We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Grand Mercure Summerville Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Summerville Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,070 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I spent a week with four friends in this resort, only last week. The resort itself is Ok (not five stars by any means) very good swimming pool if you are going with little children as it has different depths and a water slide that children enjoyed very much. Rooms are Ok, simple but spacious. Food is also Ok, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mery279
AccorHotelsPE, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Summerville Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mery, Thank you very much for your feedback. Accor Hotels manage this hotel since May 2015 and we are struggling to build the culture and innovative services to Grand Mercure Summerville. We will share your comments with our team and this will motivate us to improve our services to our quality commitment as a Grand Mercure Brand hotel. Thank...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I went to spend a week there with my daughter in July. We might have not had that much luck, as it was not as warm as I was expecting. The main pool is VERY COLD, and specially for children in this time of the year, was really a struggle for her to enjoy. The pool they say that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dbibas
AccorHotelsPE, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Summerville Resort, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your time and attention in evaluating our property. I apologize that you did not have a great experience with us. Your review will be shared with our team so we can improve all details and work on solutions. The hotel is being renovated, including social areas and rooms, Gym, also the Jacuzzi is...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 27 July 2016

It is 3+ star hotel, not a 5 star as claimed. Rooms are common, maybe the nuptial (just one) or the presidential (also just one) can be better, but I doubt because those are too close to noise from the big pool. The pool is big and beautiful for sure, but there is no place for actual swimming, not deep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank farm1974
AccorHotelsPE, Gerente de relações com clientes at Grand Mercure Summerville Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We offer various types of accommodations, varying from standard rooms, up to our presidential suite. Each category is suitable for different needs. At the moment we are undergoing renovations to all of our accommodations in order to present a cozier, fresh, more welcoming environment to our guests. Our...

Vilamoura, Portugal
Reviewed 20 May 2016

As a part of the Accor group, i would expect the same standard as i am used to from this hotel chain, but unfortunately, it was a dissapointing experience. This hotel does not deserve it's 5 star rating, to be generous, 3 star would be enough. The rooms are decorated with old furniture and very basic, even though i booked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KellyCruz
AccorHotelsPE, Gerente de relações com clientes at Grand Mercure Summerville Resort, responded to this review

Dear KellyCruz, Thank you for your comments. That will help us to improving our services. We'll share your comments with our entire team, because your satisfaction is the best reward for our employees who work daily to provide you the best quality service. Best regards, Mario Pierro.

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

We had a great time here! Location - the hotel is right against the reef which is fun to walk along but not great for swimming. You can easily walk about 5 minutes to a great sea pool w free SUP and umbrellas, coconuts etc. Food - the dinners were delicious! Nothing gourmet but good fresh fish and lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anikabrazil
AccorHotelsPE, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Summerville Resort, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your time and attention in evaluating our resort. It is very nice to get good feedback from our customers and realize that we achieved our client's expectations. We have already started our renovation project into our social areas also the rooms. We hope to welcome you and your family in a near future...

Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, friendly reception, clean rooms, leisure with the family guaranteed. the restaurant for children is weak.adult restaurant depends on the day, sometimes good sometimes not. The spa is ok and the beach has to be careful with hedgehogs. To spend a week to relax I come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henrique B
Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Don't be mislead, this is hardly a 3 star hotel. Rooms are very basic, showers and toelits are very standard. But the worst is yet to come. You go to porto galinhas to enjoy the famous beach but you are set for a disappointing surprise!! The beach is terrible and so bubbly and stones are all over the place which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joury1
AccorHotelsPE, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Summerville Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Joury, Thank you for your time and attention in evaluating our hotel. We have recently take over the management of Summerville Resort. We are working to better serve and to develop our services. Linen and operating equipment are being replaced and we hired a new Chef that is taking over our kitchen. There is a lot of work...

Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Outstanding service, giant pool, great location next to a lagoon perfectly suited for snorkelling and water sports (5 minutes walk, hotel kiosk available). The hotel offers good restaurants, among which the waterfront Quebra-mar stands out (only adults allowed on this one). We stayed in one of the duplex bungalows, closer to the beach, a good fit for four people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliano S
AccorHotelsPE, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Summerville Resort, responded to this review

Dear Juliano, Thank you very much for your time and attention in evaluating our hotel. We are pleased in serving our guests and to attend to their needs. Your feedback will be shared with our team and I am sure it will be a power motivator so we can keep on enchanting our guests. Thank you once again and Best...

Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Excellent hotel especially for families with children.Food quality can be improved. Beach in front of the hotel cannot be used.Excellent beach option especially for children but located aprox 300m walking distance from hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aluiziobyrro
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

This is generally a lovely hotel. The food is very good but the restaurant a little crowded. We ate outside on the patio area which was nice and more peaceful. When we arrived however the room we were given had its balcony right next to the air conditioning extractor which would have been noisy and unpleasant. They swapped the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
AccorHotelsPE, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Summerville Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Anna, Warm greetings from Brazil. First I would like to thank you for your time and attention in sharing your experience at our hotel. We are satisfied that we could deliver a good experience to your family and that you enjoyed our New Year Party and services. I would like to inform you that we will do renovations...

1,691 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1321)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (183)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (340)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (34)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (585)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (324)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Bridal Bungalow (54)
Viewed
Bungalow (39)
Viewed
Luxury Apartment (26)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto de Galinhas
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Viva Porto de Galinhas
BEST WESTERN PLUS Viva Porto de ...
#11 of 23 in Porto de Galinhas
1,745 reviews
1.9 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#7 of 23 in Porto de Galinhas
2,556 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Solar Porto de Galinhas
BEST WESTERN Solar Porto de Gali...
#6 of 23 in Porto de Galinhas
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Serrambi Resort
Serrambi Resort
#10 of 29 in Ipojuca
1,697 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Armacao - Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Armacao - Porto de Galinha...
#5 of 23 in Porto de Galinhas
1,743 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kembali Hotel
Kembali Hotel
#1 of 23 in Porto de Galinhas
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in one of the most famous beaches of the Brazilian Northeast, the Summerville Beach Resort occupies a privileged green area of 70 thousand square meters in Muro Alto Beach, Porto de Galinhas in Ipojuca-PE. It is perfectly integrated into a landscape composed of coconut trees, rainforest, mangroves, and oceanfront, a huge natural pool formed by reefs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Summerville Resort

Address: Praia de Muro Alto s/n | Gleba 6A, Lote C, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil (Formerly Summerville Beach Resort)
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Price Range: £148 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Summerville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Mercure Summerville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerville Beach Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Grand Mercure Summerville Resort Porto De Galinhas, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Business Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#9 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Summerville Resort staff and other travellers.
66 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Summerville Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont get the rooms close to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles farm1974, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Luxury rooms are facing the pool and have balcony”
 of 5 bubbles KellyCruz, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“- Get a room with pool view - Consider renting a car - Go during low tides”
 of 5 bubbles bernardob, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If you have kids, chose a room closest to the kids club or baby club”
 of 5 bubbles 159priscillas, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Luxury suites or bungalows are best and views of pool for suites, ocean and pool for bungalows.”
 of 5 bubbles RaymondM972, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay