We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Relais de l\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Manosque, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Excellent location but the hotel is quite old Wifi was not working in my bedroom The breakfast area in the garden is beautiful but the birds come to eat and walk on the bread ont the tables and the buffet

Helpful?
1 Thank MagFly888
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you for taking time to write comments about your stay. We work at the moment to find solutions for wifi and birds. We are really sorry for that. Regards. More 

Skien Norway
Level Contributor
137 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Good located on west coast. Nice pools and a short step through garden to a coralstone beach wth nice snorkelling oportunities. Rooms With balconies or patio towards pool or outside road. Big and clean rooms. Wifi ok also in rooms when you catch it from reception area. Hugh buffet breakfast in garden patio. Lot of birds come to join the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PerUrdahl
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

We thank you for taking time to write your comment. We hope you enjoyed your stay. Regards More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016

This hotel/resort has the lot and if you want to see the rest of the beautiful Reunion give Freddy A votre service a ring, professional driver and knows all the sights all around the island. We have spent a very happy and enjoyable day with seeing this lovely island, volcano and all.

Helpful?
Thank hillyjohn
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay in Réunion Island. Looking forward to see you again, Regards More 

Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

So, we had a one week stay in July 2016, couple plus four kids 7-12. The downsides were that the bedrooms really do need sprucing up (though hardly as bad as a couple of the rather hysterical reviews I've read). Also the food is very good but expensive, particularly the drinks. On the upside, its location next to the lagoon... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimbodog69
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Good afternoon, We thank you for taking time to send your comments about your stay in our hotel. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay and our Island. Looking forward to accomodate you and your family for another holiday, Best Regards. More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

No wifi in the rooms as advertised , the corridors are absolutely disgusting ! The room is not clean and the sheets are rough.I will not recommend this hotel to anyone .The shower head in my room was broken .It is not a 3 stars hotel , i would say a 1 star....barely!The breakfast is nothing to write home about....please... More 

Helpful?
Thank Masgergu
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and we apologize for that. regards More 

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains hotels

Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We had a great time in this hotel, snorkeling in the crystal waters in front of its beach and straggling around looking for some good eatery in the night. The hotel staff was thoughtful and the room nice and clean.

Helpful?
Thank Pietro D
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Thank you for having taken time to announce us your comments. We are delighted that your stay pleased you. Very cordially More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2015

There are three striking features of Reunion: (1) The breathtaking mountains of the island with extraordinary hiking facilities offering the possibility to pass from a tropical beach, to alpine settings and deserts only within several hours. (2) Sadly, the coast shows the worst what French architecture and landscaping has to offer: The former stunning landscape was transformed into an enormous... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristin D
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

We are saddened that the Reunion Island did not please you. It is rare that our customers do not keep a good memory of this intense island and his(her) inhabitants. Regards More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015

The hotel used to be a Novotel. Is a great peaceful, close to to lake and ocean. The location for myself and teenage daughter to spend a few days before heading on to Paris. Its good for sports. The hotel is a great beach side retreat. Walk out of the gates to lots of shops cafes and a market. Much... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClareLouiseSydney
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to write about your experience in our hotel. We hope to see your soon, in Reunion Island, Regards More 

New York, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the former Novotel for 2 nights and had a nice experience. The hotel can be reached by express bus z éclair for €5 directly for the airport. The bus stop (Filaos-St-Gilles) is 300 m from the hotel. The checkin was very friendly (I speak French) but Jeremy, who offered us a welcome drink, was very eager to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TomSonntag
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Hello, we thank you for having taken time to write some information about the hotel and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. The team of the Relay of Hermitage will be glad to host you for a next stay, Regards More 

Gauteng
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as a 'side trip' from mauritius. Reunion is a very interesting place to visit and this hotel is quite convenient. Rooms are nice and clean. Pools are a bit too hot, but fine. Good free wifi and okay breakfast. Staff speak adequate English. Many restaurants and shops within short walking distance and no need... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cecilia2
Sophie D, Directeur général at Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles, responded to this review

Thanks for your message. I'm glad to read your enjoyed your stay in Reunion Island and the hotel as well. Regards More 

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#3 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1,129 reviews
0.9 mi away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2,209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Kerveguen
Le Kerveguen
#9 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#2 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alamanda Hotel
Alamanda Hotel
#15 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
487 reviews
2.6 mi away
Residence l'Archipel
Residence l'Archipel
#7 of 20 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the west coast at one of the most beautiful swimming spots on Reunion Island, just 2 km from the centre of town, the Relais de l'Hermitage Saint Gilles La Reunion features 173 airconditioned rooms, two swimming pools, a childrens pool, a jacuzzi, 2 tennis courts, 2 restaurants, a bar and two private car parks. Enjoying direct access to Hermitage Beach, the hotel is ideal for a family holiday fully enjoying the magic of Reunion Island. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles

Address: 123 Boulevard Leconte Delisle, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island (Formerly Novotel Saint-Gilles La Reunion)
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range: £87 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Saint-Gilles La Reunion Hotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Novotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains Novotel
Relais De L'Hermitage Saint-Gilles Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 345 on 2nd fllor. Quite ok, but would have preferred balcony towards pool, not road.”
 of 5 bubbles PerUrdahl, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“On the wings, nice views from balcony”
 of 5 bubbles hillyjohn, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A higher floor will get you a better view and if you are at the ends of the corridors there will be less movement.”
 of 5 bubbles sgr58, 7 Nov 2013 | Read review
“ask for a garden side room, otherwise you will only have a view of the car park”
 of 5 bubbles AustrianLondon, 6 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Try and get a room with Even numbers”
 of 5 bubbles Cale32, 5 Feb 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay