We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ryokan Meiryu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ryokan Meiryu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I wanted to stay in a traditional hostel during my first trip to Japan. Meiryu is a nice place to stay, very close to the Kamimaezu subway station. The room was very comfortable and the staff is very friendly (although only one of them peaks English). Bathrooms are nice and clean, and the experience of communal showers was quite special... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank samedu
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2015

First of all the staff, while only one speaks English, are extremely polite and helpful to travelers. I had planned to visit the Toyota Museum and already had a map, but one of the staff did their best to elaborate my long route to the museum, for example. The bath is very nice, If you don't mind shared ofuros. Meals... More 

Review collected in partnership with StudentUniverse

Helpful?
2 Thank gdub504
seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2015

I stayed here for 5 days in November 2014. Yamada san and family were especially helpful when i had to navigate the city with minimal Japanese. Yamada san would print out the directions with appropriate bus/train schedules and with time saving suggestions. The neighborhood was quite, clean and with plenty of services namely ATM, Metro, cafes, small grocery store, take... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leokirkland
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
204 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2015

My stay was thoroughly enjoyable here. The inn is located just a block from the subway station, the room was very comfortable, the staff was very helpful, and the bathroom was clean with a wonderful hot tub.

Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley B
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2015

I loved this Ryokan. Very comfortable double matting (for those who are used to sleeping on ground only when camping) large bath with plenty of showers and very cozy room. The red carpet is not as attractive as some redesigned ryokans, but to me gave it a more authentic feel. The thing that makes this property 5 stars instead of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RQTraveler
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2014

I booked this place at the last minute. It had been a long day, and I was quite tired when I arrived. This Ryokan doesn't look like much in the lobby, as it and the stairwell are a bit dingy. But, once I entered my room, I felt like I was in a different place. The room was nice and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mclassic
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Extremely good price for location for the budget traveller who is looking for the tatami-futon japanese ryokan experience. It is family owned and the son speaks excellent english. The rooms are clean, and the very japanese feel really adds on to the experience. It even has a small onsen in the hotel! Location wise it's impeccable; walking distance to kamimaezu... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank swong1603
Level Contributor
280 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2014 via mobile

Very helpful staff, not a bad place after all, decent, but wouldn't be my first choice as I stayed in another Ryokan in the same city which was 10 times better. Close to a metro station and some shops and restaurants. I suggest you call or try to book by internet in advance as rooms might get booked quickly.

Helpful?
2 Thank Abdulla A
yamashin, マネージャー at Ryokan Meiryu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay in Ryokan Meiryu. Also thanks for your comment and I am glad you had stayed here comfortably. Many facilities have different tastes, location and budgets and many find them in different ways however, your comment gave me a relief. That shows what we are doing goes well with the majority of guests. Also... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

the outside of this place looked a little run down and the inside wasnt much better but the the staff were incredibly friendly, and spoke pretty good english. there was also free wifi in the rooms which was a bonus. the room itself was a little small but just enough for sleeping in. there didnt seem to be many toilets... More 

Helpful?
Thank kirsteen j
yamashin, マネージャー at Ryokan Meiryu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay in Ryokan Meiryu. Also thank you for your comment. We are a bit surprised with your report about the waterline problems. The water line is newly built and we didn't think that could happen. The only thing we could imagine is, we have recently called the plumber for the line work, which possibly... More 

Piaseczno
Level Contributor
178 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

First feeling about this hotel from outside isn't good, because from outside it looks liek nothing special. But inside there is different world comparing to outside. Service speak in communicative english without problems. Laundry is avaible also typical japanese meals are served.

Helpful?
1 Thank Unforgiven11
yamashin, マネージャー at Ryokan Meiryu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay here and for your comment. We hope your stay was pleasant and comfortable. We are just a basic small ryokan but we do (or at least try to) our best of what we can. Again, thank you for your comment. We look forward to hearing from you again! More 

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
New Shochikubai
#68 of 166 in Nagoya
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Silk Tree Hotel
Silk Tree Hotel
#76 of 166 in Nagoya
148 reviews
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
UNIZO INN Nagoya Sakae Higashi
Kanayama / Atsuta / Mizuho
Hotel Kiyoshi Nagoya
Hotel Kiyoshi Nagoya
#143 of 166 in Nagoya
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Ryokan Meiryu

Address: 2-4-21 Nakaku Kamimaezu, Nagoya 460-0013, Aichi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Kanayama / Atsuta / Mizuho
Price Range: £33 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ryokan Meiryu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Meiryu Hotel Nagoya
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nagoya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ryokan Meiryu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make your request and Yamada san will try his best”
 of 5 bubbles leokirkland, 12 Jun 2015 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay