We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pakachere Backpackers

Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (9)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Our Backpackers & Creative Centre is a laidback meetingpoint for international volunteers, locals, tourists and backpackers. We invite you to come and have dinner or a drink, spend the night in a tent, our dorm or a private room. In our common areas and our garden you will meet Malawians and people from all over the world traveling through Zomba! We offer Paka Tours; from guided walks up Zomba Plateau to airport transfers and trips to Mulanje, Liwonde, Cape Maclear or even as far as Nkhata Bay. Our local guide Isaac is a gem. He knows the area very well and can tell you all about nature on the mountain and the culture of Malawian people. The owners are happy to share their extensive knowledge of the country. If you are just arriving in Malawi, we offer a landing package with an airport transfer, information about the country (money/ATMs, transport, places to visit, dos & don'ts), a local SIM card & a Malawian G&T, soft drink or cold 'green' (beer) on arrival at our lodge.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Airport Transportation
Breakfast Available
Golf course
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Business
76Reviews
78Photos
0Q+A
4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 26
  • 6
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed at Pakachere in March last year while travelling down Malawi with some friends. It's a fun place - hospitable, comfortable, and characterful, good food and drinks. I would definitely recommend it. The owners are also very helpful and go out of their way to assist
Read more
Response from PakaZomba, Owner at Pakachere Backpackers
Responded 3 days ago
Hello Mark. We are very happy you have your spoon back. It took a while but we did not trust the Malawi mail service which is why we brought back when we went to Europe for our yearly visit. Thank you for your kind words, and maybe see you again!
Read more
Stayed here recently for a week. Overall very good with the exception of a disco night with loud music to the wee small hours. Owners on site and staff very helpful and friendly. Basic good food provided all day
Read more
Response from Annelies B, Owner at Pakachere Backpackers
Responded 26 Nov 2018
Hello Sam, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our place. Which is, like in your title, basic but hopefully feels like home away from home. I guess you were unlucky that you stayed at Paka during one of our DJ nights - an event that only happens 3 or 4 times per year but coincidentally when you were staying.. Pepani! Usually we tell people about events when they book, but in your case you booked in August when the dates weren't set yet. It was nice to have you at Paka and we admire the work you are doing. We hope to see you again (and we won't organise a party next time) ;) Tionana!
Read more
Our stay at the Pakachere was strange. The place is advertised with WiFi, but of course, it doesn't work. And we are pretty sure it won't work when you stay there. No wifi in Malawi isn't an issue, so, whatever. But, there are regular Power cut-offs each day in Zomba. If you
Read more
Response from Annelies B, Owner at Pakachere Backpackers
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Dear Navigate, Thank you for your review. Sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay. We are sad to be accused that it seems we don't care and made you feel we just want your money. We love Pakachere and do everything with our team to make people feel at home. Most guests really seem to enjoy their stay and we hear often that our love for the place shows. Please accept our apologies that we failed to do that in your case! Pakachere is a simple backpackers' and we constantly look to improve, but it goes pang'ono pang'ono - one step at the time. Running a business in Malawi comes with challenges, like power cuts and unreliable internet connections. It is a fact of life here but that does not mean we are complacent about that; we constantly look what we can do to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We are saving money to invest in solar power; at Paka we currently work with solar lights, cook on gas and have candles for emergencies. The lodge you refer to in Senga Bay is a very nice place and the owner is great; he recently installed the solar which took him many years. We only started one year ago and our beds are much cheaper, so it will take a while until we can offer everything we'd like. Our wish list is very long! You are right that we sometimes struggle with good internet; it actually does work most evenings but it can be slow and unreliable. We have tried various providers in the year that we own Pakachere, but a good one has yet to be found in Zomba.. We know we are not perfect, but we do care about our guests, staff, the environment and we try to do what we can to make Malawi a little bit better for its people by stimulating the local economy through tourism.. Wishing you safe travels, zikomo!
Read more
Zomba is a lush paradise, for all its colonial capital status a far cry from Malawi's somewhat grim - more grubby bland boring than anything proper dangerous - urban centres of Lilongwe, Blantyre/Limbe, Mzuzu - in loose in the rumble-tumble botanic gardens with troops of yellow
Read more
Response from Annelies B, Owner at Pakachere Backpackers
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Thank you for your kind words! Hope to see you again :) Safe travels
Read more
Awesome place to stay and relax (and party a bit) in Zomba. Good breakfast, nice chill areas and very good for socializing with awesome people while drinking gin&tonics. Go here and find out for yourselves :)
Read more
Response from Annelies B, Owner at Pakachere Backpackers
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Zikomo Lotte! Welcome any time :)
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Double Room
Photo provided by managementPakachere Backpackers
The 10-bed dorm has a big bathroom
Photo provided by managementPakachere Backpackers
3-bed dorm
Photo provided by managementPakachere Backpackers
Self-contained double room
Photo provided by managementPakachere Backpackers
Self-contained double room
PreviousNext
123
"The shared dorm room has comfy beds for $10, I got a great night sleep"
"Big dorm has own bathroom; small dorm only 6 beds; private rooms are nice!"
"Ask for the smaller dorms. Private rooms are best if you want to "splurge.""
"The doubles are great value; did not stay in dorms but looked ok."
PRICE RANGE
US$23 - US$42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalawiSouthern RegionZomba
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing