We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kyoto Century Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (849)
Room & Suite (554)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#51 of 336 hotels in Kyoto
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A two-minute walk from JR Kyoto Station makes access easy in the central region. Kyoto Century Hotel is located in a convenient place for both sightseeing and business at only a two-minute walk from JR and subway Kyoto Station. Taking one step inside from the entrance, you will be welcomed into a relaxing space with hospitality that will let you forget the noise and clamor outside.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Massage
24-hour security
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Hindi, Japanese and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal
1214Reviews30Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 505
  • 515
  • 145
  • 28
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Bevers wrote a review Jan 2024
United Kingdom71 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
Wow what a brilliant location right next to the train station and shopping centre. Hotel rooms lovely, clean and comfortable. Restaurant really nice and the bteakfast food was excellent, so much choice. We could see the bullet trains coming and going from the station from the window by the lift. Lots of shops within easy walking distance selling everything you could want. There is also a huge temple just up the road worth a look. Kyoto tower just over the road and worth a visit. Get discounted tickets from the hotel concierge. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alexi Z wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
We loved this hotel. We stayed here for 3 nights while we toured Kyoto and Osaka. The proximity to the train station could not be beat, and made it so easy to get around. The breakfast was stellar and the beds were extremely comfortable. The bed was the biggest bed we'd ever slept in as they combined two full beds, so it was bigger than a king. The staff was very friendly, it was very clean and as I mentioned, so easy to get to the train station. They also held onto our bags all day when we took a day trip to Hiroshima, before checking into our next hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 崇 大町, General Manager at Kyoto Century Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us while visiting Japan and additionally enjoyed the hotel facilities and location. Our staff are very professional and skilled so we are being able to make our customer satisfied. We hope to see you again soon. Thank You. Best Regards KYOTO CENTURY HOTEL
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Blottotravels wrote a review Dec 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom131 contributions89 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights from 24th Dec - 28th Dec, just myself and my husband Pros: - staff very friendly and spoke good English - best thing is the location - it’s right outside Kyoto station (Central exit) and both station and bus terminals are all from here so it’s very handy getting around - nicely decorated hotel lobby - rooms were equally decorated quite nicely (dark wood features) - well priced rooms for Kyoto for 4 nights (paid less than £300 for 2 people) Cons: - rooms were small and the bathroom even smaller, there is only one tile square to stand on between the toilet, shower and bath tub - because bathroom was small and the way the drainage system worked the bath mat and anything else left on the floor or in the bath tub would get very wet - not enough places to hang towels or bath robes - bins equally as small too, often had to remove the bin lids to get anything in them - limited wardrobe/ drawer space - hotel helped hold our suitcases for us for 2 nights whilst we went to Osaka at a rate of ¥1000 per suitcase, this worked out cheaper than the lockers but we did the same in Tokyo for a week and they held it for free Overall rooms were small however as we weren’t staying too long it was ok for us as we had brought 2 suitcases and 1 cabin size. If we had brought all our suitcases (an additional 2 we left in Tokyo) the room would be way too small to even put them in the room. Would stay again purely based on the great location and ease for travel around Kyoto.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 崇 大町, General Manager at Kyoto Century Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us while visiting Japan and additionally enjoyed the hotel facilities and location. Our staff are very professional and skilled so we are being able to make our customer satisfied. We are very sorry for the small room size but we also do have bigger room available. We will do our best to upgrade our services and facilites wherever needed. We hope to see you again soon. Thank You. Best Regards KYOTO CENTURY HOTEL
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
vickicork wrote a review Dec 2023
Tampa, Florida357 contributions61 helpful votes
Very nice hotel , easy walk from Kyoto station though the first time we got lost cause when I looked at it on google maps I thought u had to take the east exit but it’s the main or central exit from Kyoto station and it’s just a 2 minute walk from there . The rooms were nice , breakfast was nice , nothing not to like . I forgot my glasses at another hotel and they made an extra effort to get them back for me . Thanks to Obashii at front desk
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take central exit when exiting Kyoto station
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 崇 大町, General Manager at Kyoto Century Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience while staying in our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that it was difficult to find location of the Hotel. It will be easiest way to take Central exit from Kyoto Station. We truly appreciate your kindness towards our staff and breakfast services. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. Thank You Best Regards KYOTO CENTURY HOTEL
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
internationalLilly wrote a review Nov 2023
Brussels, Belgium5 contributions
I regret that it is impossible to rate "good" at tripadvisor. It is a good hotel with great and very helpful staff. very conveniently located. It is however a hotel where many groups are staying . Nothing wrong with that but it is does not make it a cosy hotel... breakfast is nice but you may have a long waiting ( there are warnings in the hotel in this respect.) . so good value for money for two days in Kyoto for a solo traveller at 3 minutes of the Kyoto station.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: It is a hotel to sleep at not to have a nice dinner or so . a good starting point for two days in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 崇 大町, General Manager at Kyoto Century Hotel
Responded 20 Nov 2023
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience while staying in our hotel. It is very nice to hear that you like our location. We truly appreciate your kindness towards our staff and breakfast services. We will try our best to provide good service to all our clients. We would also like to make sure that the breakfast and other services are equally prioritize to all our Customers. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. Thank You Best Regards KYOTO CENTURY HOTEL
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TBDWorldTraveler wrote a review Oct 2023
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania308 contributions181 helpful votes
This hotel is very convenient and less than five minutes walk to the station. Rooms are large and comfortable. Staff was ok - the concierge was not helpful, but the reception team was friendly. The restaurant only offers buffet breakfast, which was substantial and very crowded, but not very high quality. There are plenty of food options in the station nearby. I would stay here again if visiting Kyoto.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 崇 大町, General Manager at Kyoto Century Hotel
Responded 20 Nov 2023
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience while staying in our hotel. It is very nice to hear that you like our location. We truly appreciate your kindness towards our staff and breakfast services. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. Thank You Best Regards KYOTO CENTURY HOTEL
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
N D wrote a review Aug 2023
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom1241 contributions902 helpful votes
A few steps away from the train and bus stations. The train station is a tourist attraction in itself. Room wasn’t too small, for Kyoto standards, and bathroom was spotless. Staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good. Bar looked better than it actually was and Wi-Fi could be temperamental - but not terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 崇 大町, General Manager at Kyoto Century Hotel
Responded 4 Oct 2023
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience while staying in our hotel. We truly appreciate your kindness towards our staff and breakfast services. We will try to improve our Wi-Fi services as you have mentioned. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. Thank You Best Regards KYOTO CENTURY HOTEL
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Yvonne V wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Good location, room is nice, but the internet is ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. On hot days, have fun staring out a window and seeing absolutely nothing because you can’t load a single video. Get better Wi-fi!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 崇 大町, General Manager at Kyoto Century Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2023
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you not only for staying with us, but also taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that our location was convenient for you during your trip. We are very sorry to not being able meet your expectation. We will definetly try our best to improve our Wi-Fi services as you have mentioned. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. Thank You. Best Regards KYOTO CENTURY HOTEL
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ASkyDancer wrote a review Jul 2023
Merritt Island, Florida62 contributions64 helpful votes
Not sure why this hotel gets such a good reviews - it is not good. The staff is polite and the lobby is beautiful but that's where it ends. The hallways are dark, humid, and dirty. The room is tiny with the most uncomfortable bed and flat pilows. The carpet is stained and there are mold spots in the grout in the shower. We spent an uncomfortable five nights here and will never stay here again or recommend it to anyone. Stay away. This is a 2.5 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 崇 大町, General Manager at Kyoto Century Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2023
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you had very bad experience while staying in our hotel. We will try our best to upgrade the services wherever needed. We have recently upgraded the carpet and necessary accessories in all Room. We hope that you will give us one more chance to provide services. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. Thank You. Best Regards KYOTO CENTURY HOTEL
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ALT1001 wrote a review Jul 2023
Cheshire, Connecticut19 contributions6 helpful votes
It's a pretty good hotel. The breakfast buffet is amazing, and it's very close to a great variety of casual dining places in Kyoto station. The only complaint - some rooms are SMALL, I'd say TINY. Our kids had a bigger one in the same hotel. So, I suggest looking at the room map and select one that looks bigger. The service is great, as always. Make sure to go to the Kyoto station in the evening! The shops and some restaurants will be closed, but you will see a great view of the lighted Kyoto tower and light shows in the station. Make sure to take a skywalk on the top floor of the station! It's a bit of a walk, but you've got to do it!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 崇 大町, General Manager at Kyoto Century Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2023
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience while staying in our hotel. It is very nice to hear that you like our location. We truly appreciate your kindness towards our staff and breakfast services. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. Thank You Best Regards KYOTO CENTURY HOTEL
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kyoto area.
PRICE RANGE
£80 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKinkiKyoto PrefectureKyotoShimogyo-ku / Kyoto Station
NUMBER OF ROOMS
219
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KYOTO CENTURY HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Japan)

Frequently Asked Questions about Kyoto Century Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kyoto Century Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kyoto Station Building (0.2 miles), Kyoto Tower (0.1 miles), and Oiran Taiken Studio Arare (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kyoto Century Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Kyoto Century Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kyoto Century Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kyoto Century Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kyoto Century Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tajimaya, Kyoto Yodobashi, Pound Kyoto Ekimae, and Pound Kyoto Ekimae.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kyoto Century Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kyoto Century Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kyoto Century Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Hindi, Japanese, and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to Kyoto Century Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine (1.5 miles), Kiyomizu-dera Temple (1.5 miles), and Sanjusangendo Temple (0.6 miles).
Is Kyoto Century Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.