We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We spent one night here in September and it was the best thing we did in Japan. So, yeah, it's pricier than a traditional hotel, but the experience it offers far surpasses those places, too. Our rate included dinner for two (along with the free breakfast). The dinner was as good as it gets. The owner prepares the food in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in our ryokan. Thank you for all the kind comments regarding our dinner. It was a nice time for us also to serve our dish right in front of your eyes. We are happy to hear that you also enjoyed the breakfast, too.... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2016

If I could, I would insist that every visitor to Kyoto spends at least one night in this Ryokan. Beautiful accommodations: mix of wood, bamboo, garden in the center, stone entrance to take off shoes, and spacious rooms. The detail really helped shape a very relaxing experience. I highly recommend booking dinner in advanced. The chef (7th generation) is wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. It is very nice to hear that you have had a relaxing experience in our ryokan. We would like to thank you for the complements regarding the rooms, and the details in our ryokan. Also, it is our pleasure also to hear that you have enjoyed our dinner. We hope you had a relaxing time... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I stayed in two different ryokan while in Kyoto and while this was the more expensive of the two I do believe it was worth it. Definitely make sure you make a reservation for dinner, as this really justifies the price which would otherwise be quite prohibitive... and the meal truly is exquisite. I stayed here end of July, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shiloh G
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comment. It was our pleasure to serve you here. We are glad that you have enjoyed your meal - and were able to serve your favorite fish as part of the course. Thank you for all the complements regarding the food. Also we are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy and have... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We stayed here during the heat of summer. It was close by to all the places we wanted to go and within easy walking distance of Kyoto train station which was very convenient. We could easily find good places to eat, and finish with dessert at Baskin and Robbins down from one of the shopping malls across from the train... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa I
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your previous stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our ryokan. It was our pleasure to be part of your Kyoto experience. Thank you for the complements regarding the staffs and the rooms. We hope you are doing well since then, and please mind your health for the upcoming winter. From... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016

I stayed here with my mom and my husband in June 2016. The ryokan was clean and looked pretty close to the pictures. However, the value is just not there for the steep price you pay to stay here. We paid over $200 per person to sleep and for breakfast (no dinner was included) --- our money would have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank kselund
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your previous stay. We are very sorry to hear that you did not feel satisfied during our stay in the ryokan, and our traditional ryokan did not suit you. We will work harder to fulfill the needs our our guests. Thank you for your comment. From All Izuyasu Staffs More 

Menlo Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

This ryokan is just amazing. The room was comfortable with all the needed amenities. The staff was just amazingly helpful and friendly. I have nothing but positive things to say. All this before I mention the food! The food was remarkable. We ate dinner twice and had the traditional breakfast each day. Well worth the stay!

Helpful?
Thank Marc D
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind complements. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our ryokan. Thank you for the nice comments regarding the room, staff, and the food. It is our pleasure to hear you enjoyed our food, especially the dinner. Your satisfaction is our joy, and we hope you are doing well since your stay. From... More 

Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

I had booked a night at this ryokan well in advanced based on the reviews. Unfortunately, our flight was canceled, missed a connection, etc...couldn't make our reservation day. We were all incredibly disappointed we were going to miss the opportunity to stay here and also that $700 was about to disappear as our flight was within 24hours of our reservation.... More 

Helpful?
Thank qilun
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comment. We were very sorry to hear that your flight has been cancelled. We hope you did not have any other troubles regarding the cancellation of the flight. We are looking forward to serving you in your future trip to Kyoto. From All Izuyasu Staffs More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We spent our first night in Kyoto here, quite straight forward to find from the station. The rooms are very basic but clean. There is a toilet and sink in each room and there are 3 shared bathrooms downstairs. Each with shower and Japenese bath. You're provided with slippers and robes to wear to the shower room. However, the most... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jools952
ryokanizuyasu, マネージャー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your previous stay. It was our pleasure to be part of your very first experience in a ryokan. Thank you for complementing our dinner, too. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the counter seats to see the chef cook, and also having chat with our other guests. Thank you also for remembering the story regarding... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Minimalistic rooms Comfortable beds Use of ipad while in ryokan Traditional Yukata for men and women to wear while in ryokan... (also Pjs and socks) Japanese Breakfast was(ok) and just be conscious there is a mixed shower room

Helpful?
1 Thank louiseg79
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you felt comfortable in your room. It was our honor to serve you at our ryokan. We hope you are doing well since your stay. From All Izuyasu Staffs More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

I booked this Ryokan after reading previous reviews about the dinner served and I was blown away. If you are a foodie then this is a must! The chef created an 8 course master piece from local seasonal ingredients purchased that morning - the pictures speak for themselves. The Ryokan itself is traditional and very well maintained. Rooms are small... More 

Helpful?
Thank walkaworld
ryokanizuyasu, オーナー at Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU, responded to this review

Thank you for your previous stay. We appreciate all your comments and complements you have given us Thank you for complementing our dinner-- we feel very honored. Also it is very nice to hear that you enjoyed our traditional atmosphere in our ryokan and also your room. Thank you again for your review. From All Izuyasu Staffs More 

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Gion
Yuzuya Ryokan
Yuzuya Ryokan
#59 of 351 in Kyoto
147 reviews
Seikoro Inn
#105 of 351 in Kyoto
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion Hatanaka
#33 of 351 in Kyoto
249 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
#63 of 351 in Kyoto
129 reviews
City Center
Nishiyama Ryokan
Nishiyama Ryokan
#83 of 351 in Kyoto
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Shimogyo-ku

Neighbourhood Profile
Shimogyo-ku
Shimogyo-ku is centered around the busy train hub, Kyoto Station. A nexus for commerce, shopping, dining, and hotels, the Shimogyo-ku area is infused with tourists and local business travelers, making it a competitive location for ever-new commercial structures. The shops and cafes here are chic and trendy, as a result, with many recognizable chains. Commuters flood the Shimogyo-ku area twice a day, and with Kyoto Station itself being a modern mega-complex and an architectural marvel, this neighborhood is one of the most contemporary and energetic areas that the city has to offer. Buildings here look futuristic, and huge department stores, shopping arcades, and public meeting spaces provide every possible convenience. It is also nearly the only place in Kyoto where rooftop dining and socializing is available, completing its modern tone.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We invite you to come and experience the true essence of Kyoto.At IZUYASU, traditional ryokan established in 1839,we welcome you with our Japanese style warm hospitality. In 1839 during the Edo period IZUYASU was originally established to receive the Buddhist priests and travelers who come to worship at Higashi honganji.For over 170 years we’ve offered the best service which suits the different generations with our warm Japanese hospitality.Today we accept important cultural guests of Japan and also from foreign countries.Our seventh generation’s chef offers you beautiful seasonal dishes with fresh regional ingredients.We also have selected wine and sake. Please enjoy superb harmony with your Kyoto cuisine.*We also accept guests only for meals.8 characteristic rooms with unique flavor and different plansGuest rooms are situated on the 1st and 2nd floor throughout the garden.8 rooms are all different. Old Japanese style room, spacious room with a dining, renovated room…you can choose a room by your taste and needs.*we’ve selected the futon carefully for the quality of sleep. Our guests are satisfied with this new comfortable bed.Tranquil time like at homeWe try to offer you pleasant service in a modest way.You’ll have a very comfortable stay without TV, telephone,clock….and noise of the city to enjoy a relaxed time.You can take a bath privately only with your family, friends and your partners.In the gallery and the lobby you can have a seat anytime just to relax with sake while admiring the garden and talking with other guests.Ideal location,nearby Kyoto station andHigashi honganjiThe access from Kyoto station is only 7 minutes. The famous temple Higashi honganji is also a few minutes’ walk. In this district which remains the old and charming atmosphere, you will find shops for Buddhist materials and kimono.Izuyasu is a relaxing environment.You will realize that is shrouded in tradition of Kyoto.It does not betray the expectations.Please come. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU

Address: 272 Sasaya-cho, Higashino Toin, Shimo-juzuyamachi agaru, Shimokyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8156, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Price Range: £222 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Izuyasu Ryokan Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The basic room was lovely: spacious and charming. It even had a small garden.”
 of 5 bubbles 671daniellec, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“My room faced the car park, which I already knew when booking online, so this wasn't a problem for me but it might be for some.”
 of 5 bubbles shilohg2016, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room close by to the bathrooms, and quieter at the back of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles 600lisai, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Maybe you could ask for a room not in front of the car station”
 of 5 bubbles Mari-woodman, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms face onto the carpark, so check before you book.”
 of 5 bubbles VVILL84, 31 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay