We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 6: English reviews
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 2 August 2015

I visited Rio de Janiero last week with two others and we stayed here. Very cheap, but my friend said his room smelled a little. In the first room I stayed in, some of my roommates discovered bed bugs in their beds. I was very lucky and did not have bedbugs in my bed, but we all had to evacuate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda T
HostelRiodeJaneiro, Cidade Maravilhosa Reception Team at Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for your rating and for acknowledging the immediate response of the staff in this case. We would like to inform you that this year some hotel rooms have been already renovated, and we are undergoing a process of management improvement with emphasis on quality. We hope to welcome you again soon and know your opinion about...

Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

I stayed at cuidade maravilhosa in Rio de Janeiro for 5 nights in feb 2015. It was disgustingly dirty. The first night my bed had bed bugs and I was covered in bites when I woke up the next morning. The hostel staff told me that they would put poison down to kill the bugs but the following night was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alyce12345
HostelRiodeJaneiro, Reception Team at Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Alyce, We are very sorry to receive such accusations for our previous staff. Normally, all found items are stored in the reception desk. If it was the case as you describe, could you please, give us information on the events and the procedures followed at the time that your phone was stolen? Please, do not hesitate to contact us...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The staff are helpful, with more or less English spoken. The rooms are, so so. I mean not very good, but just okay. Due to someone strongly blowing nose, I didn't sleep well during the night, but I don't think it's their fault. The location is very good indeed, and the price during the FIFA World Cup is fine in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wz19dn41
HostelRiodeJaneiro, Reception Team at Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We will be also providing our services in reasonable prices for the next up-coming event : the Olympic Games 2016! Best Regards, Cidade Maravilhosa Reception Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Staff tried to be helpful, although no English spoken, but the state of the rooms are a bit crappy. This is very much a money making venture and not a particularly good experience for guests. Breakfast was adequate though. Blame lies with owner. Don't stay here unless desperate.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jimbledon
HostelRiodeJaneiro, Reception Team at Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jim, We are sorry for your negative impression for our staff and managers! Most of our guests would rather find our hostel to be a family business whose services offer a cozy environment. Foremost, I am pleased to inform you that, under the new management, we are currently in a process of renovating our facilities. Our new reception team...

Harrison
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I waited about 10 minutes but she seems still were busying on her facebook...then I talked to her first...told me my 4 bed room is not available upon my booking, she said she can give me a discount for staying 6 bed room....the room is terrible...an other old guy occupied the whole lockers! she said she will check which one...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank alexphj
HostelRiodeJaneiro, Reception Team at Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Alex, Our apologies for not having available the private room for you upon your arrival. We always suggest our guests to check availability in advance by online booking, email or direct communication by phone. Our receptionist offered a counter-proposal -staying in a dormitory- for you with the intention to facilitate your staying in Rio de Janeiro. For your clarification,...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We had a private room which was internal, between reception and the kitchen. The TV in reception was blaring out until really late - you definitely need ear plugs in that room. The room was very basic but clean, as was the bathroom but we have stayed in other hostels during our trip to S. America which were much cheaper...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane R
HostelRiodeJaneiro, Reception Team at Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jane, Thank you for your comments! We took some measures since your staying to our establishments, including time limitations in the use of the TV in the reception. Since 2016 we have available only the renovated private room in the second floor that may guarantee a calm staying. Our new reception team would be glad to receive you again...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Rio Earth
Rio Earth
#163 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
Kariok Hostel
#64 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
93 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#2 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
444 reviews
Santa Teresa
Sugar Loft Apartments
Sugar Loft Apartments
#70 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
22 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mambembe Hostel
Mambembe Hostel
#49 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Teresa

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Teresa
Santa Teresa is a bohemian enclave hosting many local artists’ studios. The narrow, winding streets of this neighbourhood were revitalised years ago, and visitors can now stroll through this area to view magnificent mansions dating back to the late 19th and early 20th century. A highlight not miss: Museu Chacará do Céu, a former mansion turned museum which houses works by prominent Brazilian modern artists.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of the city of Rio de Janeiro is the Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel, located in Bairro da Glória. From here you have easy access to downtown Rio and to the most diverse entertainment and leisure options. Cidade Maravilhosa offers the necessary infrastructure to ensure a great stay in Rio. All rooms have private bathrooms to ensure greater comfort and privacy. guest. The internet connection is free, with WI-FI network released and computer available. For the blissful, the hostel offers free access to an equipped tv room, bar and grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel

Address: Rua Hermenegildo de Barros 19, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Price Range: £10 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cidade Maravilhosa Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay