which meant no fight for sun beds or tables in the restaurant and bars.
Our deluxe room was great and a very good size with views to the sea from a large balcony.
All the staff were helpful and polite and hotel clean and well looked after. Nothing really to fault our stay. Very comprehensive buffet breakfast and other hotel meals reasonably priced.
Brochure stated 4 pools but in practice only two, one with swim up bar. Also said 4 restaurants but again only two.
Hotel is only a few minutes walk from a cluster of shops ,restaurants and a few bars. All you need here including pharmacy, two small “supermarket “ , plus usual tailors , trip sellers, massage, etc. Plenty of atmosphere especially in the evening..reasonable meal around £10 a head. Centre of Khaolak about 15 mins by taxi costing around £4 each way. Journey time to Phuket airport around 80 mins.
Temperature around the 30c mark only dropping a little at night. Great beach to walk along..not crowded and no sun beds, beach hawkers etc, just an occasional bar set back in the trees.

One thing...my 200 Bhart tee shirt split along the seams after one wear so spend a little more !
Hotel put two pairs of flip flops in the room..despite wearing one pair and thinking they are complimentary we packed them but were charged 100 bhart...bit petty !

In all well done Merlin Khaolak. Thank you for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Merlin_Group, The Management at Khaolak Merlin Resort
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Dear 952thomase, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your positive feedback; we are pleased with your report of a pleasant stay. Our place is inspired by Thailand's rich culture set amongst peaceful tropical forest landscape and tranquil beaches and we are happy to know that you were relaxed in our eco-friendly themes and natural setting. Also, we think a daily breakfast is the best way to start an adventure, glad you enjoyed our very generous Western and Asian daily goodness. All the Team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Best regards, The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bangtao wrote a review Feb 2020
Waedenswil Switzerland59 contributions77 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was in 2009 that we discovered this beautiful resort. Since then we have come back again and again. The Merlin is suitable for old people but also for families. The park is ever so large - there is the pool with the adjoining children's pool but there are also 3 other pools. There are lots of beachchairs and lots of trees. We never needed a sun ombrella. Best of all there are aereas that are very quiet - totaly relaxing. Nature is awesome, so green so lush especially when you come from the European Winter. We liked to swim in the clean sea (no jelly fish, no plastic) in the early morning when the sun rises over the trees. Just lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Try to get a room near the beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MERLIN PHUKET, Sales at Khaolak Merlin Resort
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Bangtao, We appreciate every single guest who stays with us; however, it is a particular pleasure to see guests choosing to return over and over again. We also feel like these guests become our extended family, and our team is genuinely happy to see you each year. Khaolak Merlin Resort is renowned for providing a sanctuary to our guests so we are incredibly pleased to know that you felt like you were in 'paradise' during your stay with us. It is very important to us that there is something each and every one of our guests to enjoy and we’re delighted to know that you got to enjoy the facilities, activities, and the incredible location of our property. We are extremely lucky to have hosted guests like you and we absolutely cannot wait for the day we get to see you again. Best Regards, The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aceman18 wrote a review Apr 2022
Tean, United Kingdom593 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from 12 nights at Merlin Khao Lak. Probably the best hotel stay i've had, for many many reasons, and i've had a few
We booked directly with the hotel and organised our own flights from UK. Whole test n go process worked flawlessly with hotel pickup from airport and 5 hour wait for results.
Hotel was very quite on arrive but service throughout was impeccable across all staff without exception.
We had a Premium pool view room which we upgraded to part way through for a pool access room. IMO these are the best rooms on the site. The cleanliness and facilities were proper boutique hotel standard. The top part of the hotel nearest reception appears to only be partly used due to occupancy levels.
Lots of food options on the menu and as part of our booked package we received 20% off of food and beverages for the stay. Not once did we spend over £25 equiv on a full evening meal with drinks for 2. Very, very reasonable.
Our package was B&B and breakfast has enough options to please everyone, of a very high quality. The omletes were sublime.
There are a few food options in the tiny village where the hotel sits but none of them to the same quality as the Merlin and often marginally more expensive. There is a great little bar called JoJo's but going to the centre you will get harassed by 5, yes 5 tailor shops to 'make you a suit' with very high pressure sales. The only downside.Theyre just trying to make a living in an impossible market and I did have sympathy for them, but I just didnt want to buy a suit!
Back to the hotel. The beach is great with nice fine sand and plenty of smooth rocks. Turn left and within 200 metres there are very good beach massages for £7 for an hour and the excellent, but basic 'Nana on the Beach' cafe shack.
If you want to go into Khao Lak proper, a taxi is 250 bht to the market (centre). All easily organised with the hotel.

So a well done to the management and team at Merlin for providing us with a magical never to be forgotten break. I do sincerely hope you get back to busy occupancy levels soon.

Only 2 minor issues. The few missing pool tiles in the main pool had sharp edges but we could see they were being attended to and the sunset bar could really do with some premium drinks (spirits) as i'm sure many would be happy to pay more for a premium choice rather than the local spirits.

Thanks again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Pool access rooms on main waterfalls section.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Merlin Group, Sales at Khaolak Merlin Resort
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Dear Adrian, We appreciate your great review and that you have taken the time to share your wonderful experience with us. Feedback is not only important to us, but also to other guests, so we appreciate your review.  We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the pool access room, breakfast, beach and our services. It's always a pleasure to receive great feedback, it serves as a great motivator for our staff to maintain a high standard of service. And also thank you for your comment on missing pool tiles and drink menu at Sunset bar. We will share it to our concerned department. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful holiday with us and we hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay. Best regards, The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dao1949 wrote a review Apr 2021
Chiang Mai, Thailand1,607 contribution284 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort and grounds were very elegant with extensive gardens and water features. Our suite was located far away from the hotel lobby and close to the main swimming pool at the beach area. The room was very spacious and modern with many amenities for a comfortable stay. The bathroom was also quite elegant and large with an enclosed glass wall shower and bath tub. A fine restaurant on the hotel grounds was only a short walk from our room. Many fine foods at reasonable prices. We stayed 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our experience ! However, I was quite surprised that the bathroom toilet did not have a sprayer for cleaning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EDJB21 wrote a review Jan 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom13 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst I will agree with previous reviews, there a few things that niggled me during our stay.

After travelling for over a day and arriving in the evening, we were greeted with nothing, not a refreshing towel, glass of fizz, water nothing! It was very underwhelming. I’ll further add this was indeed our honeymoon and no congratulation or acknowledgment was made at any point during our stay.

Our room was ok, it unfortunately had a damp smell, there was black mould on the silicone in the bathroom and upon searching for a lost item, under the beds had not been cleaned for some time.

The scenery around the hotel is stunning, the staff really work hard to ensure it is clean and get up to date as much as possible.Overall staff were friendly, there were a few times we had requested if we could have a certain table and were told no. This table was then not used all night. Again not the service i would expect.

The pools were beautiful and the staff were maintaining its cleanliness every morning. The child’s pool slide was closed for 5 days on our stay, our son was too little to be in the bigger pools so until the smaller one opened there wasn’t much rest for us.

The pool bar needs some work, your order is taken, phoned through to the beach bar and walked over. Seems a waste of time.

We stayed on a B&B basis, the breakfasts were amazing, the egg station staff were incredible and the lady organising tables for breakfast is on it with the turnover. The food at the hotel is very reasonable, especially the Thai food. We did go out a lot but had two evening meals being the fire show and bbq, amazing! We also stayed for the Christmas Eve gala and buffet. It wasn’t exactly child friendly with some of the acts and the food was a free for all, we qued longer than we ate, I think it cost around £80 and it was not worth the amount.

Further, I lost my engagement ring on the first week in the sea, I reported this to the staff who informed me the manger would generate a report. I was told to come back three times in total, when the manger finally showed up she did not produce the reports, we are now in contact with virgin as this is a requirement from the insurance which I explained various times and nothing has been done.

We explored the two hotels either side of us and if we were to return to Khao Lak the Merlin unfortunately wouldn’t not be the first choice. We had a lovely stay despite the information included and only write to hope that future stays have a slightly better experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Merlin Group, Sales at Khaolak Merlin Resort
Responded 29 Jan 2023
Dear EDJB21, Before anything else, our entire team here at Khaolak Merlin Resort would like to send our best wishes to you! Thank you very much for spending your precious time to leave a nice rating and detailed review for your recent visit to our resort! We are glad that your overall stay with us was lovely and that you loved a lot of things about us, such as: the stunning scenery around the hotel, the friendly staff members, the cleanliness of the hotel and the pool area, the amazing breakfast, the reasonable food, especially Thai food, and the barbeque. However, we regret that some areas did not meet your expectations and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We highly appreciate the details you've provided and rest assured that we have noted them all for betterment. We look forward to welcoming you back for a better stay. Living in Harmony with Nature, Warm regards, The Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from ScotlandHaggis
scotland82 contributions76 helpful votes
British plugs in all rooms.
Fizzo asked a question Apr 2024
Derbyshire1,405 contribution39 helpful votes
I hear about dogs here. Are they on the beach or in the hotel grounds?
Answer from Excursion819194
31 contributions3 helpful votes
There were a couple outside on the road, but never saw any on hotel grounds.
Answer from Chris9010
Manchester, United Kingdom38 contributions46 helpful votes
No you wouldn’t be able to snorkel here the sea isn’t very clear and the sea can be quite rough along this beach.
richardbai55 asked a question Mar 2024
Bracknell, United Kingdom9 contributions16 helpful votes
Forgot to all so ask are pool towels provided.
Answer from Carol G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom55 contributions
Yes
richardbai55 asked a question Mar 2024
Bracknell, United Kingdom9 contributions16 helpful votes
We have booked this hotel and just wanted to ask if there’s a fridge in the room’s as it doesn’t say
Answer from julie e
York, United Kingdom31 contributions8 helpful votes
Yes..filled with soft drinks only if AI
ajay v wrote a tip 17 May
Hastings, United Kingdom87 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good laundry service in village and very cheap, just outside the hotel The village down the round from hotel, 5 minutes walk from hotel"
Read full review
Alison L wrote a tip 13 May
6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pools were not for us and preferred the beach and also some of the rooms are quite far from the beach and a long uphill walk "
Read full review
STE-C-19 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Runcorn, United Kingdom58 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It can get busy around the main pool. But there's enough sun lounges in the garden areas "
Read full review
Parl R wrote a tip Apr 2024
Stockholm, Sweden5 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast included is more than enough, you can always add extra outdoors buffet on the beach (which is amazing)."
Read full review
billie n wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Chill and relax"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Khao Lak area.
PRICE RANGE
£60 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
khaolak merlin khao lak, khaolak merlin hotel khao lak
LOCATION
ThailandPhang Nga ProvinceTakua PaKhao Lak
NUMBER OF ROOMS
236
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KHAOLAK MERLIN RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Khaolak Merlin Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Khaolak Merlin Resort?
Nearby attractions include Why Not Bar (0.2 miles), Black Jack Bar (0.2 miles), and The Armani Suits - Merlin (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Khaolak Merlin Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Khaolak Merlin Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Khaolak Merlin Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Khaolak Merlin Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Khaolak Merlin Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include RuanThai Kitchen, Rasoi Restaurant, and Outdoor Bar & Grill Khao Lak.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Khaolak Merlin Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Khaolak Merlin Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Khaolak Merlin Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Khaolak Merlin Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Khaolak Merlin Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Khaolak Merlin Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
All Khao Lak HotelsKhao Lak Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Khao LakHotels near Khaolak Merlin Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire