We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Residence Mauritius

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 798: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is excellent for a laid back and luxurious experience of Mauritius. The staff is so attentive and the hotel has everything to offer. I would definately go back to this hotel if I get the opportunity.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camilla M
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I spent a perfect time at The Residence. The beach,the room, the staff, the food were excellent. Every day they offered a diffent show of music and dance and also different menu at the restaurant. The hotel was clean and quiet. The location is also very good. You have to know that half board means no beverages included and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maria m
Florence, Italy
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've spent my Christmas holiday and everything was good: hotel, big room, lot of free service. Wonderful sea but not incredible beach..... staff is very courtesy but special mention for Yuvraaj that was special!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alessandroguerrini
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager (BDM) at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for posting your review full of praises on Trip advisor following your recent stay at The Residence Mauritius. We are glad to note that you have been impressed by our service quality especially Yuvraaj who stood out in providing you the best service. Your words of appreciation on the latter will for sure be a real...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The beach is good for swimming and other activities. Lovely hotel, rooms are ok. Good restaurants and good food. The staff are the best asset that the hotel has. They are courteous, friendly and always willing to help.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnitaMunetsi
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager ( BDM) at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for writing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that The Residence Mauritius has met your expectations and that you were overwhelmed with the accommodation and service. No doubt your praiseworthy words will be a major boost for our team members who will keep on doing their best to assist each...

Notting Hill, London, UK
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for a week in January. The welcome was friendly, swift and professional and we were upgraded to a suite in a quiet wing of the hotel (room 167 near the plantation). The room was absolutely HUGE with classic furniture. Don't expect the latest design. But it was very comfortable. Housekeeping was friendly and the room always spotlessly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank London_Gourmet
UK
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here over new year 2016/17 and really enjoyed it. We had a few teething troubles on our first day (smell in room, coffee machine not working, bed sheets not dried properly (another smell)). Of course in an hotel of this standard/cost these issues should not have arisen - but, let's face it, they do. And if you let that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Arinley
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at this resort was not what we expected .This was our first visit to Mauritius after 11 years and we chose to stay here because it has one of the best beaches and lagoons for swimming on the island . And it does , the beach and swimming is excellent !! What was disappointing was the service ,food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikolas N
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for your comments which will certainly assist us to pave our way for excellence. We understand that our resort has not met your expectations and it`s regrettable that your concerns were not communicated personally to our team members whilst you were on property as immediate measures could have been taken to ensure that you have...

Barcelona
Reviewed 1 week ago

As I told you before, your hotel needs change in service urgently, but not people,... need to have professionals to teach them. Seem that currently they are not. Also you have to take care about Events you offer, Show at New yEAR'S eve was terrible,...a 5 star hotel can't offer such a pathetic show, I've been in Cambodia, Philippines in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lourdesa201
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager ( BDM) at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We understand that the show was not to your liking during the festive period. However , we have had positive comments from other clients who stayed with us during that festive period. We certainly will continue to upgrade our shows for our guests satisfaction. Kind regards, The Management

Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our third trip to The Residence and it was every bit as lovely. The beautiful scent hits you as soon as you get out of the car and it follows you around the resort. All of the staff were lovely and the New Year's Eve party was fabulous. Even though the hotel was full it never felt crowded...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jo B
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager ( BDM) at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very much delighted to read that you had a wonderful holiday at The Residence Mauritius and we feel honored to read that you really had a good time at The Residence. We reiterate our thanks for choosing The Residence Mauritius for your holidays and sincerely...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved the hotel particularly the beautiful setting, the lovely pools, the amazing beach, the breathtaking views, the friendly staff, the fun water sports and the best kids club ever. The hotel is due to undergo a refurb project so will improve the tired but still nice rooms. There are only 2 restaurants which were good but not great for indian...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank veenayshah7
PierrotBarbe, Business Development Manager (BDM) at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our resort. We are pleased to read that you have been overwhelmed by our hotel architecture, facilities, Kids Club and the friendly attitude of our team members. We believe strongly in team spirit and are happy to note that our Guest Relations Manager...

2,006 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1445)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (300)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (279)
Viewed
Dining (141)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
2:36
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (514)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (537)
Viewed
Amenities (149)
Viewed
Beach (29)
Viewed
Colonial Ocean Front Room (60)
Viewed
Colonial Ocean Front Suite (80)
Viewed
Colonial Ocean View Suite (90)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (3)
Viewed
Outdoor Jacuzzi (2)
Viewed
Pool (29)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
3.9 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,121 reviews
15.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,042 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,330 reviews
19.1 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Price Range: £179 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Residence Mauritius staff and other travellers.
59 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from The Residence Mauritius staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose an ocean front room or a room on the top floor -to avoid moving furniture noises from above”
 of 5 bubbles nikolasn416, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We found the left (south wing) the more elegant. Chosse a beachfront room on one of the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles kringspfeiffer, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms are big”
 of 5 bubbles 622davia, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you can afford an ocean front room with patio overlooking the sea its worth every rupee”
 of 5 bubbles 487RichardF487, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ocean Front rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles ElenaSM7, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay