We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Le Mechouar Darna

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Le Mechouar Darna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 8: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another easy to find restaurant which looks like it is called Hotel Charme. We ate here and came back regularly for teas, coffees and drinks as it is on the main drag into the Medina so good for people watching. The food is good and plentiful. I had the mixed fish platter and failed to finish all of it, good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Good central location close to the beach, souks , restaurants & attractions. The staff, in particular the receptionists were friendly & helpful. The facilities & general cleanliness were poor, no hot water in the shower / sink, musty damp smell in the bedroom & bathrooms, light bulbs & sockets not working, no towels left out etc. The day receptionist did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
Lille, France
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We went to the restaurant only - not the hotel. Had fish tagine, it was the most expensive and worst we had in Marroco, tasteless with fired fish despite being 200m away from the fishing harbor. Drinks were overpriced, when available. Bad experience, avoid this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benoit L
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my brother at this hotel (it's not a riad) in February. The staff were really lovely but it is outrageously expensive for what it is. There's no hot water (lukewarm at best), the rooms are small, it's dark, breakfast very simple, bathrooms smelly... All things you could get past staying in a hostel and paying hostel rates...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caity92
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed there lately and they have apparently renewed the whole place and it looks amazing! The food was good and the staff was very helpful. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to have a nice stay in this beautiful city : Essaouira.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amina E
AYOUB B, Directeur général at Le Mechouar Darna, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you very much for sharing your excellent experience at Mechouar Darna Hotel. We are glad you had such a wonderful time in our hotel and loved our honest hospitality. It is very good to read all the good things you have experienced in our hotel and that you have rated very good our food and staff. We...

Allemagne en Provence, France
Reviewed 6 January 2016

The mechouar darna is a great hotel. Clean. Child friendly with a play corner in the restaurant for the little ones. Cheerful staff who were very efficient. Good breakfast and very good food for dinner. 5 min utes by walk to the beach wich was so amazing , I recommend it! (a special mention to M AYOB the general director)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank boris h
AYOUB B, Directeur général at Le Mechouar Darna, responded to this review

Dear guest, We truly appreciate your positive feedback and your time. It is a pleasure to read that your experience among us met your expectations and I will gladly extend your regards to our dedicated staff. Thank you, for choosing to our property for your Moroccan stay. We hope that you will soon return to the Mechouar Darna (Hotel &...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2015

I can’t forget my sweet memories throughout my journey from London to Essaouira. It was just incredible. With its very hospitable staff, friendly service and its sanitary rooms, Le Mechouar Darna was a part of these memories.. Very grateful and thinking of coming back to the city of wind just because of its so enjoyable dishes.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Abdessamad J
AYOUB B, Directeur général at Le Mechouar Darna, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much to you and your family M.ABDESSAMAD for choosing us for your visit to Essaouira City! It is a pleasure for each of us to read that your experience at the Mechouar Darna hotel exceeded your expectations! Each member of our team aims at making our guests feel like at home, and we are also...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Had a very poor experience dining here one evening , setting was nice but service and food were pretty appalling. We both went for a Risotto which was just rice with tiny bit of sauce ..Wasnt cheap either .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MatthewVH

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Desdemona
Palazzo Desdemona
#27 of 76 in Essaouira
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Madina
Riad Al Madina
#28 of 76 in Essaouira
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sahara
Hotel Sahara
#72 of 76 in Essaouira
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Mumtaz Mahal
Riad Mumtaz Mahal
#62 of 177 in Essaouira
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borj Mogador
Borj Mogador
#144 of 177 in Essaouira
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad O Gre du Vent
Riad O Gre du Vent
#7 of 177 in Essaouira
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
THE MECHOUAR HISTORY The Mechouar is one of the oldest hotels of Essaouira, It Opened its door on 1925, settled in an ancestral road of 18 th century, The Mechouar proposes you a journey full with the prestigious past of Trade winds. It is ideally situated at the foot of the Clock in one of the main pedestrian streets of Essaouira. The hotel provides full enjoyment through its privileged location proposing to his customers a central situation in the medina w The story of Mechouar is made by entertaining evenings and by prestigious parties where consuls and notables of the city met. The Whole team of The Mechouar Hotel will be at the entire disposal of all hosts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Mechouar Darna

Address: Avenue Oqba Ben Nafia, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Price Range: £21 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Mechouar Darna 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Mechouar Darna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Mechouar Darna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles borish201, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay