Octagon Mansion Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Octagon Mansion Hotel

1632 Adriatico St, Manila, Luzon 1004 Philippines
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (14)
Outdoor Cafe Area
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

£31
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#56 of 137 hotels in Manila
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Octagon Mansion Hotel is manage by Transway Hotels Group Corp; located at 1632 Adriatico St., Malate Manila. Situated within the heart of Manila, you will always feel at home with Octagon Mansion Hotel Manila. The hotel is just a few minutes walk away from Robinsons Place Manila and Philippine General Hospital. Being accessible to other places to visit within the city, Octagon Mansion hotel is a good choice to stay in Manila.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino

Location

1632 Adriatico St, Manila, Luzon 1004 Philippines
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Ninoy Aquino Intl Airport
Pedro Gil
7 minManila Light Rail
Quirino - Malate
11 minManila Light Rail
163Reviews3Q+A22Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 57
  • 56
  • 15
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
florenzthegreat wrote a review Feb 2014
31 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
stayed for 4 nights on mid week of February(walk-in rate PHP2400 a night,could be cheaper if book online), superb location less than 5 minutes walk from Robinson's mall located along Adriatico corner Pedro Gil, easy acces to all major thoroughfares.
Safe place to walk even in the middle of the night, police outpost is just around the corner along Pedro Gil street...
Airport can be reach with less than 30 minutes via skyway(PHP200), Mall of Asia 15mins (PHP150) by taxi, LRT 10mins walk or you can ttake a pedicab @PHP40

Down side:
Staff are not as courteous as compared to other Hotels in Manila I was previously checked-in
Hotel food was expensive, better dine in a nearby Mall.
Tips for foreign guest, don't take cab in front of hotel coz they are not using their meters instead they will give you a fixed price that almost doubled for what have you have to pay, just walk few meters away and flag a taxi.

All in all still 4stars
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: choose a room on 2nd level because the lift is damn slow, it will save you a little bit of time
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at Octagon Mansion Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2014
Dear florenzthegreat, First of all, we would like to thank you for giving us a good rating despite some inconveniences you have encountered on your stay and we are sorry if we fail to meet your expectations. Though we are fully booked those days you were with us, but we know that it should not be a reason for us to forget the essence of hospitality. We really appreciate you taking time to write us a review which will definitely help us grow and improvement as necessary. Your feedback is a great help to us and to other fellow travelers. Nevertheless, we hope to see you again on your next visit and we will be more than happy to assist you. Sincerely, Elliessa Maclang-Marantan Hotel Online Supervisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
northknight wrote a review Dec 2007
Niagara Falls17 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hostel 1632 is a hotel. This is one of the best deals in the downtown center of Manila, 50 yards from the Pan Pacific Hotel and 5 minute walk to Roberson Mall. The rooms are small and
narrow, but cheap, clean, two beds ( see pictures ), a/c, phone, 3pc bathroom, TV and secure, they even deliver a free newspaper in the morning. The hotel was just build about 18 months ago so it's fairly new, and well staffed. The hotel is used by a “Hotel Staff Training School”, so you may wonder why so many hotel workers, opening doors, holding the elevator and everyone very friendly ( new brooms to be I guess!!! ). There is a coffee shop in the lobby but a little expensive 80P for a coffee ($1.60), if your on a tight budget I would go outside the Hotel for food and coffee as your surrounded by inexpensive restaurant and shops. There is a great cheap very clean restaurant 100 yards from the Hostel called the Chefs Quarters example, English/Amercan Breakfast P200, ( $4 US ) to get to it turn right outside the hotel and walk to the corner and across the street is the Chefs Quarters. The Hostel 1632 have safety deposit boxes in the lobby that's free to guests,handy for passports, tickets, cash etc... They also have Internet, again a little expensive as you have
many cheap internet shops outside. Every room has an Internet air feed, but they charge to get on-line.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2007
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria Ellena P wrote a review Aug 2015
Stockholm, Sweden36 contributions36 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the third times I stayed in this Hostel for business trip. Last year I traveled alone but this year I brought my husband and son. I reserved a deluxe room with two double beds, expected that the deluxe room is a bigger one but no, they are the same size with a standard and the beds looks like single beds very small double beds, so I asked if she could give us a king size bed with extra bed. The only available room with the king size bed was in the fourth floor, smoking rooms. So I asked the cleaner to spray the room because I have allergy in smoke. The small Window in room 432 has no lock, the shower is with the toilet. We used to remove the toilet paper before we could shower. There is a club facing in our window playing very loud music in the evening, I think they start playing from eight O'clock in the evening upto Four O'clock in the morning. We could never sleep.

At four o'clock in the afternoon I called the room service and asked if they could come and change our towels because all our towels are already used, we didn't let them clean yesterday coz I was packing and there is not enough space to put away our things so they could clean. But we would like to shower first before we check out. The cleaner man came and took our used towels with out changing new ones but he said he will come back with towels. But after ten minutes he did not came back so I called again in the phone and requested the towels, I said we don't have much time because we will go out and eat before check out. He came back after two minutes and he knock hard our door. He was angry, he didn't want to gave us towels. I think he thought that we will steal the towels. Poor cleaner, they dont understand, treating their costumers badly is bad for business and the costumers will not come back.

Pros: Clean small budget hotel, freindly stuff except the one woman with curley hair in the reception and the cleaner man. Very close to Robinson Plaza, lots of restaurants around. Good for backpackers and solo travelers.

Cons: Very small rooms, small double beds, the shower is with the toilet, no window lock, no door lock in the bathroom, very small window like a prison, no curtens, not for family traveler.

Two hours before we check out I asked the receptionist if they have a car to transport us to the airport. She said yes, we have a big one, I said, good because we have lots of luggage, Reserve that for us, yes mom she said. But then when we came back from dinner exactly five minutes before we check out, they told us that there is no car because there is no driver. Hostel 1632, Palm Plaza, LAS Palmas and Executive Hotel are the same owner, and are neighbors and they could not find a driver? I don't believe it.
But the man with the White Polo shirt I think he was the manager, He was very friendly and helpful, he was the one who voluntered to find a transportation for us. Thank you so much! Sir! He found a taxi for us but the cleaner still checking our room, it took ten minutes before the receptionist returned our deposit money. Never recommend for family traveler and we never comeback.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't chose a room in the fourth floor, its smoking rooms if you are not smoker. Chose a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roberto Reyes A wrote a review Dec 2011
Manila, Philippines1 contribution8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel staff promised me during check-in that they will provide 30-min free internet everyday. Then, after I already checked in, I was told that free internet is "out-of-stock" (sic). The hotel staff are very rude. I have heard them make racist comments on the side speaking in the vernacular (I happen to speak their language that's why I know). I also found little insects in the bathroom. The cleaning staff are very inconsiderate. They always make noises in the hallway and keeps interrupting my sleep asking me if I need room service despite the fact that I already put a "do not disturb" sign. The resident manager is very arrogant and her English language skills is terrible. I tried to address my issues with the hostel but she was very dismissive.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bucheonman wrote a review Jan 2011
Saskatoon, Canada19 contributions59 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What can I say except for..it's decent for the money. The rooms are a bit small and there's no pool nor a free breakfast. The restaurant was a bit overpriced to a Philippines standard (200-300 pesos) and the minibar was expensive.

Our room was dead quiet, which is what we wanted just for a few hours before catching a connecting flight to Tagbiliran. The room we got was long and narrow, not wide and short. The air condtioner worked well. It was sparkling clean and seemed quite new. For what it is, it's decent.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2010
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Su4rilo wrote a review Aug 2007
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia35 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My 2nd time stay here and I really like the place coz its new and is located at Adriatico Street, Malate. Though room and toilet is small but its accomodative. Room is nicely set up with tv, aircon, a queensize bed and a single bed and with elevators up to the 4th flr. Staff is very friendly. Room service is marvellous but they only have a thermos flask available instead of a jug kettle which is much preferred. Overall I recommend anyone to try out this place. Mall is a walking distance or otherwise,just a 10 php per person for a ride on a tricycle. Moneychangers are nearby. Taxis are accessible all the time. Vans for hire are also available here.
Safe and nice location. I'll definitely stay at this place again in future. Internet booking is cheaper.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2007
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aicka A wrote a review Jun 2014
1 contribution4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Helpful staffs, good location and affordable. Very near to a Robinsons mall (less than 3 minutes walk)... been staying in this hotel a couple of times and they are just great! also near the airport even there was a bit of traffic.. will stay in this hotel again definitely!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at Octagon Mansion Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2014
Dear Aicka A, Thank you for your recent stay here at Hostel 1632. We really appreciate it taking time to review your stay--the staff, location and value for money. And it is heart-warming that no doubt you will be seeing us again on your next visit. We look forward on that day to welcome you back. Again, thank you so much! Sincerely, Elliessa Maclang-Marantan Hotel Online Supervisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wotwot1 wrote a review Dec 2008
London2 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and i stayed at hostel 1632 for one night 23rd dec 2008. after a bad illness on boracay island we were looking forward to relaxing for one day in manila before leaving the philippines. however from check in to check out this was not going to be the case at hostel 1632. the staff at the front desk during check in did not have details of our reservation and they were not professional or welcoming. furthermore the hostel is advertised as hot water and the water in our shower was just lukewarm!!!! also we booked a double room and i have never stayed in a room where a double room means twin beds at a very odd position - these are very narrow rooms - hardly any space to walk around! one of the beds is bigger than the other but a couple cannot comfortably sleep together in this bed! we were asked for a deposit of 1000 pesos to cover the mini bar which we paid. upon checkout we were informed the soap dish in the bathroom was chipped and we would have to pay 117 pesos to cover the damage! not only was this insulting but ridiculous!!! we had not damaged anything in the room and the staff were rude and unprofessional about the matter. we agreed for the 117 to be deducted from our deposit just so we could leave the hotel asap! we have never been so disgusted and angry with hotel service before. for further information other reasons NOT to stay at hostel 1632 are the extortionate mini bar prices!!! (just go to robinsons mall or 7 eleven for shopping!) also they charge 240 pesos for 1 hour internet - there is a lovely internet cafe 3 mins walk away for 60 pesos an hour!!!!

To the management of hostel 1632 you've been found out!!! just look at the review before mine!!! I hope you sort yourselves out!!!!
So all readers - do not stay here! i can recommend Pensionne Malate next to Starbucks. We stayed here for 3 nights when we arrived in Manila. The rooms are clean and large, the staff friendly and they have hotwater - and they are half the price of 1632!!!! Do not stay at hostel 1632 - it will ruin your experience of Manila!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2008
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
divemonster wrote a review Oct 2015
Puerto Galera, Philippines14 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms have been redeveloped since my last stay and they look great. There was only one problem and that was the bathroom is tiny and the shower is not well designed, even if you close the curtain water leaks all over the floor and under the door and pools on the floor outside of the main room door.
Apart from that you are close to the Robinsons mall and many restaurants. There is a lot of homeless people around so be careful with your belongings.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jean Luc L wrote a review Aug 2013
Manille7 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We spend only one night in this hostel and it is lucky. I will never come back in this hotel. Rooms are like cell, small, narrow, small window, horrible smell inside. Seems not too much expensive (less than 50$), but it is too much for a prison cell!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: No good room, they are all like prison cell!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elliessa M, Hotel Online Supervisor at Octagon Mansion Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2013
Dear 970Jean, Thank you for sharing your comments during your stay in Hostel 1632. We are sorry that your expectations were not able to meet during your stay. As for the stench you have encountered, it might be due to the ongoing renovation happening since July 2013. But anyways, we are sorry for that. Rest assured that we have taken your comment seriously and working on it now--renovation is in progress. Looking forward in welcoming you back again here. Sincerely, Elliessa Maclang Hotel Online Supervisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony M asked a question Sept 2014
Puerto Princesa, Philippines18 contributions11 helpful votes
the best way to get from airport to hotel hostel 1632
alan e wrote a tip Jul 2019
Los Angeles, California11 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid and again, avoid."
Read full review
Hairul27 wrote a tip Mar 2017
Singapore, Singapore13 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"No positive tip to give."
Read full review
allanb wrote a tip Feb 2017
Mactan Island, Philippines11 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You may get your free daily newspaper at the stand near the elevator or near the reception area at the ground floor."
Read full review
holliday-in-ph wrote a tip Mar 2016
copenhagen11 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"mall, and price for the rooms"
Read full review
Trekie-G wrote a tip Feb 2016
Montreal, Canada24 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"To minimize ambient street noise, ask for rooms located at a higher floor"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Manila area.
PRICE RANGE
£24 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hostel 1632 manila, hostel 1632 hotel manila
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hostel 1632
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonMetro ManilaManilaMalate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCTAGON MANSION HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Octagon Mansion Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Octagon Mansion Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Robinsons Place Mall (0.1 miles), Cultural Center of the Philippines (0.3 miles), and Malate District (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Octagon Mansion Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Octagon Mansion Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Octagon Mansion Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Octagon Mansion Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Market Cafe, Cafe Adriatico, and Li Li.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Octagon Mansion Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Octagon Mansion Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Santiago (1.8 miles), Casa Manila (1.3 miles), and Bonifacio High Street (4.7 miles).
Is Octagon Mansion Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Manila HotelsManila Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Manila
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire