We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Manila Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (2270)
Room & Suite (749)
Dining (277)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#13 of 135 hotels in Manila
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 111 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
2046Reviews65Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 983
  • 662
  • 230
  • 94
  • 77
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Leomil Aportadera wrote a review 26 Feb
Iloilo Province, Philippines14 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
The Manila Hotel continues to hold the fort for visitors and Filipinos who want to walk through over a century of major events in the history of the country. The facilities and amenities are at par with modern international hotel chains sprouting in the Metro Manila. The Manila Hotel however offers a sense of historical grandeur the moment you enter its grand lobby with five huge brass chandeliers. The rooms (see photos) with their retro theme, have all the amenities a visitor needs plus complimentary mini bar for guests. Buffet breakfast fees are included in the accommodation rates. Trivia: The New York Times had its Manila office in the building during the American colonial era.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book directly at hotel website.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manila Prince Hotel Team, General Manager at The Manila Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Marioleonardoemilioa, Thank you for your kind words and wonderful 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Manila Hotel and had a memorable experience. Our team works hard to provide exceptional service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jen San wrote a review 25 Feb
Metro Manila, Philippines22 contributions9 helpful votes
Slllloooowww service and too difficult to call the attention of the waiters just to ask for drinks or bill. The High tea inclusion was limited to few items that taste mediocre which was served after 40 minutes. Beverage options included in the package was hot chocolate or tea. Coffee is not included.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manila Prince Hotel Team, General Manager at The Manila Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Jenzest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We regret to hear about the unpleasant experience during your stay, especially with the restaurant service. Rest assured that we and the departments concerned will discuss this review with utmost priority and importance so that issues like these may never arise in the near future. We hope to welcome you back with improved quality of service and grace on your next visit. Thank you and take care.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jimbo wrote a review 24 Feb
Canton, Georgia306 contributions221 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed 3 Days and 2 nights at this lovely historic hotel before our flight back home to the US. The hotel is located right off Roxas Blvd with many nearby attractions to include the Luneta park, ocean park and the walled city (Intramuros). Very easy to catch a Grab taxi there is 24/7 security both roving and all luggage and personal bags also need to go under screening before check in. Check in was very smooth and efficient. What we really liked was it that we asked the manager on duty during our stay if they are able to give us a tour for General MacArthur suite. Manager said yes and introduced us to our tour guide Irish (Trainee). We could tell she loves her job and high regards to her and to all the questions she answered with a smile. The whole staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Kudos to Diane for helping us to book a grab during our stay. We loved our Grand Deluxe Room which included a free breakfast buffet and is the perfect size for couples with Philippine traditional interior furniture design. The Wi-Fi was very strong and the TV had many channels to view. We used the Pool which was very clean and also included a pool side with mini bar All in all, great value for the $95 nightly rate we got via Agoda, when back in Manila we will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manila Prince Hotel Team, General Manager at The Manila Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear James, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and our friendly staff made your experience even better. Our team works hard to create a warm and inviting atmosphere for our guests, and your kind words are truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manila Hotel soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
loids2014 wrote a review 23 Feb
Luzon, Philippines42 contributions47 helpful votes
Our family spent Christmas at The Manila Hotel last December. Overall, we had a nice stay despite some inconvenience with Christmas dinner reservation, internet connectivity, and some minor stuff. The hotel may provide more activities for families with kids to do during this season for a more memorable stay also.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manila Prince Hotel Team, General Manager at The Manila Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Loids2014, Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your experience with The Manila Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that our team provided excellent service during your recent visit, leaving a strong impression. Your constructive feedback is invaluable in helping us improve and continue providing excellent customer service. We truly appreciate your support, and we are grateful when our valued customers like you take the time to leave positive reviews, as this helps us to attract more customers and increases our reputation. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TLPaul wrote a review 3 Feb
Dorchester, United Kingdom384 contributions151 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights, one stay of 2 and one of 1, as part of an organised tour. This is a lovely hotel with the entrance and reception / atrium area making a real impact. Large well appointed quiet rooms with good views over the harbour area. Excellent service and friendly staff. Good location for Rizal Park. The. Breakfast buffet was excellent with a seemingly limitless choice of different cuisines our Only criticism would be that the public areas and bars were too cold.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manila Prince Hotel Team, General Manager at The Manila Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear TLPaul, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and facilities. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay/visit. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to The Manila Hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NORMZZ - Globe Traveler wrote a review 2 Feb
Chicago, Illinois211 contributions125 helpful votes
I decided to return for the Nth time to stay here in my top Manila Hotel choice-- I also wanted to use my membership. It was our regular bonding time prior to my departure back to Chicago and we stayed here for more staycation moments. It was as expected-- simply an unbeatable customer service experience! You can get and book a modern hotel, upgraded rooms anywhere if you are more into that-- but from my experience traveling the world, in the most top luxurious brands internationally, what sets one apart is the level of customer care you can get from the staffs/people-- The Manila Hotel is the standard for people to deliver customer service to all types of hospitality treatments (old, classic, respectful and thankful staffs with sincere smiles everywhere). I am a big fan too of expensive antiques and vintage designs-- the "newer" four to five-star hotels nowadays all look the same and some with tacky "neon/leds"-- just not into those. Location: Great for tourists-- close to all top Manila destinations like Intramuros, Manila Ocean Park, Roxas Blvd, Rizal Park, etc. Close to US Embassy, all other top hotels and Robinsons Mall Manila (and other top restaurants and stores!). Food: Cafe Ilang-Ilang Buffet has servers-- convenient, clean and good food. Lobby: Relaxing vibe to get a coffee or just hang out with family and friends Rooms: Bigger than most standard 5-star hotels. Specialty suite rooms has tons of closets and 2 toilets with perfect view of the bay. Clean and complete with all the toiletry, robes, slippers, etc. Valet/Ushers/Security: Very pleasant, helpful and warm to all guests-- top security level hotel Frontdesk staffs: All look presentable, and happy to assist. Pool : Big, and inviting We will definitely be back again soon for my next vacation this year! Mabuhay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Uber or Grab/Cabs easy to get. Valet services are good.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manila Prince Hotel Team, General Manager at The Manila Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Normzz, Thank you for your kind words and wonderful 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Manila Hotel and had a memorable experience. Our team works hard to provide exceptional service and amenities, and receiving such positive feedback is always rewarding.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jodi T wrote a review Jan 2024
Walnut Creek, California, United States5 contributions4 helpful votes
Gorgeous, historical, full service 5-star hotel in the heart of Manila. Professional, patient, and helpful staff. Easy transport from the airport. Great food and wine, comfortable beds and pillows, great concierge staff and lovely live music in the lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manila Prince Hotel Team, General Manager at The Manila Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 520jodit, Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your experience with The Manila Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that our team provided excellent service during your recent visit, leaving a strong impression. Your constructive feedback is invaluable in helping us improve and continue providing excellent customer service. We truly appreciate your support, and we are grateful when our valued customers like you take the time to leave positive reviews, as this helps us to attract more customers and increases our reputation. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mortsiram wrote a review Jan 2024
Seattle, Washington44 contributions21 helpful votes
The Manila Hotel no longer embodies a rich tradition of elegant living and gracious service that goes back over 111 years. After all the hype and history, I expected more from my first time visit. This was definitely my last. The rooms are tired: the carpet is old and dirty, drawers were missing hardware, our shower head didn't work, and the grout replaced in the bathroom was sloppily applied as an afterthought. It gets better. I was sent an email on November 26, 2023 from Mimi informing me that the hotel was going to be full during the dates of my stay and that they were requiring pre-payment by November 30 to fully guarantee my room. Otherwise my room would be released. They sent me a payment link via email and I paid for my reservation in full. I even sent a receipt of my payment back to my hotel as proof to Mimi and she replied with a confirmation. This is what they requested I do. Why they can't track this automatically on their own is beyond me. More on that below. Fast forward to the day I checked in. The person at reception told me they needed payment for my room. When I told them I had already paid in full, he said the credit card payment was just "a hold". He never bothered to check if there was an actual pre-payment made and he charged my credit card the full payment of my stay. At check out I realized that they made a duplicate payment and brought this to their attention. I showed them proof of my pre-payment. They said they would issue me a refund. I asked for some sort of a receipt of the error. They said their verbal assurance is a promise that the error would be addressed. I laughed. HARD. I was like "I am not leaving until someone gives me something in writing that this is The Manila Hotel's error and that I will be issued a refund." I finally received the email after about 30 mins of me explaining why this written correspondence was important. I wasn't coming back to this hotel and I really didn't want to have to chase this without any record of this conversation. It has now been 3 weeks since this transaction occurred and I do not see the refund on my credit card, nor do I have a follow-up communication. I sent an email re-explaining the situation and sending copies of the duplicate payments. No response. I actually had to call the hotel today (from the States) to follow up . The person I spoke to said that the refund is still in process internally on their end ...that accounting is waiting for someone in leadership to sign off on the refund before it can be processed with the bank. WHAT?! An approval? This is not my mistake. They assured me on the phone they would respond to my email. They still haven't responded. If you decide to stay at this hotel, good luck! Don't pre-pay anything because they have no way of tracking it. Better yet, stay at the Shangri-La or Fairmont instead.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manila Prince Hotel Team, General Manager at The Manila Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Dear Mortsiram, We are disappointed that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced regarding the failure of our bank to return your money to your credit card. We deeply regret any distress this situation may have caused you. Please check your spam mail as there are times when our email replies do end up in our guest's spam mail. The refund on credit card process also depends on your bank and it is also beyond our control. Please do communicate with your bank's customer service for faster refund. From our end, after we process them, depending on the bank, it is usually returned from 2 weeks up to a month. We understand how vital it is to resolve these matters promptly, and we assure you that we are taking this issue very seriously. Rest assured, we are doing everything within our power to rectify the situation and ensure that such incidents do not recur in the future. In light of this unfortunate incident, we would like to offer you our most heartfelt apologies. Furthermore, we are taking immediate steps to implement stronger protocols and procedures to prevent such errors from happening again. We genuinely value you as our guest and appreciate your patience and understanding throughout this process. We want to assure you that we take every guest's concern seriously and strive to provide exceptional service. Your feedback has been instrumental in identifying areas for improvement, and we are grateful for it. Please feel free to reach out to us should you require any further assistance. Rest assured all your feedback and comments are duly noted and reviewed to further improve our products and services. We hope that you'll be able to give us another chance and will revisit us in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John R wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I am so disappointed with the Manila hotel I have stayed there 2 times so I check out today and my wife and I head to the airport to catch a flight to Butuan but my wife read our departure wrong and we miss our flight so now I call the Manila hotel I speak to the manager and tell them we would like to have our room back one more night he tell me at a higher price than what I book before I tell him I just leave my room this morning I am so disappointed in this I loved the Manila hotel but now after Manila hotel try to take advantage of our situation we will never stay there agsin this is not how you treat your value customers
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manila Prince Hotel Team, General Manager at The Manila Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Dear E4181QC, Thank you for your comments. We regret to hear about the problems that you encountered during your last stay/visit. This is not the type of review that we like to see, and we assure you that we will be looking into each point that you have made. Our room rate depends on our occupancy rate for the day, this is why we highly encourage guests to book ahead of time. Also, as per checking with our reservations team, the rate you availed was the rate we had in 2023. Our apologies, but we now follow our new rates for 2024. Hence, we can no longer give you the same room at the same rates. Thank you for your kind understanding. Despite this, we look forward to another chance to serve you with much-improved service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
orcevaz wrote a review Jan 2024
Geneva, Switzerland15 contributions14 helpful votes
The hotel transpires colonialism style and is ideally located nearby most attractions. Large rooms. Experienced staff. Recommended especially if you can get a room in the front of the hotel. Excellent value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manila Prince Hotel Team, General Manager at The Manila Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Dear Orcevaz, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and facilities. Our staff are trained to provide only the best in customer service, and we are pleased that you found value and hospitality during your stay/visit. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to The Manila Hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Manila area.
PRICE RANGE
£77 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonMetro ManilaManilaWalled City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
510
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MANILA HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Philippines)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Manila Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Manila Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Museo San Agustin (0.4 miles), Museo Filipino Intramuros (0.6 miles), and San Agustin Church (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Manila Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Manila Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Manila Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Manila Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Manila Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Ilang-Ilang, Sky Deck at The Bayleaf Hotel, and Harbor View Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Manila Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Manila Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Manila Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Manila Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Manila Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Manila Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.