Honke Bankyu
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Honke Bankyu

749 Yunishikawa, Nikko 321-2601 Tochigi Prefecture
the Kazurabashi (a hanging rope bridge)
Traveller (301)
Panorama at the Honke Bankyu
360
Panoramas (14)
private onsen
Room & Suite (152)

View prices for your travel dates

£241
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 19 ryokans in Nikko
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

If you’re looking for a luxury ryokan in Nikko, look no further than Honke Bankyu.

For those interested in checking out Heike Hunter Village (1.3 mi) while visiting Nikko, Honke Bankyu Hotel is a short distance away.

Rooms at Honke Bankyu provide a refrigerator and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free internet access available.

In addition, Honke Bankyu offers a hot tub and breakfast, which will help make your Nikko trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you are looking for a nearby place to eat, Honke Bankyu Hotel is within walking distance of Yakiniku Yamamichi (0.2 mi), a popular restaurant in the area.

If you’re looking for something to do, Yudonosan Shrine (0.4 mi), Hachiman Shrine (1.2 mi), and Heike Ochiudo Minzoku Shiryokan (0.8 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Honke Bankyu Hotel.

The staff at Honke Bankyu looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Restaurant
Banquet room
Spa
Concierge
Gift shop
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
Japanese

Location

749 Yunishikawa, Nikko 321-2601 Tochigi Prefecture
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
Fukushima Airport
49.9 mi
See all flights
218Reviews9Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 126
  • 60
  • 16
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chantman wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia231 contributions203 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent vibe in ryokan that dates back 300 years. The staff were incredibly helpful as we don't speak Japanese, although there were hardly any other foreigners there (unlike Nikko 2 hours south, which was overwhelmed by tourists). Excellent hot baths, mixed gender and segregated. The Kaiseiki dinner was wonderful. To get there you cross a small swing bridge over a river made of vines and bamboo. A unique experience. Stayed 3 nights, and could have stayed longer. Very relaxing. A short walk away was Heike no sato, a beautiful little village with reconstructed old buildings packed with small museum objects - especially beautiful in autumn ( the leaves were spectacular). Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MuseFaery wrote a review Apr 2016
Cadaval, Portugal41 contributions52 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay in ryokans for two reasons, namely the onsen and the kaiseki meal. Onsen-wise, Honke Bankyu Ryokan (Yunishigawa Onsen) in Tochigi Prefecture falls short of the likes of the ryokans like Sumeikan Kurokaya (Okuhida Onsen), Houshi (Awazu Onsen), and Tsurunoyu (Nyuto Onsen),  and to Yumori Tanakaya (Shiobara Ooami Onsen) in the same Prefecture. The indoor onsen is rather modest in size and the rotenburo is nothing to boast of. In fact, we were rather disappointed as it had been given rave reviews :(

As for the kaiseki dinner, the only memorable part is the dining hall on one side of the hanging rope bridge (Kazura-bashi). The bridge is an interesting feature. It was well lighted and provides an impressive backdrop for photography. The dining hall has a nice ambience and looks stunning in both size and decor.

As for the actual kaiseki meal, we were served dishes like venison, chicken soup with soba and Japanese spices, sashimi served in an ice bowl, grilled mountain trout, and tempura.  Presentation-wise, we have no complaints but taste-wise the dishes, especially the sashimi and tempura, were not exceptional. The irori fireplace (open hearth) is nice but the nabe dish was a letdown. A similar nabe dish over an irori fireplace offered at  Tsurunoyu (Nyuto Onsen) was way better. We were somewhat disappointed.

What then is Honke Bankyu's attraction? Its historical monument status? The location of the guests' rooms/rotenburo, and the dining hall on each side of the Yunishi River? Its tolerance of body tattoos?

The wood used in this heritage monument gives a feeling of authenticity. At 380 years, it is comparable with the likes of Tsurunoyu Ryokan in Akita Prefecture, but not that of Houshi Ryokan (Awazu Onsen) in Ishikawa Prefecture which is the second oldest ryokan in Japan.

As for the location of its facilities along the Yunishi River, one should perhaps make a trip to Yumori Tanakaya (Shiobara Ooami Onsen) in Tochigi Prefecture (an hour drive from Honke Bsnkyu) to feel the oneness with nature as the rotenburo is next to the mountain stream. 

Mayhaps, it is the customer service which is credible as they tried to settle the guests through an initial welcome drum and attempts to explain the going ons at the Ryokan throughout our stay.

As for tolerance of body tattoos, if true, it would be a refreshing touch as most ryokans will frown upon body art due to its links to the yakuza. We chanced by a male guest who displayed a magnificent full body tattoo while enjoying his bath.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mintaka1976 wrote a review Nov 2018
Hong Kong, China129 contributions103 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An amazing 5-star japanese experience right from the beginning. Greeted in the parking lot as we drove up. Check-in was very friendly and professional. The ryokan is exceptional in every respect - very traditional and japanese but also extremely comfortable. Room was large, beautiful, and we even had our own ofuro (bathtub) in the room. Dinner was an experience to behold - wonderful. We brought our own wine and that was fine. The onsen are spotless and lovely.

The only disappointment - from my research there was a konyoku (mixed) bath available. But it seems that is no longer the case. There is one indoor and one outdoor (rotemburo) bath for men and the same for women but there are no mixed baths (konyoku) anymore. There are 3 private family baths that you can book for an extra 1080 yen for a 45 minute session. But if you don't book a family bath you will not be able to soak with your partner.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SRHGreenville wrote a review Nov 2015
Bethesda, Maryland218 contributions83 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This amazing, historic property is definitely off the beaten path and a good hour plus from Nikko city. However, if you are willing to get away from the larger cities, you will not be disappointed.

We arrived late on a Friday after missing a tight train connection and I had emailed the ryokan to let them know we'd be arriving late and may not arrive by dinner. We grab a taxi in Yunishigawa Onsen, which was the closest we could get by train. The taxi was about 11,000 Yen and took about 40 minutes. When we arrived, we learned they had actual sent a car for us when they received my email. A good sign of the type of excellent service we would receive.

Dinners

After providing us slippers and a short tour, they took us to our room, which had a connected private stone Onsen overlooking the river. Though we did not wear our yukata that night, we walked across the swinging bridge to their restaurant on the other side and we treated to quite the feast in a private room. They cook in a traditional local style with skewers over coals along with other traditional dishes and courses. We could order sake and beer as desired as well. The staff spoke enough English to explain the dishes and how to eat or cook each and could not have been nicer. The meats included grilled fish, reindeer, fish sashimi, grilled chicken and Sukiyaki. We had meals served this was both nights of our stay with completely different food both times. This included a small course of sashimi chicken - which was perfectly prepared and (despite our initial apprehension) perfectly good to eat raw.

Rooms

Our room with the Onsen attached had a separate bed area with slightly raised beds on mattresses, TVs, excellent free Wifi, etc. the second night that room was already booked, so we moved to a second floor room that was more traditional ryokan where they made our beds on the floor at night. We did have a raised area where you could have a meal over coals and a large sliding glass door with railing overlooking the river. Though smaller, it was still a good sized room.

Onsens/Hot Tubs

By far the most relaxing part of our trip. The private onsen was perfect with hot water, cleaning area and private views onto the beautiful river. Both during the day and at night, it took away any stresses. The second day when we moved to the other room, we reserved one of their other private onsens for guests for 45 minutes. Equally nice and relaxing, the water was a little hotter (as is typical in Japan), but beautiful and relaxing none the less. There is also a men's Onsen and women's Onsen if you don't want to pay for a private one.

Facilities

Though you see more western faces now thanks to trip advisor reviews, there is still not a lot of English spoken and it remains traditional Japanese - which is why you come. They have afternoon tea in the lobby, where there is a library of books and a small fire area. They also have a small gift store with local treats, spice mixes, slippers, etc.

Location

Situated in the mountains, the views with the Fall leaves was spectacular. There are some small restaurants in the little town that you can walk to outside the entrance. We had some of the best ramen at one. There are also a few small stores selling various gifts and sundries, hiking paths, a walk along the river, and a small historic mock-up of a traditional Heike village from when that group of samurai and families escaped to this area. There are also some ski slopes nearby and they clearly get a lot of snow in the winter.

Staff

They staff were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful and special stay. Even walking out to the bus stop when we left with another couple from L.A. and waiving goodbye and bowing (of course). This has been run in the family for hundreds of years and is definitely a unique and special place to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Biki U wrote a review Jul 2008
Chicago, Illinois360 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I guess I will be the first one to review this hotel :)
My husband and I stayed at this property in July 2008. We found about it through trip advisor forum and it has been experience to remember for the rest of our lives.
If you are looking to submerse into the Japanese old way of living yet enjoy some high class pampering, this is the place for you.

No words to describe..(see the photos) .
The feeling is maybe like if you were staying in an old castle in Europe - just Japanese version of it. built in 17th century ...
but it does have AC/TV/phone/and high tech toilet seat/ but you can't almost notice these innovations since they are disguised perfectly and blended into the old ryokan environment.

We stayed in a suite - most expensive room (did not plan on it but no other rooms available) and we did not regret it for a second.
You would be having your onsen in your room, overlooking mountains and the river, and you would not want to get up and leave that place any time soon :)

Beds: Traditional (on the floor) , comfortable, clean sheets
Bathroom: Clean, has shower and wooden bathtub
Toilet: clean, high tech with all the buttons :)
View: overlooks mountains and the river passes by it and the hanging bridge connects hotel to the dining area - very romantic

Food: Dinner and breakfast included in the price. A fiesta of food prepared and served in traditional way , very tasty , no idea what we ate - all written in Japanese
Staff: so so polite! no one spoke English except the owner, who knew some, but honestly , we didn't even notice we needed any help with anything...we just relaxed and dove into the old japan..that , actually , was the point, not to speak english but to see japan inside out!
Clothes: you will be getting kimonos, and shoes to wear while there. so nice
Onsen: SOOOOOOOOOOOOO RELAXING
Read more
Date of stay: July 2008
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
simonc762014 wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom700 contributions118 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were so apprehensive about staying here. Having read all the reviews of how difficult it is to get here and how remote the location is we decided to take the plunge and travelled by three trains and a bus from our previous hotel in central Nikko to get here. The journey was a breeze, each train ran on time and there was only a 5 to 10 minute wait between each train and bus to get here. Similarly the journey on the way back was just as effortless. Upon walking up towards the imposing building from the bus stop we knew we had reached somewhere quite special. It was off-season, so relatively quiet and the little village just outside the ryokan was just charming and made for a great stroll despite the heavy rain. The hotel and the rooms are incredibly atmospheric and beautiful, so much history everywhere - this is a truly traditional ryokan that drips with history and intrigue. The dinner here was just mind-blowing....maybe one of the best meals I have ever eaten, all served in a beautiful, intimate dining room with attentive and smiling staff. Presentation of the food along with the variety and taste should be applauded. The breakfast was sadly only average and needs some more western varieties added to it's selection. The rope bridge across to the dining room is lit up at night and looks stunning and the onsen was also excellent. I'm so glad I chose to go off the grid slightly and discover this beautiful place. Admittedly it is too far for the main sights of Nikko, but if you have an extra day to spare, this is a place and an experience that cannot be missed. Thoroughly enjoyable and relatively good value for money too, if you get a chance to stay, just do it - I cannot see how you would regret staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas K wrote a review Mar 2018
Taipei, Taiwan239 contributions136 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Honke Bankyu retains the traditional Japanese hospitality. Taira clan or Heike, a major Japanese clan of samurai, has been running this Ryokan for hundreds of year. The host is warm, and the service is attentive.

The ryokan stands along a brook, and there is a suspension bridge connecting the main building and the restaurant on the other side of the brook. In winter, one can see the nice ice sculpture on the opposite bank from the ryokan. The ryokan is a spacious and traditional Japanese building decorated in countryside style rather than delicate one. There is a big library on the second floor.

The dinner was yummy. The meal was country style Kaiseki, dainty rather than crude. Sashimi was well-presented in a mini igloo which was the icon of the local snow festival’s icon. The Isshobera(一升べら) of Irori-yaki(囲爐裡燒), which was a “Hamburg” made from ground chicken and miso, was special and tasty. The wagyu beef in the hotpot was tender.

In the evening, the ryokan’s shuttle bus sent guests to the riverside snow festival site. Thousands of mini igloos with lighted candles inside arranged themselves all over the dry riverbed, igniting a gorgeous and romantic night scene.

The onsen was upon the brook, which was not big but comfortable. Also, the private baths were available for rent.

This Classic Japanese ryokan was a shining pear of our itinerary.

本家伴久一家保持著傳統日本旅館服務精神的溫泉旅館。日本歷史上重要的平家後代一直擁有這個旅館。主人熱情,服務親切周到。

旅館臨溪而立,有一座弔橋過溪流前往餐廳。在冬季,從旅館可以欣賞對岸漂亮的冰雕。傳統的日式建築相當寬敞,不是細緻優雅型,帶著粗獷鄉村風,二樓有一個很大的圖書室。

餐點非常棒,雖然偏向鄉土風味的懷食料理,做得精緻可口。生魚片放在可愛的小冰屋裡,那是當地冬季冰雕祭かまくら祭冰屋的迷你版,圍爐裡燒的「一升べら」是雞絞肉和味增做的「漢堡」,很特別而可口,和牛火鍋也鮮嫩。

晚間飯店的巴士會送客人到沢口河岸看冰雕,乾河床上上千個點著蠟燭的小冰屋華麗而浪漫。

臨河的露天風呂不大但很舒適,它們也有提供貸切風呂。

這家經典日式旅館,是我們的旅程中一顆閃亮的寶石。
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael D wrote a review Jan 2017
Singapore, Singapore59 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having spent most of the last 3 years in Japan I have done my fair share of sight-seeing, and as much as I think Japan is a beautiful country I do yearn for a little more authenticity in their "historical" sites which, understandably given all the earthquakes, have generally been rebuilt numerous times.
Finally, and it was definitely a bit of a trek to get here, I found this place. Even if it had been rebuilt, it would seem it had been done so with a lot more class than anywhere else - but it does seem as though the majority of the building is original.
The rooms themselves are pretty basic, but the entire trip is worth it simply for the dining experience. The view over the water to the restaurant is wonderfully memorable, and then the food itself is delicious, original (and we have been to many other similar Ryokans) and seemingly never-ending.
There isn't a huge amount to do in the area, and be warned that if you go on the red/pink ribbon trail/walk....the ribbon is nowhere to be seen so be prepared to get lost.
A truly memorable experience, and even though the local transportation connections are not fantastic (we didn't have a car), it is a must-see
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mardi_JF wrote a review Nov 2015
Boston, Massachusetts104 contributions77 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When I booked this stay with two friends, I was expecting a pleasant onsen experience and a quaint inn. I was blown away by the extent of the design of our entire stay, which I learned is typical of a traditional Japanese riokan.

The Honke Banyu building is just gorgeous, with it's large wooden beams and wide planked floors. Upon arrival, you're greeted with slippers and ushered in for tea. Our room for three was quite large; the only change I would make is that I would have preferred to have the futons already laid out, as I wanted to rest before bed. Not a big issue; I just pulled one out of the closet.

We changed into the robes provided in the closet and my friend YouTubed how to tie a kimono robe sash.

There are three or four private onsens overlooking the river, for only $1000 for an hour. We booked one and enjoyed a private bath in a beautiful rock-lined onsed. The spring is quite hot and we dipped in and out.

The ladies communal onsen has both an indoor and outdoor pool, and a huge changing area with little stations that provide pretty much every amenity that you might want; even pumice stones for rubbing dry skin off your feet after bathing!

No one spoke English, aside from a few hotel-related words. This added to the fun, in feeling like we were having a true Japanese experience. There were only two other Westerners there when we we there.

My only critique is that the staff seems to not really understand allergies. Two in my party had food allergies and even emailed with staff prior to arrival. Still, there were nuts and shellfish in our food.

The dinner was mind-blowing. We were led across the river on a suspension bridge with beautiful lights, to an atmospheric straw-thatched dining hall. I don't want to ruin the exquisite surprises that comprised the meal, but let's such say that the detail in the presentation was amazing.

In the end, I ranked this experience up there with staying in Bedouin yurts in Jordan, safari in South Africa, adventures in New Zealand. Book now! I hope to return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yokohama Geezer wrote a review Jan 2015
Yokohama, Japan196 contributions190 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I'd had this place on my radar for years and I/we finally got there for New Year's Eve 2014/5. It's expensive and quite a trip - but I'm glad we went. A 2 hour train journey on the fastest train to Kinugawa and a 45 minute bus journey up the hill. We arrived on a snow melting/slushy day and walked around the town eating great soba and visiting some old Japanese houses related to the Heike clan.

Checked in a little early at 2:30 pm. This place gives off the 'old/historical' feel. The room was comfy but being at the end of the corridor we had views of neighbouring buildings as well as the river.

Food is excellent and plentiful, despite the various things I couldn't eat. Plus it's served in a different building across a lovely bridge that connects from inside the ryokan. Service was a bit slow and confused at dinner time - it was NYE after all and the place was packed. But what I could eat was delicious and we ate in a private room with a lovely view outside.

You can reserve a private bath for a family for 45 minutes for an extra 1000 yen and that was fun. The men's bath which I had in the morning was great... especially the outside one next to the river with snow falling on your head.

VERY noisy guests overnight - the type that go to sleep and leave the TV on loudly - and sound travels easily through this old building. Eventually it shut off around 2 a.m. The room was very light too - hotel lights from across the river flooded in through the thin curtains. This bothered me, but may not bother you.

We woke up to fresh snow blanketing the village and this turned everything into a magical winter land scene. Really the perfect view and atmosphere for this place. I would imagine the snowy months to be the best time of the year to visit this area. (Mid December to late March should be safe for snow.)

Breakfast was OK.... but I was still stuffed from dinner anyway!

Wi-fi free and worked well. Nice coffee in the lounge overlooking the river - free at certain times.

10:01 bus opposite the hotel connects with the 11:15 fast train at Kinugawa back to Asakusa (Tokyo) - so you can be back in the big city by 13:12.

PS - We stayed at Kinugawa for a night on the way up and that broke the travel on our trip up. If you have 2 nights, I would recommend that instead of staying 2 nights at the Hotel Bankyu.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are OKish for the price you're paying and I'm not sure you can...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear customer Thank you for your reservation and questions. We are sorry for late reply. Unfortunately Japanese stock(Dashi) cannot be removed from all dishes. In addition, we cannot change or remove ingredients related to the entire course meal, such as not being able to eat all meat or seafood.(such as vegetarians) We are very sorry and thank you for your understanding. If you need a reservation cancellation, please do by the reserved site. If you have anything, we will accept the email address posted on our hotel ”HonkeBankyu”site. Thank you.
Stephanie asked a question Oct 2019
Brisbane, Australia33 contributions
Can I pay to access the outdoor onsen only? I am only doing a day trip in Nikko
Answer from Robin S
65 contributions29 helpful votes
No, you can’t. I should tell you that this hotel is not near Toshogu Shrine, if that’s what you want to see. It’s very far from it. If you don’t have a car, I would not come here just for the day as transportation to this hotel does not run often.
D-Bert87 asked a question Aug 2019
Ottawa, Canada141 contributions15 helpful votes
Are foreigners with tattoos allowed in the onsen?
Answer from Vajo n
Pamplona, Spain44 contributions21 helpful votes
Don’t think so. Real Onsens don’t allow it at lease that you can hide/cover them.
Answer from 玉美 三
1 contribution
Thank you for your question about our hotel. The plans below are able to checked in official website of Honke-Bankyu. ● All rooms have a toilet. ● There is no shower in the 1and 5 plan’s rooms. ● The plan with a shower and a bathtub is 3.4.5.Cuisine is also up-grade. ● Recommended in a room with hot springs, It is 3, 4. It is a hot spring with a sense of unity with the river. The cuisine is upgraded and it is offered in a restaurant in a private room. 1)Hanayagi Plan (Rooms with toilet on main building) 2)Miyabi Plan (Room With Bath on Main Building and up-grade dinner) 3)Suite Room with Open-Air Bath , and High-Grade Dinner 4)Suite Room with Semi Open-Air Bath , and High-Grade Dinner 5)Nagomi Plan (Rooms with toilet on annex or main building) We are looking forward to seeing you. by Honke-Bankyu
ashley4182 asked a question Apr 2017
Santa Barbara, California54 contributions7 helpful votes
Have you ever stayed at Heike No Sho?
Answer from 本家ばん
日光市4 contributions
No I have not stayed at Heke No Sho.
Kath096 wrote a tip Aug 2018
Salisbury9 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in the old part of the building."
Read full review
dalepeters59 wrote a tip Mar 2018
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Overlooking river - and the rope/vine bridge leading to the dining hall. Lovely food, great views, amazing historical items/info. Loved it."
Read full review
Sandra358 wrote a tip Jun 2015
Newark, New Jersey17 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even the standard rooms here have character and views. Those with beds and hot tub are more expensive - but worth every penny."
Read full review
Shane_in_Oz wrote a tip Jun 2015
Melbourne, Australia211 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the river with private onsen are worth the expense."
Read full review
Gfinsen wrote a tip May 2015
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a view over the river/stream"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nikko area.
PRICE RANGE
£216 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
honke bankyu hotel nikko, honke bankyu ryokan nikko
LOCATION
JapanKantoTochigi PrefectureNikkoKinugawa Onsen / Yunisigawa Onsen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HONKE BANKYU - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Honke Bankyu
Which popular attractions are close to Honke Bankyu?
Nearby attractions include Yunishigawa Onsen (0.04 miles), Heike no Sato (0.3 miles), and Takafusa Shrine (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Honke Bankyu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Honke Bankyu?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Honke Bankyu?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Honke Bankyu?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Honke Bankyu?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aizu-Yatofu, Heike Soba Shioya, and Yakiniku Yamamichi.
Are there any historical sites close to Honke Bankyu?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Yunohana Theater (7.9 miles) and Futaarayama Shrine (7.9 miles).
Does Honke Bankyu have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Nikko HotelsNikko Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NikkoHotels near Honke Bankyu
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire