We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Skeleton Beach backpackers

Traveller (28)
Pool & Beach (2)
Room & Suite (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are well situated within a 15 minute walk along the beach to town. We have camping (garden setting), dormitories + double rooms with communal kitchen and lounge with DSTV. We offer free WIFI.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
179Reviews
28Photos
2Q+A
15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 43
  • 26
  • 9
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Clean, secure and comfortable hostel with a simple breakfast and 24/7 coffee/tea station. There is also a comfortable lounge with a TV. The property was a 5 minute walk from the beach and about a 20 minute walk from the town centre.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
We arrived expecting a campsite, but were disappointed to find a cramped parking lot. The space is crowded and facilities are poor. We did not see the rooms so perhaps they are better, but this is not a site for car camping.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Erika V, Owner at Skeleton Beach backpackers
Responded 5 Jan 2019
We don't advertise as being a campsite! we offer camping and mostly this is with independent tents (1-2 man tents) in a garden setting as the pictures on the website depict. We have plenty of toilets+ showers, communal kitchen, breakfast room (yes breakfast is included in the price of the camping and a spacious chill room with sea views. Usually roof top camping is possible as there is lots of space but during the December season it was full and there were lots of cars.
Read more
The backpackers is great value for money. Rooms a re very comfortable and there are plenty of places to enjoy some downtime. While there's a great mix of people in the backpackers, it can be a bit noisy during the night but nothing you couldn't sleep through.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Erika V, Owner at Skeleton Beach backpackers
Responded 3 Jan 2019
Thanks for the review. Sorry for the noise but it was the festive season and it was really busy, it's not usually noisy.
Read more
The hostel is well located. A few steps from the beach and a short walk to the center. Erika is so nice. Stuff is so friendly. Breakfast basic but good. Rooms are lovely. We have stayed at the main building which was just finished. Great. Comfy bed, nice bathroom, towels and TV
Read more
Response from Erika V, Owner at Skeleton Beach backpackers
Responded 26 Dec 2018
Thanks for the great review. Is always wonderful hosting and meeting friendly open guests and hopefully you will visit us again soon!
Read more
We stayed at Skeleton Backpackers in early December this year and were surprised to arrive to full-scale construction work taking place at the site. To reach our room, we had to cross the site, and walk up steep stairs, with building work taking place on the opposite landing to
Read more
Response from Erika V, Owner at Skeleton Beach backpackers
Responded 26 Dec 2018
Sorry for that but construction is now completed and value for money has even increased. We would love to have you come check it out for yourself. Regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining
Zimmer mit blick ins Bad/WC
inside our room (3 bed en suite bathroom)
"Don't stay in the double deluxe room if you want wifi"
"Room 2 is a 4-bed dorm"
"I was camping so anywhere in the garden was a good spot."
"I think all the rooms are great for the price!"
"Rooms closest to lounge are really convenient."
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaErongo RegionSwakopmund
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing