We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very attentive and helpful. We especially appreciated the service provided by Nobuo San who even helped us with a dinner reservation in Tokyo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John Y
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thanks for posting such a positive review - much appreciated! It is quite an honour to read that you felt your stay was remarkable, and I do hope that I can welcome you back personally upon your next stay with us at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with receptionist Nobuo-san stuff and congratulate...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved the gorgeous autumn views around the property and really enjoyed trying all the novel items in the kaiseki dinner. The service was outstanding. The only downside I would mention is that the location is a bit of a walk from the major attractions in the town of Nikko.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rene C
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, Autumn in Nikko is very beautiful for its autumn colors. We hope that many people see its beauty. Since our hotel is located in a secluded area near a beautiful at the foot of a mountain, it...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My son and I spent a weekend here in January. The weather was cold and snowy. This was incredibly relaxing, the staff are incredibly attentive, it is beautifully decorated, wonderful onsen baths. The food was the best we have had in Japan so far. Supper was included and it is an incredible experience. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lahulton
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us and taking time to give us your comments about your stay on TripAdvisor. I'm happy that you enjoyed our beautiful winter Japanese garden, an private open‐air bath, hospitality and dining experience Japanese dishes. Look forward to meeting you guys and your family soon!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in a room that had it's own outdoor hotspring tub. The view was awesome, the room was great and the staff was amazing. We were treated like royalty. We saw deer from our deck and large koi fish in the pond below. The food was especially tasty, and we were always full after.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis K
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We greatly appreciate it. I'm happy that you enjoyed our beautiful winter Japanese garden, an private open‐air bath, hospitality and dining experience Japanese dishes. I really hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Arigatou-gozaimasu.

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

As written in many ratings the food is very good and the service is friendly and polite. Everything is clean. The room rate is relatively expensive with 600 US for 2 guests considering what other Japanese Ryokan offer in this class. This doesn't mean the room is small but just "different" than others in this class!The location is quite remote...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bixier G
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa. We are very happy and proud that you liked the hotel, our hospitality, Japanese food, room environment. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Nikko soon!

Reading
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Of course everyone has different expectations and experiences, but if you want somewhere quiet, relaxing, helpful - this place certainly delivered for us! The hotel emailed us a week or so before to arrange our bus transfer to hotel from the station. We were met from our train and arrived at the hotel where we had a welcome drink and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea31
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay Ryokan with us and we always strive to ensure that our guests enjoy every moment of their time with us. Thank you for your kind words about our front office team. As guests enjoy this...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in late October. I really have to praise their service. They have a shuttle to pick up customers within Nikko, you just need to call them. It was raining on the day, their shuttle showed up promptly to pick us up. They even agreed to give our guide a ride to the train station,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela H
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Dear. Guest So happy that you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for taking the time to let us know. As you commented, we have shuttle bus service from hotel to "World Heritage area" & "Tobu station" or "JR nikko station". Shuttle bus service (from PM2:00 to PM7:00) pick you up after your call. "Onsen" the one of the Japanese...

manila
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This is my third experience at a ryokan, and my husband and I were excited to have my two kids experience the bliss of staying in one. I was very disappointed. Service and welcome pale in comparison to the two other ryokans we had stayed at. We probably arrived at a bad time, (we were 4 hours early for check-in)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gel c
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa. Our goal is to provide a warm and hospitable ambiance for all our guests and I am sorry we were not able to fully meet your needs. That is because of a lack in our speek english understanding. We apologize that my English...

Lyon, France
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Excellent Traditional Japanese Ryukan though modern and classic altogether. Superb food and service either in your own room which I recommend or in the beautiful restaurant overlooking the scenery and a perfect "onsen" with all the amenities. Furthermore beautifully situated and calm in the touristic pearl of Nikko

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taoistfrog
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

So happy that you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for taking the time to let us know. We are very happy and proud that you liked the hotel, our hospitality, Japanese food, room environment. We take great pride in offering our guests memorable experiences complete, and I'm so proud to hear that we did just that. I really hope...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

This was our first and only experience of a ryokan so can't compare to others. The staff were incredibly polite and helpful - nothing was any trouble. The setting is beautiful and the private onsen was amazing. The food was exquisite although a traditional Japanese breakfast can be challenging for Western palates. It was easy to get to Lake Chuzenji...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elvis147
Hotel_Tokugawa_Nikko, 広報担当マネージャー at Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed such a fantastic experience Japanese Ryokan. We truly pride ourselves on our hospitality and personalised service, and so it is brilliant to see that we exceeded your expectations. 'Nikko area' you will arrive in...

782 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (491)
Viewed
Agusai Room (43)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Azami Room (57)
Viewed
Fuji Room (58)
Viewed
Komakusa Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Shiyakunage Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Yashio Room (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (145)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (101)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#4 of 151 in Nikko
280 reviews
Chuzenji Onsen
Hotel Shikisai
Hotel Shikisai
#9 of 151 in Nikko
147 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Onsen Ryokan
Kinugawa Onsen Ryokan
#10 of 151 in Nikko
263 reviews
Chuzenji Onsen
Chuzenji Kanaya Hotel
Chuzenji Kanaya Hotel
#8 of 151 in Nikko
130 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Asaya
Asaya
#2 of 151 in Nikko
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17-room quiet & small inn with seasonal hospitality, surrounded by beautiful nature and Japanese garden , which is distinct for each season, in Nikko inland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa

Address: 2204 Nikko, Nikko 321-1415, Tochigi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko > Nikko Onsen
Price Range: £223 - £590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nikko
#1 Spa Hotel in Nikko
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nikko
#2 Family Hotel in Nikko
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I recommend getting a room with it's own hotspring tub.”
 of 5 bubbles 857travisk, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Différentes donc au choix de chacun”
 of 5 bubbles Taoistfrog, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private bath was a pleasure.”
 of 5 bubbles cringe2, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with private bath”
 of 5 bubbles 765chunl, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ginryu - Japanese/Western-style Room with Open-air Bath”
 of 5 bubbles andrewY8631QN, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5