We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kyoto Traveler's Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kyoto Traveler\\
Kyoto Traveler's Inn
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
Start your review of Kyoto Traveler's Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel could not be in a better location. Quiet close to many cafes and restaurants, some major sights too. Friendly competent staff. Great quality price relationship. I stay always in this hotel when I am in Kyoto since 2001.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Christian G
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decent hotel to stay. Clean and reliable. Paid breakfast - cheap and taste good. Owner was able to communicate in English - that was definitely a plus. Per day bus and train passes are available here. Renovated hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ravi V
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Rates for hotels in Japan are getting very high since demand is high. If you pay "that much" and you see how much other hotels cost you should know what to expect. It is place to sleep and I mean it, sleep and go out. Service is OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GM Travel J
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Japonczyk Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn and took your time to write this review for us. It is very important to us to read review and prioritize what to do next. Starting next week, we are going to renovate some of the western rooms so that the guests will feel the difference. We hope...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We ended up staying a night here, as our original booking elsewhere for the night was double booked and this was the closest alternative logistically. The room was a little tired looking, but the bathroom was spacious with a very big shower. It suited us fine for the night, but I'm glad we were only there for one night, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niteskye
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Niteskye Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn even though this was a coincidental consequence. We apologize not giving a right direction for restaurants. We usually give out map and there are several restaurant lists nearby including 3 star Michelin restaurant Hyotei which is 2 min walk from us and so on. And thank you very...

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Place: rooms are old and as in old. So dont expect a nice room with everything nice. I believe they have an onsen though. The shower is so small and very typical to a japanese house. Theres no elevator to prepare for a climb. Its near to a shrine though and close to a cheap parking lot. 600 yen for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joseph christia... p
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear joseph christia... p Thank you very much for choosing Kyoto Traveler's Inn and took your time to writing this review. Your review is very important to us and we appreciate it. Hope you enjoyed autumn season in Kyoto and enjoyed our neighborhood sites such as Heian Shrine, Nanzenji or Gion..... Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Good location in a nice area of Kyoto. Very close to the philosopher's path and Gion. Hotel staff were very friendly. It has bicycle rental and its own onsen though we didn't use it. We stayed in a traditional japanese room which was nice if small. The toilet was the tiniest we have ever seen and the shower was terrible,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia G
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Cecilia G Thank you very much for taking your time writing this review and also staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn. We are trying to renovate rooms little by little and bathrooms on each rooms are one of the top priorities. Unfortunately, there is no unit Shower/Toilet/ Sink in the Japanese market yet and finding a best solution at...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed the stay in KTI. The staff was friendly and helpfull. Good breakfast and it is appriciated that the staff took my preferences into account! Minor downsides; pillow was not so comfortable and the room smelled a little bit "mushy". However not mentioned to the staff, there is maybe some improvement to be done. Wifi connection in both room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schaduw82
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Schaduw82 Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. Please let us know if you do not mind, which room it was and your suggestions so that we can serve you or other guests better in the future. If you could email us back at traveler@mbox. kyoto-inet.or.jp Hope you enjoyed Kyoto. Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Really disapointed in this hotel. Dirty. And not friendly at reception. This is First hotel we not liked .location is out of the center. The breakfast better take 7-11 at the corner. There they have better options for breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carpedi
京都トラベラーズイン, 支配人 at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr /Mrs Carpedi FIrst of all thank you very much for your time to write this review. Your experience is also very important to us so if you do not mind, please write us at traveler@mbox.kyoto-inet.or.jp We would like to know how you were disappointed about our service and the room condition. We could have switched room or could...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

Worst hotel, we have stayed during our trip in Japan!! Very, very Smelly non-smoking room, hard as rock pillows. Not very nice staff. One good thing, it has washing machine and dryer in basement... :(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sigita A
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sigita A Thank you very much for taking your time to write this constructive review. We often learn guest's disatisfaction after departure because some guests are very cliet and discrete. It is our fault that we could not sense that you were not happy. If you spoke out, there were things we could have done like switching rooms, e.t.c....

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

The room was smelling bad, probably due to the wall to wall carpet. The pillows were very uncomfortable. The WiFi reception in the room was very poor. Not many restaurants in the nearby area. Low value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
京都トラベラーズイン, 支配人 at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Thomas E Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn. We are very sorry for your dissatisfaction. Regarding the wall coverings you mention, we will research the room and fix it as soon as possible. Thank you very much for pointing that out. Pillows are working on it, however, it is not easy to satisfy all...

447 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (123)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (281)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Japanese Room with 12.5 Tatami Mats (Private Bathroom) (48)
Viewed
Japanese Western Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Heiannomori Kyoto
Hotel Heiannomori Kyoto
#196 of 360 in Kyoto
114 reviews
City Center
Ark Hotel Kyoto
Ark Hotel Kyoto
#121 of 360 in Kyoto
161 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#81 of 360 in Kyoto
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#51 of 360 in Kyoto
663 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#66 of 360 in Kyoto
549 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hana Hotel
Kyoto Hana Hotel
#36 of 360 in Kyoto
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City Center

Neighbourhood Profile
City Center
No district of Kyoto is quite as representative of its blended nature as the City Center. By day, the covered shopping arcades along Kawaramachi and Shijo Street bring deal hunters and fashionistas out in droves to peruse the clothing, accessories, gifts, and home goods offerings. When it grows dark, the City Center is a hip spot for nightlife, alive with bars and clubs. A trendy culinary scene and an abundance of local watering holes give the Center its youthful vibrancy. In contrast, the quieter areas of the City Center seem a world away, shielded from noise by the foliage of the public gardens and zen spaces surrounding the area's shrines, castles, and the Imperial Palace. These ancient and sacred spots are seamlessly folded into the scenery, providing a respite from the energy of the city, but close enough to put you directly back onto the pulse of the city when you're ready.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Kyoto Traveler's Inn

Address: 91 Okazaki Enshojicho, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-8344, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Price Range: £49 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyoto Traveler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Kyoto Traveler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Traveler`s Hotel Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kyoto Traveler's Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kyoto Traveler's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request for a room that faces the road infront”
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles 86ziggys, 18 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles miss_sarabi_a, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
“First floor room near the lobby tend to be noisy, choose tatami room from 2nd floor up for a real Japanese experience”
 of 5 bubbles lefluxasia, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Both Western and Japaneses style available, Western are twin beds, no doubles”
 of 5 bubbles T2474KWpaulh, 16 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Room 463 was the filthiest accommodation I've ever seen. For a little more money you can stay in much better accommodation only minutes away from Kyoto Travellers Inn”
 of 5 bubbles PeterY580, 18 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5