The Imperial River House Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Imperial River House Resort

482 Moo 4 Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100 Thailand
Traveller (520)
Deluxe  with river view
Room & Suite (140)
Pool & Beach (58)

View prices for your travel dates

£24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 14 resorts in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quaint

Location

482 Moo 4 Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100 Thailand
Name/address in local language
542Reviews2Q+A47Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 287
  • 202
  • 37
  • 10
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Amanda W wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia198 contributions146 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is not really within walking distance to the night market, but the hotel offer complimentary shuttle rides each evening, which worked out well. Breakfast outside overlooking the river is really lovely, and the pool is large enough for laps and was empty of people for most of our stay. The rooms are as you'd expect, biggish and comfortable without being outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ImperialRiverHouse, Hotel Manager at The Imperial River House Resort
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Amanda W, Thank you very much for your kind staying with us and for your worthiness time sharing an experience recently. We do appreciate to hear that you enjoy with our service providing and hotel facilities. More our uniqueness breakfast dishes matching enough with a number guests and nice view has met your expectation. Your feedback is really supported us to improve better service for our guests. Looking forward to welcoming and serving a boutique experience the Lana touch to you again in shortly future. Best regards, Arkom Bunpeng Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
616Caroline wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom69 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived after a long journey to this haven of tranquility. It is situated on the river with a lovely pool and beautiful gardens to wander through. Heaven.
The staff couldn’t be more helpful and our room had a wonderful view over the pool and river. I would, however, like to have been able to open the window as some fresh air would have been nice.
Dinner here was delicious with a wide choice of dishes and breakfast had everything that we fancied.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Arkom Bunpeng, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Dear 616Caroline, Thank you very much for your kind choosing to stay with us and for your valuable time sharing feedback recently. We do appreciate to know that you had enjoying stay with our peachful location by the Kok River and have been satisfied from our room with panoramic view swimming pool as well as the River. More pleasure to hear our restaurant menu and breakfast have eceeded your expectation tasty and variety. Your comment is useful for us to improve better service for our guests. Looking forward to welcoming and serving our special lanna sense to you again when you have plans visit Chiang Rai in shortly future. Best regards, Arkom Bunpeng
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gail S wrote a review Sept 2022
Laguna Hills, California53 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a charming and comfortable boutique riverside hotel in Chiang Rai. The architecture and decor are in the Thai style and rooms offer a nice view of the pool and the river. The hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The buffet breakfast offered a nice selection of foods and had a little variety from day to day. We ate in the restaurant in the evening a couple of times and enjoyed the food. Really the only issue we had is that the hotel is quite a ways from the downtown area and transportation can be problematic. We were unable to get a taxi one evening to go into the city because local traffic kept the taxi from getting out to us and they canceled. So there is a trade off between the peacefulness and charm and accessibility of other things in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thanadon Tibkham, Innkeeper at The Imperial River House Resort
Responded 3 Feb 2023
Thank you for staying with us and appreciated your value comments. We delighted that you are enjoyed to be with us on your recently visited Chiangrai. All those your comment are very much valuable for us to improving and encourage our team in the future. We hope to being of your service again and looking forward to welcome you back in not too far distant Krub.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Su M wrote a review Jan 2020
12 contributions29 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This property would nickel and dime you. We booked 2 rooms for 3 people. They only allowed 2 gala dinner tickets for 3 people. They insist to charge us an extra $50 for a horrible new year Eve dinner with lousy food, lame entertainment and drinks are not included. We purchased 2 cocktails for exhorbitant prices which taste like sugar. Worst hotel in our trip by far.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ImperialRiverHouse, Hotel Manager at The Imperial River House Resort
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear sum446, Thank you very much for your choosing to stay with us at The Imperial River House Resort Chiang Rai and for your valuable time sharing experience recently. We do appreciate to know that you had New Year Eve and Counting down time with us before crossing to brilliantly this year coming. For the reservation including dinner we had been set up by person selection your comment for booking process will be for sure leading to improve our service for next time. Regarding to the local cultural concept Lanna Chiang Rai and we do try to bring the best to our guests that being proud organize outdoor Gala Dinner in the hotel garden along with native local show and musician, however your comment is worthiness for us to focus on to be better in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience may have caused you and looking forward to welcoming and serving Lanna touch concept to you again when your traveling plans cross to enchanting Chiang Rai province shortly. Best regards, Arkom Bunpeng Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria Gasem Huanbutta wrote a review Jul 2022
Pathum Thani Province, Thailand228 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can no longer remember how many times I have stayed at the hotel.

It is still our favourite, even if it is small and a bit old-fashioned. Even so, the river, the pool and the location are still my favourite places.
It is true that there are other hotels, more luxurious, modern, with more facilities, on the river that can offer the same, but they are much bigger and always noisier.

The rooms at IMperial are super spacious and we have everything.

The only thing I would like is that at least, after having stayed there almost 10 times, we feel like they should be a little bit more attentive with us trying to provide the room we like and make our stay even better.

Even so, we will continue to go there and Chiang Rai will remain one of our favourite destinations and places.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Always with river view, that is the key selling point of the hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thanadon Tibkham, Innkeeper at The Imperial River House Resort
Responded 10 Jul 2022
Dear Maria Gasem Huanbutta, Thank you for your comeback to continuous staying with us again and appreciated your value comments. We delighted that our hotel is in your favorite, and pleased to offer special upgrade for your next coming trip, that would be great if you could let us know in advance. We looking forward to welcome you back again as always in the near future Krub. Thanadon T. /Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
clowndog wrote a review Feb 2023
UK232 contributions157 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is located outside of the town centre but is just a short taxi ride away. It is well decorated and the pool and garden area are lovely. All the staff were very attentive and helpful. There was a buffet style breakfast with a good selection.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thanadon Tibkham, Innkeeper at The Imperial River House Resort
Responded 3 Feb 2023
Thank you for staying with us and appreciated your value comments. We delighted that you like our hotel decorated, pool, and lovely garden. As well as attentive and helpful staff, also breakfast serving. We hope to being of your service again and looking forward to welcome you back in not too far distant Krub.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
david t wrote a review Feb 2020
Sherborne, United Kingdom45 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is on the river bank. All rooms have an attractive view overlooking the large pool and the river. Very peaceful and walkable distance to the Blue Temple and many restaurants. The staff were helpful. We stayed 3 nights, ate out once but enjoyed the superb food in their restaurant the other 2 nights. My only complaint was that the hotel only provided 4 sun loungers around the pool;very short sighted.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ImperialRiverHouse, Hotel Manager at The Imperial River House Resort
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Dear david t, Thank you very much for your choosing to stay with us and for your valuable time sharing an experience during stay recently. We do appreciate to know that you enjoyed with our peaceful location by the Kok River and only short distance walking to the famous place Blue Temple. Well noted for your compliment in our panoramic swimming pool and the Kok River looking from room as well as pleasure to get feedback for our food and drinks. For sunbed we are acknowledged and your comment is really worthiness for us to improve better service for our guests. Looking forward to welcoming and serving the special Lanna scense to you again when you have plan to visit enchanting Chiang Rai province in shortly future. Best regards, Arkom Bunpeng Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hasherd wrote a review Jan 2020
Perth, Western Australia75 contributions82 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We selected this hotel for its location. At the end of the road but on the river, it could not be more quiet.
We arrived late and leafy after breakfast, so our experience is limited. Breakfast was fully adequate. Our room was spacious and fully equipped. The garden is large and pleasant to stroll through.
Recommend especially if you wan5 somewhere peaceful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ImperialRiverHouse, Hotel Manager at The Imperial River House Resort
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear Hasherd, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at The Imperial River House Resort Chiang Rai and for your valuable time sharing recent feedback. We do appreciate to know that the hotel location by The Kok River with peaceful atmosphere has met your enjoyable stay. Further more specious room and large greenery garden brought your exceeding wonderful time. Your comment is really support us to improve better service for our guests. Looking forward to welcoming and serving our uniqueness Lanna touch to you again when you have plan travelling at Chiang Rai soon. Best regards, Arkom Bunpeng Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HWPhotography wrote a review Feb 2011
Germany150 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights in a Deluxe Room at River House Resort in Chiang Rai.

On arrival we were able to check-in immediately and without any hassle.
Our Deluxe Room was quite spacious compared to other resorts I saw. The bathroom is equipped with a shower and also a bath tub.
The swimming pool is just awesome - very huge and also clean. The staff takes good care of the guests and you will be supplied with water and towel immediately after you enter the pool. I saw they also have a nice equipped place for gym but I didn't have a chance to try it.
The garden of the resort is well maintained and was in full bloom. There is also a small island connected to the resort which you can reach by a small bamboo bridge.

The resort is located next to the river and close to the center of Chiang Rai.
There are lots of opportunities to have day trips at this place. We made day trips to Doi Mae Salong and Golden Triangle. If you get the chance I recommend to go to Doi Mae Salong to enjoy the amazing smell of the tea plantation. But also the view from top of the mountain is very nice.
There are many more activities to do like visiting the night market or going for elephant ride.

We also had breakfast & dinner at the resort and enjoyed it a lot.
You should try the boiled rice soup for breakfast and the deep fried corn kernels for dinner.

If you don't like over-crowded tourist places and want to explore the north of Thailand this is the right place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolinatravellover wrote a review Jul 2016
Noosa, Australia214 contributions180 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I came here for our second visit to Chiang Rai recently. There was really no question of where we would stay - The Imperial River House, of course. It really is like our home away from home.

The staff and management here are all lovely, charming people. We both agree that the staff here really make the whole experience. They are delightful, friendly, always being prepared to go above and beyond - always, all the time. Each one of them are interesting, engaging, willing to chat, help in whatever way they can, and just make your stay here the very best it can be. We love them all. It's hard not to.

The rooms here are beautifully appointed, and tastefully furnished. They have an old-world, colonial-style charm to them, and are cleaned and serviced with fresh towels daily. You can have fresh sheets daily too if you want, but we try not to use resources we really don't need. The buffet breakfasts are really good, with a wide choice, and plenty to suit every taste and requirement.

The pool is huge, and very attractive, and the gardens are an absolute delight. It's a tranquil heaven on the outskirts of Chiang Rai. We hired a scooter, but the hotel does provide a complimentary bus shuttle service to and from the Chiang Rai Night Markets at 7pm each evening, returning at 9pm or 9.30pm. Otherwise, they will take you into town for 250 Baht.

This is a peaceful, serene resort hotel, with a 4-star rating, but really, it's 5 star in so many ways. If you want the opulent luxury of resorts such as Le Meridian etc. then perhaps this is not it, but to us, it's so much nicer. It has character, charm, and grace in both the hotel and the people who run it. To us, it's the very epitome of what makes Thai hospitality so famous. And the price is very reasonable considering what is on offer.

Rose (a huge thank you), Ann (our gorgeous breakfast hostess), special Aong, sweet little Tai (you cook the best eggs!), lovely Yin, the very charming Tom, Kate, and Pare (on the front desk), always smiling Yut and Sagun (you make even a bus ride good!), and last, but certainly not the least, Sowvanee for keeping our room so spotless, and always with a smile. Each one of you made our visit special, and we thank you all so very much. If we have missed anyone, please forgive us.

We will be back next year - we hope. We miss The Imperial River House already. It's a place that remains firmly imprinted on your heart. We cannot recommend this resort highly enough. It will make the difference to your holiday being amazing, or just average.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to get a Balcony Suite if you can afford it - it's well worth it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmen L asked a question May 2018
1 helpful vote
Hi can we know if the hotel provides baby cot for baby?
Answer from ImperialRiverHouse
Thailand
Dear Carmen L, The Imperial River House Resort is providing for baby cot please kindly request on your booking confirmation. Best regards, Arkom B.
Silvio A asked a question Sept 2014
11 contributions2 helpful votes
will you pick us up at the airport?
Answer from ImperialRiverHouse
Thailand
Dear Silvio A we please complimentary airport thansfered for you ka. Best Regards Sirijan Sapapak Hotel Manager
Maria Gasem Huanbutta wrote a tip Jul 2022
Pathum Thani Province, Thailand228 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Always with river view, that is the key selling point of the hotel"
Read full review
Tom W wrote a tip Mar 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom42 contributions51 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"River views"
Read full review
steveszym wrote a tip Jan 2019
Portsmouth, United Kingdom24 contributions25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere."
Read full review
Carole H wrote a tip Jan 2019
Melbourne, Australia21 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top floor probably has the best views."
Read full review
Noi Sangwan wrote a tip Aug 2018
Vientiane, Laos51 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best view at the corner."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chiang Rai area.
PRICE RANGE
£33 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
imperial river house resort, chiang rai hotel chiang rai, river hotel chiang rai, river resort chiang rai
LOCATION
ThailandChiang Rai ProvinceChiang Rai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE IMPERIAL RIVER HOUSE RESORT - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Imperial River House Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Imperial River House Resort?
Nearby attractions include Wat Rong Seur Ten (Blue Temple) (0.7 miles), Wat Phra Kaeo (Temple of the Emerald Buddha) (0.6 miles), and Wat Phra Singh (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Imperial River House Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Imperial River House Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Imperial River House Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Imperial River House Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Imperial River House Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hungry Wolf's Steak & Ale House, Melt In Your Mouth Chiang Rai, and Manorom.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Imperial River House Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Imperial River House Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, The Imperial River House Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Imperial River House Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Chiang Rai.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Imperial River House Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Imperial River House Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Chiang Rai HotelsChiang Rai Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Chiang RaiHotels near The Imperial River House Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire