We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bushbuck River House

Traveller (134)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (15)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
River View
Great View


Full view
Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060 Zambia
Getting there
Livingstone Airport6 mi
Victoria Falls Airport19 mi
See all nearby hotels
32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Linda was a wonderful host picking us up from the airport and has great local knowledge. We needed gluten free food and Albert the chef did not disappoint a really nice place to relax and provide a base for activities.
Read more
Response from Oriel S, Owner at Bushbuck River House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks Clive and Ange, it was a pleasure looking after you and very happy to hear the gluten free was up to scratch! Enjoy the rest of your trip. Linda
Read more
Linda is an awesome host, she has lots of stories to tell and knowledge of the area. You will never be hungry with Albert as your cook, delicious home cooked meals.and you won’t miss home as you will feel at home
Read more
Response from Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House
Responded 13 Aug 2018
Thank you for your very kind review. Much appreciated and I'm very happy to hear you had a great and well fed time at Bushbuck! Regards Linda
Read more
The title is slightly misleading as we actually stayed for two nights on our journey through Zambia. We were so impressed that we cancelled our originally planned overnight return stay and booked back into Bushbuck River House for our return journey. Linda who runs the place was
Read more
Response from Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House
Responded 5 Aug 2018
Thank you Adrian, Marilyn and Kathy for staying with us, and choosing to come back again. It was a pleasure looking after you. I am happy to know you had a great time and wise decision to upgrade that helicopter flight! Hope to see you again one day. Linda
Read more
Bushbuck is a perfect place to stay in Livingstone, a beautiful location on the Zambezi River. Linda met us at the airport and brought us to the lodge. She arranged our excursions for rhino tracking on foot, a river cruise, and town trips to the local curio and produce markets.
Read more
Response from Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House
Responded 4 Aug 2018
Hi Betty Thanks for the awesome review, it was great fun having you all to stay here. You are always welcome on morning and afternoon dog walks. Hope the rest of your adventure went well. See you next time! Linda
Read more
I loved my time at Bushbuck River House the only thing bad about it was it was too short. In that short time Linda helped us maximize it by organizing and coordinating all of our activities. The food, the people, the property all are great. It is outside of town, which I think
Read more
Response from Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House
Responded 5 Jun 2018
Thanks Joey Glad you all enjoyed your short time with us, shame it wasn't for longer. There is always next time! Linda
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
The cottage
room interior
le lit double
Dear Linda, Thanks for your questions. Yes The Falls will be in good flow in April. This year the elephants returned to Bushbuck in early May but we can not predict from year to year as it depends on the rains. If they were not around at the house we could arrange a Chobe Day Trip for you to increase your chances of seeing them. This year evening meals are U$22 for two courses and U$27 for three courses. We have not set 2017 rates yet. For more information you could also visit the bushbuckriverhouse web site. Kind Regards, Bushbuck River House
0 votes
We do have wi-fi Bushbuck but please understand that Zambian wi-fi is not the same standard as you might find in other countries. The signal strength varies throughout the day, so sometimes there is signal in some rooms, but at other times only on the patio area at the front of the house. The limitations on our supply means that it is not suitable for downloading large files and this will probably be the same wherever you stay.
0 votes
We have plenty of space for parking
0 votes
"Each is unique---all good."
"Loved the Waterbuck Cottage!"
"Talk to them (email). I learned / planned so much from my emails with Oriel months before we arrived"
"Our preference was to stay in the lodge and not the main building. The walk to the main building was less than 5 minutes."
"Rooms in the cottage have no wifi and offer shared bathrooms, but those in the house have private baths and slow wifi."
US$149 - US$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ZambiaSouthern ProvinceLivingstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing