We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Wa-tei Kazekomichi

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wa-tei Kazekomichi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 17: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Hotel Watei kazekomichi on my birthday this year and it was one of the most pleasurable hotel experiences i've ever had! I have traveled all over the world and stayed at many beautiful hotels, but Watei is on another level. The service is top notch, the food is sublime, and the view, room, onsens and overall property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is the best experience we had for our Japan trip. The Japanese hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. The staff are very welcoming. Free pick up from and to the Atami train station was offered. Both Chinese and english are spoken. We felt very relaxing and were taken good care of. The room comes with open air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank choo246
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Kazekomichi is perched on a high point near Kinomiya Shrine about 10 minutes from Atami Station, offering fantastic view of Atami from your private bath in the balcony. Only 7 rooms in the hotel, you can also reserve one of 2 larger shared baths. Excellent service and hospitality by a small but highly efficient team, serving great dinner and breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 June 2016

After spending five days in Tokyo, my friend and I decided a peaceful two days of relaxation were needed. This was just the place. We were picked up from Atami train station by one of the staff and arrived at this blissful mountain location ten minutes later, to then being greeted at the door by all staff members. The views...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pado2016
wateiKazekomichi, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Wa-tei Kazekomichi, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is our joy to know that you have enjoyed our ryokan. We are thrilled to share your words with all our staff members because compliments such as yours are the greatest incentive for us to serve our future guests and make us very happy. Do vist us again to...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 May 2016

In my entire trip to Japan I consider this hotel to the be the best service I experienced. Every little detail was thought of to insure that we had a great stay. A private car was arranged to pick us up from the train station and when we arrived the staff was present to greet us. Additionally the staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trickroll
wateiKazekomichi, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Wa-tei Kazekomichi, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are extremely happy and honored to know that your stay at Kazekomichi was enjoyable. We strive to make sure evey guest will have an extraordinary time with lots of nice memories to bring back home. We are thrilled to see you again someday in the future.

Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Absolutely lovely place. Truly enjoyed our stay. Definitely opt in to the dinner- it was delicious - a full 8 course. Our private onsen was the highlight of our room and the in room massage topped it all! Highly recommend this Ryokan for ultimate relaxation. People were so nice- lived there hospitality!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krish A
wateiKazekomichi, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Wa-tei Kazekomichi, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our ryokan. It is so nice of you to make great comments for our dinner which is indeed a highlight of our ryokan experience. Your kind review gives us power and joy for our future hospitality. Thank you again and hope to see you again in the near future.

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 16 April 2016

We were picked up at the station and it took about 10 minutes to arrive at the hotel. Hotel is beautifully placed and staff very helpfull with everything. Our room was like an appartment, with Japanese clothes, a great view at the Pacific and a hot private bath outside. Unfortunately we couldn't have diner in the ryokan (not clear why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dutch0232016
wateiKazekomichi, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Wa-tei Kazekomichi, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to review our ryokan. It is a pitty you couldn’t enjoy our full course Kaiseki dinner. This needs to be booked earlier than 3 days before your arrival due to market situation. We truly hope that next time you had a chance to stay at our place, do make a dinner reservation in...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We had a one night stay at this wonderful hotel in Atami, Japan located on top of the mountain with an ocean view and private outdoor hot spring in our own balcony. The Japanese style breakfast was a piece of art. The staff were so welcoming and polite. Our room was spacious and clean. I have to admit that one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlespring74
wateiKazekomichi, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Wa-tei Kazekomichi, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed our facility. Our adults only policy could be inconvenient at times, yet please understand that this policy also contribute to the quietness and tranquility of our ryokan. We hope to see you again when you feel a need for a hideaway or...

Japan
Reviewed 23 November 2015

This place is far above the standard compared to normal Ryokans at Atami area. We liked the private bath in our room with fantastic view of forest and Atami city. The room is very clean but a little smoking smell is a minus point. The food was unique and great. We were able to enjoy fresh Sashii (law fish), Japanese...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lalamomo02220610
wateiKazekomichi, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Wa-tei Kazekomichi, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We do take pride in the views from our open air private baths. The nice thing is that the views change day by day in it is always very pretty. Regarding smoke smell, we are very sorry that we fell short of your expectations. We will share this fact and try think...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 October 2015

If you like to rest after visiting the "cities" this is a great place for relaxation. If you are a foody....this is the place to eat! Great kaisecki diner, perfect cuisine, nicely decorated. Best breakfast during our holidays in Japan. A dozen or more small bites. great! Large rooms with onsen and view on the city and sea. Just 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert044
wateiKazekomichi, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Wa-tei Kazekomichi, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to review our ryokan. I will share your kind comments on our food with our chef. Your comments about our facilities are much appreciated as it helps us to focus on what we should do concerning our guest experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next trip to...

216 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atami hotels
Atami Onsen
Atami Korakuen Hotel
Atami Korakuen Hotel
#4 of 108 in Atami
221 reviews
Atami Onsen
Atami Seaside Spa & Resort
Atami Onsen
Furuya Ryokan
Furuya Ryokan
#1 of 108 in Atami
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atami Onsen
Atami Fufu
Atami Fufu
#7 of 108 in Atami
148 reviews
Atami Onsen
Hotel Micuras
Hotel Micuras
#2 of 108 in Atami
313 reviews
Atami Onsen
Atami Sekitei
Atami Sekitei
#11 of 108 in Atami
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
・The lounge that looks out over Sagami Bay We are nestled in a quiet area on a hill a small distance away from central Atami. When you cross the entrance, you will first be greeted by the vast Sagami Bay. This superb view of mountains and sea is uncommon even in Atami, and you can enjoy it here day or night. ・In-room open-air baths where you can be awed by the sun rising from the sea At Atami Onsen WAtei Kazekomichi, all guest rooms have pure natural hot spring water. You can have a sweeping view of Hatsushima, an island in Sagami Bay, as well as the streets of Atami. After dark, you can see the twinkling night view. In addition, you can even enjoy the annual Atami Waterfront Fireworks Festival while soaking in the bath. ・Private spaces with selected furnishings Furnishings differ depending on the guest room, and each has a characteristic style. Those with an interest in art can enjoy the paintings and hanging scrolls by famous artists that are displayed in the lounge and hallways in addition to guestrooms. ・Creative full course kaiseki cuisine cooked with fresh food from the land and sea The kaiseki meals make use of plenty of ingredients carefully selected by the head chef, such as fish caught that morning from Kawana Harbor in nearby Ito City and vegetables grown on the vast soil of Izu. With careful attention given not only to taste but also to the tableware and arrangements, you can enjoy your meal with all five senses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wa-tei Kazekomichi

Address: 28-18 Baiencho, Atami 413-0032, Shizuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Atami > Atami Onsen
Price Range: £260 - £622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wa-tei Kazekomichi 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wa-tei Kazekomichi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Atami
#2 Luxury Hotel in Atami
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wa-tei Kazekomichi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take advantage of the shuttle service to and from the train station.”
 of 5 bubbles H9306MHandrews, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles pado2016, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“This hotel is only for couples and they do not allow kids.”
 of 5 bubbles littlespring74, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you are sensitive for smoking smell, had better choose a non-smoking room.”
 of 5 bubbles lalamomo02220610, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Take the largest one.”
  • impression search Chiara bakker japan in a flash
 of 5 bubbles Robert044, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay