Tama Hôtel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tama Hôtel

77 rue des Navigateurs, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434 Reunion Island
Traveller (196)
Studio triple vue jardin
Room & Suite (32)
Vue sur la savane depuis la piscine
Pool & Beach (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#10 of 22 hotels in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Ideally located at Mont Roquefeuil, the TAMA Hotel*** is nestled at half-height between the seaside resort of Saint-Gilles-les-Bains and the highway Route des Tamarins. Close to the beaches of Roches Noires, the lagoon of L'Hermitage and the golf course of Bassin Bleu, you will be at five minutes from the fishing port, the marina and numerous leisure activities. The residential area of Mont Roquefeuil offers access to all amenities: supermarket, shops, bakery...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

77 rue des Navigateurs, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434 Reunion Island
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
Gillot Airport
22.4 mi
See all flights
St. Pierre de la Reunion Airport
24.9 mi
See all flights
305Reviews14Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 84
  • 132
  • 55
  • 22
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
These reviews are machine translated from their original language. Show machine translations?
sabine A wrote a review Mar 2024
3.0 of 5 bubbles
You are looking for a relaxing, clean, pleasant place, this hotel is right for you! It is located far from the noise of the city on weekends.
However, we note a drop in quality in the service offered compared to other 3-star hotels in the sector: no more kettle in the studio, no welcome drink (tea, coffee, fruit juice).. .
Read more
Google
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luc B wrote a review Dec 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent accueil et personnel très sympathique.
Hotel très bien situé: proche du centre mais suffisamment éloigné pour être au calme dans la verdure.
Chambre et ensemble de l'établissement propres et très bien entretenus.

Excellent welcome and very friendly staff.
Hotel well located: close enough to the town center but far enough from it to enjoy a quiet and green experience.
The room and more generally the hotel are clean and well maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maurine MARDAYE PETCHY, Directeur général at Tama Hôtel
Responded 27 Mar 2024
Cher client, Merci d'avoir partagé votre avis suite à votre séjour au TAMA HOTEL, Votre note et commentaire reflètent votre satisfaction et nous en sommes ravis! Nous espérons vous accueillir à nouveau lors de votre prochaine venue sur l'île :) Salutations ensoleillées,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TGkamp wrote a review Sept 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice hotel with a good emplacement. Kind personal and good room. Lot of parking spot. Very helpful and nice personal. The room was clean and quiet. There is a super u (supermarket) near from the hotel and lot of restaurant (5 min in car). Wifi was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Céline GRIS, Services aux clients/réception at Tama Hôtel
Responded 17 Sept 2022
Hello, thank you for your comment on our establishment. We are delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay at the Tama Hotel. Sincerely, Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luis K wrote a review May 2017
Reykjavik, Iceland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice hotel and clean rooms, but the service was cold compare to everywhere we went in Réunion. We didn't like the location so much, and the design was not our taste. Nice swimming pool. We would have rated much higher if the service was good, but we were disappointed in the poor welcoming. Don't think I would come back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
__ R 0 M @ I N __ wrote a review Oct 2021
Lausanne, Switzerland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good value for money when looking for a 3 stars hotel in St-Gilles-les-Bains.

We selected a studio which had an outdoor kitchen and large bathroom. There is also a shared pool to enjoy before 3pm to avoid the shadow.

Make sure you have a car before booking this hotel as it is a must. The location is 2km from the downtown on the hills and you’ll definitely not enjoy the stay without a car ;-)

We also found the double beds a bit small, at least smaller than average.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you have a car!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kiparmy_travels wrote a review Oct 2018
Clarens, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The photos on the website portray a very different picture to what you actually get, they are very professionally taken in that the rooms look more spacious. We stayed in a self catering place prior to checking into Tama Hotel with a similar size room yet it did not feel nearly as small as this hotel room felt, granted we knew we booked the small double room of "10m²" but it felt tinier once inside. We were on the 2nd floor and had to carry our 20+kg suitcases and other backpacks etc. up and down the stairs which was awful. I'd rather have stayed in a much more basic place again than booking the hotel which was meant to be a treat for our 2nd last night on the Island. The only plus factor was that they had a very nice swimming pool (which closes early) and really friendly staff at the reception. All in all, I wouldn't recommend it, rather book something more authentic. Judging from the other reviews the self-catering rooms may be nicer, but then again you can get cheaper more relaxed places for less money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you have a heavy suitcase ask for a group floor room! And the standard rooms are TINY!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TAMAHOTEL, Directeur général at Tama Hôtel
Responded 10 Oct 2018
Dear Customer, Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at TAMA HOTEL We are sorry that your stay was not as expected It is true that our small standard room is not spacious (10m2) however it is comfortable with all the necessary equipment (air conditioning, tv, wifi, tray courtesy ...) It should have been reported at the reception, we would have made the necessary to propose you an upgrade (surcharge) We hope you have a nice stay on our island Regards, Maurine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlene S wrote a review Nov 2017
Cape Town, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is really well appointed to those who would like to have a hotel stay with the benefit of being able to cater for themselves. The hotel does offer breakfast to guests at an extra cost but you can very easily cook all your own meals here. The rooms are spacious with ample storage for clothing. Bathroom is also a good size. There is a nice big swimming pool and parking with the premise. Overall, this is a good value for money place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philip H wrote a review Nov 2017
London, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was dark and sterile. Felt a little bit like a spacious youth hostel room. The kitchen was on the balcony separated from the outside by a garage door which also acted as the only window. So you had a choice of a dark room or a kitchen unprotected from bugs and ants and such. The photographs on the website are done by a very talented photographer and it is difficult to see resemblance once one is in the room.
All in all a very strange place to stay.
Reception staff was nice, though.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TAMAHOTEL, Responsable hébergement at Tama Hôtel
Responded 4 Nov 2017
Dear Philip, Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel We are surprised that you have not enjoyed our studios that often meet the expectations of our guests. Our reception staff thank you for your comment :) Sunny greetings Maurine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
climbing-s wrote a review Aug 2017
Basel, Switzerland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
From the homepage we expected bright rooms, a beautiful view and a modern apartment. Instead we got a room with no daylight, unless we opened a kind of garage shutter which opened towards a patch of soil and a gutter. When other guests arrived, we constantly had their cigarette smoke drifting into our kitchen.
What we didn't understand is why they put us into this room, because we had the impression that the other rooms with a beautiful view were not booked for days.
Pros: In the beginning, the nights were very quiet. The nearby supermarket is very well equipped and the region is really recommendable because it is very dry and warm with lots of sunshine.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rudolph M wrote a review Jan 2017
Barcelona, Spain
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Tama is an "Apart - hotel" : a hotel with limited self catering facilities. The rooms are fairly new and our room had a view of a wall. The hotel staff also decided to place 2 sun loungers against this wall, resulting in us having zero privacy during our stay. (There was somehow always people using these sun loungers staring at us while we cook, eat, dress etc.) This really annoyed us, and we moved the sun loungers to the pool area. The next day they were back. I do find it interesting that the couple (us) that stayed there the longest, was the couple who ended up with a room with zero views.

The room is only partially serviced. Meaning the cleaners only clean the sleeping area; NOT the kitchen. If you decide to use the kitchen you have to wash the dishes yourself. Everything im the kitchen was probably bought at a 50c store. I have only ever seen such cheap wine glasses at the cheapest of cheap camping sites.

The pool area is lovely and very relaxing.

The reception staff are not very friendly. I'm not sure if they got their training in Paris, or the fact that they speak very little English.

And finally: Tama is only 5min from St Gilles and fairly well located for the price.

We would probably not stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the valley.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ch L asked a question Apr 2021
Sainte Marie, Reunion Island133 contributions18 helpful votes
Bonjour, Pouvez-vous me dire si la piscine est chauffée ?Et doit-on réserver des créneaux pour y accéder ? Cordialement
Answer from TAMAHOTEL
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Reunion Island1 contribution1 helpful vote
Bonjour, En général, la piscine est chauffée à partir de Mai. Oui, nous demandons à nos clients de réserver des créneaux afin de connaître la fréquentation de cet espace. Cordialement,
Julie A asked a question Mar 2021
Saint-Louis, Reunion Island
Servez-vous le petit déjeuner?
Answer from TAMAHOTEL
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Reunion Island1 contribution1 helpful vote
Bonjour Julie A, Le petit dejeuner est servi sous forme de buffet à volonté a consommer dans la salle restaurant (attention les places sont limitées dû aux mesures Covid) ou à emporter en plateau en chambre). Cordialement, Kim-Yann
Julie A asked a question Mar 2021
Saint-Louis, Reunion Island
En ce temps de crise sanitaire on a accs a la piscine de quel a quel heure?
Answer from TAMAHOTEL
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Reunion Island1 contribution1 helpful vote
Re bonjour Julie A, Oui, la piscine est toujours accessible. Il faut juste préciser le créneau horaire que vous souhaitez à la réception. Cela nous permet de contrôler l'affluence même si nous n'atteignons jamais la limite autorisée. Cordialement, Kim-yann
Fa2a asked a question May 2020
Clermont-Ferrand, Auvergne, France7 contributions3 helpful votes
Bonjour La piscine est elle chauffée en hiver austral ?
Answer from Alexis-fct
Petite-Ile, Reunion Island130 contributions25 helpful votes
Je ne penses pas qu'elle soit chauffée, en tout cas elle ne l'était pas lorsque j'y étais.
Answer from TAMAHOTEL
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Reunion Island1 contribution1 helpful vote
Bonjour du TAMA HOTEL, En effet nous acceptons les chèques vacances En espérant avoir répondu à votre demande, Cordialement
__ R 0 M @ I N __ wrote a tip Oct 2021
Lausanne, Switzerland208 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you have a car!"
Read full review
kiparmy_travels wrote a tip Oct 2018
Clarens, South Africa57 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have a heavy suitcase ask for a group floor room! And the standard rooms are TINY!"
Read full review
climbing-s wrote a tip Aug 2017
Basel, Switzerland21 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you get a room with a view."
Read full review
Rudolph M wrote a tip Jan 2017
Barcelona, Spain35 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room facing the valley."
Read full review
MorphetN wrote a tip Dec 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa271 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Many options so read and check carefully before you book"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains area.
PRICE RANGE
£64 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Reunion IslandArrondissement of Saint-PaulSaint-Gilles-Les-Bains
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TAMA HÔTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Tama Hôtel
Which popular attractions are close to Tama Hôtel?
Nearby attractions include youpideal.re (0.6 miles), Aquarium de la Réunion (0.6 miles), and Descente VTT (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tama Hôtel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Tama Hôtel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Tama Hôtel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tama Hôtel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tama Hôtel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le D.C.P., Chez Marie, and Marie B. Glacier.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tama Hôtel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Tama Hôtel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tama Hôtel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Tama Hôtel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Usine Bruniquel (1.7 miles).
Does Tama Hôtel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains HotelsSaint-Gilles-Les-Bains Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Saint-Gilles-Les-BainsHotels near Tama Hôtel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire