Hotel Boucan Canot
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Boucan Canot

32 Rue du Boucan Canot, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434 Reunion Island
Traveller (933)
Room & Suite (228)
Pool & Beach (132)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 22 hotels in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Boucan Canot combines the authenticity of a 'Creole' residence with a modern comfort, a beautiful charming hotel where intimacy and discrete luxury hold the first roles. Today, four major assets characterize the hotel: an ideal situation, a typically local decoration, a top-of-the-range service and a refined gastronomy. A luxury resort on the beach, offering a unique panoramic sight on the ocean. A preserved natural site combined with a typically local architecture. A greenery treasure, anchored on a basalt spur, beat by the softness of the trade winds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Boating
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Billiards
Fishing
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

32 Rue du Boucan Canot, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434 Reunion Island
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Gillot Airport
21.7 mi
See all flights
St. Pierre de la Reunion Airport
26.9 mi
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 0.75 miles
887Reviews7Q+A19Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 464
  • 284
  • 80
  • 48
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ErnieVW wrote a review Jan 2020
Pretoria, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for a hotel close to the beach/seafront and Boucan Canot was one of the few we could find. Not sure what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is well located, with the beach a few meters away, the tide pool right next to the hotel and the pristine swimming pool. We have found Boucan Canot (the town) not as busy as the surroundings but still had a vibrant buzz with tourists. Good shops and restaurants in the vicinity. We however did find the restaurant somewhat expensive but still value for money ito quality of food. I can highly highly recommend the hotel. You well not be disappointed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Pay the extra bucks and get an ocean view room with balcony.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear Ernie, We would like to thank you for taking the time to make a comment. We are delighted that your stay has been enjoyable. We hope to welcome you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CWLP wrote a review Feb 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking to stay in a quiet calm clean and efficiently-run hotel, this will be perfect for you. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating staff. My room was clean comfortable and spacious with a great sea balcony. The buffet breakfast is well-made with a good selection of dishes (though the machine coffee needs improving). A good and very efficient conciergerie service too who organised my hire car in very quick time. Except for a small strip of beach restaurants and bars (which all serve good food and drink) not much happens around the hotel, you need to drive out if you want to be doing and seeing things. But if you just want to relax it’s perfect. It has a nice pool and garden area and is right next to a section of beach that has life-guards and shark nets.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 4 Mar 2023
Thank you very much for your detailed testimonial that we will be sure to share with the teams. It is a real satisfaction to read you. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Boucan Canot Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roger C wrote a review Jan 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a" suite with sea view". It was fantastic. In fact we were sad to leave so fantastic was our stay. Definitly worth the extra for the suite. The location is great, right next to the rock pool and netted area of the beach. If the hotel is full be prepared to park a few 100 meters away if you arrive late as the spaces are limited. We didnt try the restaurant as there are many restaurants at the beach. Great Hotel, Great staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: get the sea view, the lagoon view is also ok.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Roger, Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will share your compliments with our staff. We would be happy to welcome you again for a next stay. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chitza wrote a review Nov 2021
Brussels, Belgium
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights.
Earlier, we stayed in another 4 star hotel south of the island.
It is by comparing with the other 4 star hotel that i'm writing this review.
In other locations, we 've stayed several times in 4 star hotels, the level at Réunion seems to be lower overall.
This particular hotel I'd rate it a 3 star as I experienced it now.

Anyway, this hotel let us down especially with the breakfast
We couldnt get a decent coffee for breakfast (this is a coffee that is not nescafé), we asked a couple of times but the staff didnt seem to understand our request.
Odd, because only 5 meters away, at the bar, one can get a very good "normal" coffee or latte for purchase.
Breakfast is basic although the omelets, made to order, are very good!

The dinner selection for half board was not always up to our taste, but there was flexibility from the staff in choosing from the normal menu, whether or not with a extra to pay.
We would personally not opt again for half board, because a few days we couldnt eat 3 courses and could instead have eaten a simpler meal nearby.
But if you like to fine dine "french cuisine" every day, half board would be your thing.
Drinks are relatively expensive here, again comparing to the other hotel.

Other than that, a general touch-up or cleaning would be nice.
Especially in these times, I would have preferred that for example outside tables would be cleaned more often and thorough.

The hotel is very nicely located, and this is what I liked most: the guarded swimming area and the natural pool.
The swimming pool is shallow, does not really allow for a sportive swim.

We made the best of the location close to the beach, but as said, we had better here at Réunion.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 30 Dec 2021
Hello, we would thank you for your comment and will pass it on to the teams concerned in order to make the necessary corrections.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul B wrote a review Apr 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An excellent place to stay on Reunion Island. My wife and I went for our honeymoon and all of the staff were extremely accommodating despite us not speaking French. The resort itself was beautiful and well maintained, and our room had a spectacular view. If we ever return to Reunion, we will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 22 Apr 2024
Dear Paul. Thank you very much for your comment. What a pleasure to read your satisfaction! The entire Boucan Canot hotel team is delighted that your honeymoon lived up to the hype at our establishment and sends you its best wishes.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GuessWhereNow wrote a review Apr 2024
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is NOT a 4* Property.

The restaurant service is terrible, and exasperated by a big problem with birds at food counters and tables.

Staff leave tables uncleared for long periods, encouraging birds to literally ‘flock’ for a free feed.

F&B operations aside, front desk staff are friendly and efficient and the bedrooms are pleasant and clean.

Broader sense of La Reunion and the service industry: if you don’t speak French, you’re not really welcome, so break out Duolingo beforehand if you’re not already proficient.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 3 May 2024
Thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you did not have a great experience in our restaurant. Thank you for your positive comments about our rooms and our reception team. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nad wrote a review Nov 2021
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel staff lost our car key in someone else’s car. We had to wait to get the key back for 7 hours in the common parts of the hotel because they didn’t allow us to keep the room after 11am. Their security system is really not worth 4 stars hotel standards. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 13 Nov 2021
We once again apologize for the problem with your car key. We fully recognize the failure of our services on this subject. We could not offer to keep the room because we were full, otherwise we would have gladly done so. However, we have offered you several solutions: - using the car of our Managing Director to get around (while waiting for the key to return) OR - the reservation of a taxi to be able to return home to Ste-Clotilde and we would then have brought the car back to you as soon as the key was collected OR - wait at the hotel until the key is returned, offering you lunch at the restaurant (starter + main course + dessert + wine + coffee for 2 people) + access to the swimming pool + use of the courtesy room at the end of the day - OPTION YOU CHOSEN. We therefore made a commercial gesture of more than 100 €uros. You have certainly spent a day "waiting" but enjoying the facilities of a 4-star hotel right on the water free of charge. We understand that you were disappointed, but it would have been more honest to tell us your opinion during our many face-to-face meetings rather than to do so behind your screen. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zultejpar wrote a review Jan 2020
Vancouver, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
you cannot swim on the beach. But still spectacular. nice swimming area, in the rocks. Service is excellent. very personalized check in. good breakfast. parking on site. close to beachside restaurants and shops.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from boucancanot, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear customer, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, We are glad to read all your compliments, we will share them with our team, It will be a pleasure to welcome you again for your next trip to Reunion Island.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
enricodar wrote a review Mar 2020
Rome, Italy
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I've bene there prior to join a cruise ship for work. The hotel is very nice, eccellent location. The room is spacious with a beautiful veranda. Breakfast and the other meals are good. Staff is kind, smiling and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hôtel Boucan Canot, Marketing at Hotel Boucan Canot
Responded 9 Jul 2020
Dear customer, Thank you very much for your kind review, It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us, Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SharksSupporter1 wrote a review Apr 2016
Ballito, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception very friendly and efficient. Our room was a suite and was spacious, clean and sea facing with a balcony. Hotel is right on the beach and sunsets were spectacular. The hotel is very close to a nearby strip which had dozens of restaurants to suit all types. Breakfasts in the hotel were excellent and we found the service to be very quick and friendly. During our visit the sea swell was quite large (4m plus) and bathing was not allowed so our group made up by using the large and clean pool. It is a popular hotel for conferences and there were several during our stay. Only criticism is that Sunday night is pay for one get one free drink night and our group of 7 people could not find anywhere to sit so opted out and ambled down the road to another restaurant. Thoroughly recommended and we will go back again if given the chance.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Sea Facing Upper Level
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
astraitaly asked a question Aug 2018
Province of Modena, Italy66 contributions70 helpful votes
Is it possible to swim in the sea,or are there sharks ??
Answer from boucancanot
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Reunion Island76 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello, yes there are sharks but you can swim safely in the lagoon (7 km long) or in the natural pool in front of our hotel.
artdeschoix07 asked a question Aug 2023
Boulogne sur Gesse, France67 contributions38 helpful votes
bonjour a tous je compte me rendre au boucan canot 2 semaine comment avez vous trouvee la suite junior vue mer? merci a tous
Answer from Annydia
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island747 contributions92 helpful votes
Suite très bien, plus que satisfaisante.. Quand je dis que c'est le meilleur hôtel, c'est vrai !!!!!
Elisabeth B asked a question Jul 2021
22 contributions2 helpful votes
Bonjour La piscine est elle chauffée Merci
Answer from Annydia
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island747 contributions92 helpful votes
Bonjour.. Bien sur que si.. Elle est chauffée à 29/30 degrés...
Answer from Francky
Nimes, France3 contributions1 helpful vote
Bonjour effectivement nous avons adapté certaines prestations pour des raisons sanitaires et à la demande des autorités compétentes. Pour plus d'informations n'hésitez pas à nous contacter par mail ou par téléphone. Cordialement.
Answer from mdonadey
Guyancourt, France374 contributions103 helpful votes
Je suis désolé de ne pouvoir vous donner ce détail. On a mangé à l’hotel Occasionnellement mais plus souvent au centre où les offres sont sympathiques et plus décontractées..
Roger C wrote a tip Jan 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa155 contributions102 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"get the sea view, the lagoon view is also ok."
Read full review
ErnieVW wrote a tip Jan 2020
Pretoria, South Africa20 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pay the extra bucks and get an ocean view room with balcony. "
Read full review
rizzy80 wrote a tip Oct 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom606 contributions242 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"One overlooking the sea"
Read full review
paniclondon wrote a tip Mar 2019
london, UK14 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No point staying unless you have a sea or beach view!"
Read full review
Doug_Farmer wrote a tip Oct 2018
Beccles5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a sea view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains area.
PRICE RANGE
£137 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
boucan canot hotel
LOCATION
Reunion IslandArrondissement of Saint-PaulSaint-Gilles-Les-Bains
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL BOUCAN CANOT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Boucan Canot
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Boucan Canot?
Nearby attractions include Plage de Boucan Canot (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Yes, free public parking nearby and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Boucan Canot?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Bistrot de Pepe Gentil, Le Ti Boucan, and Kivala.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Boucan Canot?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Boucan Canot have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Boucan Canot offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Boucan Canot offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Boucan Canot?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Boucan Canot?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Usine Bruniquel (3.9 miles).
All Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains HotelsSaint-Gilles-Les-Bains Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Saint-Gilles-Les-BainsHotels near Hotel Boucan Canot
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire