We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Austin Central - South\/Univ of Texas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Del Valle
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

I love the front desk workers and the housekeepers they treeat me with respect and help me with anything I need help with and the rooms they are soo nice and clean and the manager is soo nice with me and helped me with stuff and i will come to this motel everytime thank you motel 6

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 24 April 2016

If I had not been so anxious to clean the room before my 3 year old starting touching everything, I would have taken pictures. We came home for a visit yesterday and even after reading the reviews, decided to give this Motel 6 a try. Having grown up on the East side of Austin, I don't have to stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MrsRK C
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. The first day made a complaint that the tub drain was clogged badly and wouldn't drain, never did get fixed. The air conditioning would work for 30 minutes and the shut off for 40 minutes. Made a complaint on that and they said it is a new air conditioner and they all do that. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brew1dude
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a...

Reviewed 4 April 2016

I took this room as it was inexpensive and I only needed a few hours sleep prior to leaving for the airport. The guy at the front desk was nice but that was the only good point. There was a big crack in the TV screen and it wasn't connected to the cable. The front desk guy said, "Oh, that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snowmedic
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your post. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of our housekeeping cleaning of the guestroom. We...

Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

You can't expect perfection at Motel 6. But this place is horrible. Just pay a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else. Drug dealer decides to post up outisde our door. Loud motorcycles cruising the parking lot all day and a security guard that just stood there and watched it all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Not accessible at all without a car. Closest places to eat where the opposite side of the freeway which was about a thirty min walk. Cleanish room but with awful smell of smoke. Bathroom was on the small size but was fine for a few nights. We stayed three night and would not stay any longer. Wifi was not free....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chelseainsch
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Chelsea, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you describe with our location. Please know the issue you experienced is an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. The service concerns you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we are sorry you experienced less...

Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

Clean and tidy Motel, close to IH - 35 and into Downtown Austin. (Taxi only $14). Little expensive for value the weekend we stayed - as it was the formula one weekend and Texas Longhorn game. Limited rooms with fridges - first come first served - ice available on tap. Staff pleasant and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 15 October 2015

All night long I had other guests stopping by to fill their ice buckets. For the love of everything that is holy, move the ice machines away from the guests rooms so that your guests can get some sleep!!! This seems like common sense but not here. Otherwise, this was pretty much par for the course with Motel 6. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ltdvulcan
6Team, Team 6 at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your guestroom comfort. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Our aim is to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to...

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Please consider staying anywhere else but here. My friend and I checked in here for one night. I woke up around 1 am with a cockroach crawling on my bed and after turning on the lights we found around 5 more crawling around the room. The management here won't do anything if you have issues so you're on your own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Kyle, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe, and we are sorry for the circumstances. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the bed comfort issues you experienced....

Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

So we arrived at nighttime. As we were getting out if the car we saw a sketchy couple walking around the parking lot, probably drunk. The night staff was very nice. When we went to our room there was a guy smoking a cigarette who was blasting loud rap music from his car, who then intentionally walked next to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al M
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Al, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to our rate policies and the inconveniences you experienced. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. Our staff aims to provide...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#159 of 200 in Austin
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Austin-University Area
0.8 mi away
The Highlander Austin
The Highlander Austin
#125 of 200 in Austin
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas

Address: 5330 North Interregional Highway, I-35 at Exits #238-A/238-B, Austin, TX 78751
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Price Range: £50 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ Of Texas Hotel Austin
Motel Six Austin
Austin Motel 6
Austin Motel Six
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no good rooms, I'm almost positive.”
 of 5 bubbles MrsRKC, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Not Recommended”
 of 5 bubbles Snowmedic, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Just stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 210kyleb, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel where the staff cares.”
  • The refrigerator door broken
 of 5 bubbles 384beccal, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Good luck, just take what they give you and be quiet and hunker down with a bottle of liquor and pray for daylight.”
 of 5 bubbles MitchJ374, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay