The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko

144 Motohakone, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0592 Kanagawa Prefecture
Traveller (583)
we're the red dot. four small rooms are the double rooms
Room & Suite (207)
Nadaman Garden Japanese Restaurant at The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
Dining (101)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
£214
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 2 resorts in Hakone-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hakone Prince Hotel is built right on the shore of Lake Ashi, surrounded by greens of Kamiyama, and Komagatake.You can see Mt.Fuji over Lake Ashi, and surrounding forests. We have wide variety of guest rooms including cottages and family rooms. An open-air hot spa which has a beautiful view of the lake, it will ease you and refresh you on your vacation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hot spring bath
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese

Location

144 Motohakone, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0592 Kanagawa Prefecture
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Haneda Airport
49.5 mi
See all flights
698Reviews20Q+A61Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 261
  • 278
  • 105
  • 32
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
edt0 wrote a review Oct 2020
Singapore, Singapore97 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Each time we come to Hakone we stay at this hotel. Although it can be a little isolated, it is the perfect place for a walk early in the morning and a great view of Mount Fuji on a clear day (see picture).

The rooms are big by Japan standard and comfortable. We booked the dinner inclusive package and dinner was great. But it can be a little monotonous if you stay longer than 2 nights as you will probably be bored with the same spread.

They have the shuttle service to/from Odawara station. So that makes it convenient for travellers.

Be warned. They are very strict with the number of people staying in the room, as with most Japanes hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: View of Mount Fuji from the room (if you are willing to splurge a little for that view from room)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siomarsh wrote a review Nov 2022
Frankston, Australia80 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the pleasure of staying at The Prince as part of our honeymoon trip to Japan, and this was definitely our favourite hotel! Our room was very spacious and we had views of the local mountains from our balcony. The food was divine (be sure to try the Japanese set menu dinner) and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Can't wait to visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mujan k wrote a review 13 May
Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a tourist, each time I come to Hakone stayed at this hotel. It is the perfect place for experiencing Onsen bath. The rooms are big and convenient. for dinner or lunch the travelers need to book in advance. the lake view rooms are awesome. the location is isolated and it's a good place for relaxing and walking in the early morning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
megastorieslah wrote a review Jun 2023
Toronto, Canada112 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is really nice. Decent view of Lake Ashinoko, with a ropeway nearby to visit a nearby mountain top. It is however a bit farther away than one should go if one wants to visit Hakone proper. It took us a long time from the shuttle bus to go to Hakone city and if we want to explore all of Hakone and the settlement near Lake Ashinoko, it will take us at least 2 days as getting back to the hotel took a long time. The staff were friendly, and the view was spectacular. The food was great. The room was big and clean. Just writing this review makes me want to go back to explore it again! This time more than just 1 night and 2 days.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Make sure to book the hotel via the phone as there is special deals not listed on the website....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mally P wrote a review Jan 2020
Thailand276 contributions42 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Prince Hakone is luxury hotel with very good staffs and friendly. Hotel has big space room with comfortable bed. We can walk belong the lake so relax. There are Easy to go Hakone shrine and check point center of Hakone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sony Rajan wrote a review Oct 2023
Tokyo, Japan195 contributions205 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the Annex building where the breakfast restaurant was also present. Rooms were spacious, though dated in design. Service was very good, and the breakfast spread was fantastic with food delicious. The cable car is right adjascent and Prince residence get a discount.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ging466 wrote a review Apr 2023
Sydney, Australia524 contributions225 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here as part of my tour. It was my last night in Japan. My room was fantastic, so big, excellent bathroom, excellent shower. I had a view of the lake but unfortunately it was raining and extremely foggy so I couldn't see it and we also didn't see Mt Fuji. Such a shame. Had a lovely buffet dinner and buffet breakfast. Couldn't fault the food. Really liked this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FredKYLo wrote a review Apr 2013
Charlottesville, Virginia1 contribution18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The most incredible experience happened to me in my stay at Prince Hakone last December (2012): US$6K cash was stolen right out of the safety box in my hotel room.

The worst thing is the hotel management has never taken any responsibility for what happened. The manager's response to my pointing out that the hotel must bear some responsibility was: "We understand your opinion, but we cannot agree." All the hotel did was to call in the police who spent a lot of time questioning me, and presumably others, but after almost four months the police have not come to any conclusion. The hotel's position so far is that they would not do anything until the police has concluded its investigation.

The fact that for someone to steal US$6K from the safe in a hotel room in Prince Hakone means
at least the following:
1. the thief found out which room I stayed in from the hotel, with or without the hotel's help; either the thief works at the hotel, or the hotel system was hacked by the thief; either way, the hotel had some responsibility.
2. the thief entered my hotel room without being detected, raising serious question about the hotel's security.
3. apparently, the supposedly 5-star hotel does not have a security camera system. Otherwise,
the camera system would reveal who entered my hotel room to steal the money and when.

After the theft, I felt completely unsafe at the hotel and carried all my valuable with me all the time. The worst feeling was that I was a targeted victim, even though I was staying at a 5-star hotel in Japan.

I would never return to the hotel, unless the hotel has assumed some responsibility and assured me what they have done to correct the serious breach of security.

I would strongly advise anyone not to choose Prince Hakone for the same reason.

It is a pity such a fine hotel is so irresponsible.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BurgessMebane wrote a review Jul 2012
Mebane32 contributions39 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
So we spent one night at the Hakone Prince, and my feelings about it are mixed, like the reviews. I feel like your happiness here is dependent on how long you are staying and why you are in the area--and how much you want to spend. We got a good deal on a room so I decided to go for it--about $180 for a hotel that seemed to be a high-quality resort hotel, and I've paid more than that for those. Figured we'd leave Tokyo in the morning on the Hakone Free Pass ticket, do the circuit up to the hotel, then finish the rest the next day. I'll discuss the Hakone circuit later in this review so you don't have to read it if you only care about the hotel, but the main thing to know is not always made clear by other reviews/guides: you CANNOT get to the hotel on the pass. You MUST either pay extra for a boat, find and pay extra for a bus, or reserve a spot on the hotel's free shuttle from the station. We were a little worried about this so after we made the reservation, we emailed the hotel to ask for a ride on the free shuttle, but they never responded so we ended up on our own. I think if you ask for it when you reserve the room you should be okay, but since we didn't, all I can tell you is they didn't reconfirm via email afterwards. There were only three times you could get a shuttle, too, so if those times aren't convenient, you're stuck.

So really do think of the circuit and the hotel as totally separate. Some guides hint at this, but know it's absolutely the case.

Also people aren't kidding about the closing early and opening late business, but let me clarify a little from what I experienced vs. what other reviewers were saying. Between 4pm and 10am there is NOTHING TO DO and NOWHERE ELSE TO EAT if you don't choose to eat at the main (and quite expensive) hotel restaurant. The boats aren't running, the ropeway isn't running, the shops are closed, the cafés are closed, and you are in a resort that is basically separate from all the other towns so that's it. Hilariously, there are multiple signs advertising a bar in the hotel with drink specials--but the bar was never open. We looked more closely at the signs and they seemed to be saying the bar (which is also the breakfast cafe within the lobby) would start having these drinks at night in September. It being June, we wondered why the big posters everywhere offering and then removing an option we really wanted. Oh well.

The onsen is not divided by gender; the dressing rooms are, but the onsen is shared space and you are not allowed to wear a towel in the bath, so you can't cover your bits. I like onsens but I prefer the single-gender onsens or the ones where you can use a little towel if someone's staring inappropriately, and here you're out for all to see, so be ready for that. The onsen is the thing to do between 4pm and 10am. So if you are here to enjoy the onsen, it's a GREAT choice. If not, or if you don't want to spend hours there, you might want to think about it.

The view from the walkway in front of the property is GORGEOUS. You are right on the lake and it's a very peaceful, lovely space. The property is arranged to block out everything else, and you're not around anything anyway, so if you sit on the one bench on that path and look at the lake, it's heavenly. This was my favorite thing. Unfortunately, they didn't have more seating and the grounds were being worked on while we were there so they didn't allow you to walk on them and that little strip of paved walk and bench were it for the view. Our room faced the building, so if you got a room facing that view, liked a mixed-gender onsen, and were generally a chill person, you might really like this hotel. The rooms were huge by even American standards, beautifully appointed, and cozy. Each has a balcony, although sitting on ours would have meant being looked at by people walking through the hotel lobby, so we didn't do that. Make sure your room number is not in the 20s, because these rooms face the building. Get a third-floor room if you can--we'd have faced trees rather than lobby had we gotten a room directly above ours. But I suspect you'd have to pay more--the place was largely empty when we went but they said this was it for rooms for us. Not sure if that was the "gaijin special" (put you where no one else can see you, which happens in Japan) or just because we got a good price on the room and they wanted to save the nicer views for later arrivals (who would have to come in a car, and let's be honest weren't coming). Still, I have to say the room was fantastic, and the view from the path was also great.

It's also just a deeply weird joint; adjoining it is a little "boardwalk"-style area with a petting zoo, goose-shaped paddle boats, and places to eat. All were closed the whole time we were there (from 5pm to 11am) except one cafe that opened at 10. The gondola up to the mountaintop next door opened at 9:10, and this was a great (short and kind of expensive for the trip) ride and view from the top. So if you wander the grounds after 5pm, you are mostly alone at a closed-down boardwalk with limited views. But it could be fun if you were there for a couple of days with kids and liked kitschy stuff like that. Then again, though, the mellow-nice room-good view from your balcony-fancy restaurant-onsen part is not very kid-friendly. So it's like two totally different audiences would be half happy. Weird. The main hotel is definitely not the place for kids.

There's golf; we don't golf. That might change everything, as would having a car. I think if we'd had a car and two days and liked to golf and eat at the same restaurants for every meal, it would be a dreamy, near-perfect experience.

The Hakone Free Pass thing is also kind of strange. They make it sound like a sort of Tweetsie Railroad experience but the train from Hakone Yumoto up to the cable car is really just a very old, incredibly slow commuter train FULL of people, mostly older (60s plus) or younger (under 15). There is no view from either the small train or the cable car. The ropeway is AMAZING--a big gondola across a bunch of mountains to the lake. Only it was raining/cloudy when we went so we couldn't see a foot past the window. Only worth it on a clear day, but totally worth it then. The boats--well, we didn't take the boats, because we only left Tokyo around 11am, and this meant that by the time we got to the boats they were done for the day and we were stuck in the town where the ropeway ends (Togendai). All we did was take train to train to train to cable car to ropeway, stopping for less than an hour for lunch at the Gyoza Center (awesome) and an hour at the Open Air Museum (also awesome). It wasn't until we got to Hakone Yamoto that we got a "real" itinerary that showed that the whole thing stops around 5pm, and we just made it to the boats by then. We were the last people on the gondolas and they ran us down to a shuttle bus because the second half of the gondola trip was being worked on, and then they ran the bus down to Togendai and left us there. Yikes! Luckily my Japanese was good enough to get us to a town a short walk away and we had Pasmo passes for the bus there, which took us straight to the hotel. But no one we met in this stretch spoke English, so if you don't have some skills you could be really stuck. We never saw a cab. So basically we raced through the circuit and still ended up stranded in the middle. If you want to at least get to Moto-Hakone before your time is up, leave Tokyo earlier than 10 and don't wander the towns on the circuit.

Back to the hotel issue, if you are staying at the hotel and don't mind paying, you can take a boat from the hotel dock (starts at 9, was done when we arrived at 5ish the day before) to any of the Free Pass docks and catch up with the circuit again. We did this the second day and left from there. I think if you want to go to antique stores and the museums, see people, and try different Japanese restaurants, you should not stay at the Prince Hakone. Stay at one of the other towns where the bus service is on the pass and roam to your heart's content. If you want a couple of days of total quiet and you have enough money to eat at the hotel and use the boats or drive a car, then stay there. It's beautiful. But totally disconnected from the rest of the circuit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room with a view, and go look at the room before you commit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
prinx74 wrote a review Apr 2015
Kolkata114 contributions124 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Though Hakone is one of Japan's most picturesque spots - the Prince Hotel ensured we don't return to this calm and serene place until the property is hopefully razed to the ground.

Imagine being asked by the front desk to 'walk' 30 minutes to take a taxi to the station. Imagine refusing your guests lunch and dinner. Imagine lying about availability in restaurants. Imagine asking for money for pre cancellation for cabs that didn't turn up.

What more can I say but that the hotel is run by a bunch of scoundrels who live life from day to day far removed from the reality of a new world with travellers who have experienced far far better and can compare this lesser than ordinary experience to none.

The hotel is located on a picturesque lake (though we saw none of it due to thick cloud cover), has a hot spring but is a relic from the 80's. One of those places where a Sean Connery Bond film may have been shot.

I will not recommend luxury and seasoned travellers to this horrible place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farah R asked a question Nov 2019
Sacramento, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
Do they have private Onsen available?
Answer from RomanovTraveller
Amersham, United Kingdom121 contributions109 helpful votes
They have a large małe Onsen - not private for individuals but great facility
Hungrydogie asked a question Apr 2019
Brisbane, Australia37 contributions18 helpful votes
How do I book the free shuttle service from Odawara station to the hotel?
Answer from 営業・宿泊
Hakone-machi, Japan
We will email you the date you want and the time you want and we will check and answer.
Answer from Gopal Pai
Mumbai, India130 contributions47 helpful votes
Hi ! We stayed for only 2 days so did not need to use the laundry. So unable to help you ! Apologies. Maybe a mail to the hotel should clarify
Answer from DDalal
Mumbai, India43 contributions27 helpful votes
I did not see as we were there in Autumn.
megastorieslah wrote a tip Jun 2023
Toronto, Canada112 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to book the hotel via the phone as there is special deals not listed on the website. There is a shuttle from the Odawara station."
Read full review
edt0 wrote a tip Oct 2020
Singapore, Singapore97 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"View of Mount Fuji from the room (if you are willing to splurge a little for that view from room)"
Read full review
Mauve_star wrote a tip Jan 2020
Baldivis, Australia3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"do not stay here"
Read full review
Adamthegardener wrote a tip Dec 2019
Crawfordsburn, United Kingdom448 contributions126 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great place for Lunch"
Read full review
Pathfinder801848 wrote a tip Oct 2019
Batavia, Illinois51 contributions68 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want to be closer to the mall and onsens ask to stay in the main part of the hotel, not the west wing"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hakone-machi area.
PRICE RANGE
£172 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the prince hakone hotel hakone-machi, prince hotel hakone machi
LOCATION
JapanKantoKanagawa PrefectureAshigarashimo-gunHakone-machi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
91
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PRINCE HAKONE LAKE ASHINOKO - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
Which popular attractions are close to The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko?
Nearby attractions include Hakoneen Aquarium (0.2 miles), Hakoneen (0.3 miles), and Fuji Ashinoko Panorama Park (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nadaman Garden Hakone, Le Trianon, and Hakone Prince Pan Kobo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hakone Shrine / Kuzuryu Shrine Singu (1.2 miles), Hakone Sekisho and Hakone Sekisho Museum (1.8 miles), and Yamanaka Castle Remains Park (4.1 miles).
All Hakone-machi HotelsHakone-machi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hakone-machiHotels near The Prince Hakone Lake Ashinoko
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire