We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

A great clean hostel with all members of staff being polite and helpful. It's the amazing beautiful staff that work within the hostel that makes it beautiful, and is worthy being called 'Bonita'. I had a wonderful experience and it was very difficult to leave. Thank you for having me stay. xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greeboss73
Bigonville, Luxembourg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Poor experience, this pousada is made for young people. No space in bedroom( no desk to range our clothes and suitcases), poor breakfast, to much noise during the night and so on...... One positive point, the sympathy of personal of pousada. ood The manager helps a lot, he is really a good person.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bocklerm
Bonita I, Gerente de relações com clientes at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, bocklerm, Comments and feedback are always very important for our team and makes us keeping pursue a high standard of service, but naturally there are differences, including infrastructure, from hotels to hostels. Our rooms aren’t really spacious like a hotel, but they are enough to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. About the bedside tables, we apologize. Some...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location is OK since it's located in Ipanema, although not far from the elevator to the favellas. Staff is friendly. Hotel is not perfectly clean and room needs to be refurbished. AC was not working properly. Showers / WC were Not perfectly clean. In a nutshell: Ok for a few days in Rio but not great value for your money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles-Henri B
Bonita I, Gerente de relações com clientes at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Charles-Henri B, Thank you for your comment. Feedbacks are always very important for our team. We are very happy to know that you liked our location and staff. Be sure your compliments will be shared with our entire team. However, we apologize for the inconvenience observed. In Rio everywhere is not far from a favela, but we do are...

Varnamo, Sweden
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

The hostel is located just some blocks from the beach, restaurants and the sea in the middle of Rio! We had a private room with shared bathroom. The Room was small, but clean and comfortable, and the shared bathroom was close! Sometimes a bit dirty, men hey, it is not Easy to keep clean at all time with many people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josefin P
Bonita I, Gerente de relações com clientes at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Josefin P, Thank you for your comment. Feedbacks are always very important for our team. We are very happy to know that you liked our location, clean service, confort, breakfast, price a staff. Be sure your compliments will be shared with our entire team. However, we apologize for the inconvenience observed. As you said our rooms aren’t really spacious...

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Breakfast here was good and my private room comfortable and clean. There is very little indoor communal space at this hostel tho so it doesn't lend itself to meeting and making friends when it's raining which is a real shame. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Location is great although don't be fooled - nowhere in Rio is super safe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
Bonita I, Gerente de relações com clientes at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Jess B, Thank you for your comment. Feedbacks are always very important for our team. We are very happy to know that you liked our, lacation, breakfast, rooms, confort, cleaning service and staff. Be sure your compliments will be shared with our entire team. However, we apologize for the inconvenience observed. Our common area aren’t really spacious but, they...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

The first impression when we walked in was very good, quite cute. Also there's a security door which the reception only can open so they have full control over who's entering the property. Also they have safes in the room for which you can get a key against R$50 deposit. Our double room was tiny but clean. We had one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mbieri
Bonita I, Gerente de relações com clientes at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Mbieri, Thank you for your comment. Feedbacks are always very important for our team. We are very happy to know that you liked our decoration, cleaning service, chill-out area, security and staff. Be sure your compliments will be shared with our entire team. However, we apologize for the inconvenience observed. Our rooms aren’t really spacious like a hotel, but,...

Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The hostel is right beside the metro station. Really good located! We stayed on a private bedroom with shared bathroom. The bedroom was small, but confortable and the bathroom was clean and we had no problems to use it. The staff was great, The breakfast was good, with fruits, bread, ham, cheese and cakes. The price was good. We liked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliana D
Bonita I, Gerente de relações com clientes at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Juliana, We are very happy to know that you liked our location, clean service, confort, breakfast, price and staff. It will be a pleasure to receive you again. Greetings, Marketing Bonita Ipanema

Reviewed 30 August 2016

The hostel used to be the former house of Tom Jobim and it is actually a house surrounded by a nice patio. The location is great in the heart of Ipanema and only 3 blocks from the beach of Ipanema and 10 minutes walk to Copacabana. The rooms are spacious and clean although don't count in the wi-fi in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo M
Bonita I, Gerente de relações com clientes at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, Lorenzo M. Hope to have you back soon =) Regards, Marketing Bonita Ipanema

Reviewed 27 August 2016

We stayed 4 nights in room #1 - one of the two double rooms with own bathroom. The hostel is located in a nice and convenient area, rooms and common areas are nice and the staff very friendly and helpful - and speaks good English. If you are just a little noise sensitive you might face problems sleeping. Either the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
Bonita I, Gerente de relações com clientes at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Jan, Thank you for your comment. Feedbacks are always very important for our team. We are very happy to know that you liked our localization, common areas, rooms and staff. Be sure your compliments will be shared with our entire team. However, we apologize for the inconvenience observed. This room really had trouble with night noise because of its...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time here. Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and the breakfast area was great. Rooms were basic but clean, lockers were available. There could have been more bathrooms and showers. There was a pool but it was small but I didn't use it as the location is great because you are so close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomalley4
Bonita I, Gerente de relações com clientes at Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, tomalley4, thank you for your comment. Feedbacks are always very important for our team. We are very happy to know that you liked our localization, breakfast, rooms, hygiene, staff and atmosphere in general. Be sure your compliments will be shared with our entire team. However, we are sorry about the inconvenience observed. We have 4 shared bedrooms, each one...

579 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (194)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Double Standard Room Meditacao (31)
Viewed
Double Standard with Shared Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Double Superior Room Corcovado (27)
Viewed
Eu Sei Que Vou Te Amar Room for Four (16)
Viewed
Eu Sei Que Vou Te Amar Triple Room with Shared Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Falando de Amor Triple Room with Shared Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Garota de Ipanema Room for Four with Shared Bathroom (21)
Viewed
O Nosso Amor Double Standard Room (17)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Sabiá Room for Four with Shared Bath (17)
Viewed
Shared Dormitory for Six (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
#89 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
575 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
1,228 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#13 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
The Mango Tree
The Mango Tree
#25 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
443 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach House
Ipanema Beach House
#83 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
314 reviews
Ipanema
Margarida's Pousada
Margarida's Pousada
#42 of 319 in Rio de Janeiro
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Ipanema

Neighbourhood Profile
Ipanema
Ipanema is considered Rio's crown jewel. It offers the best view of the sunset from Arpoador and is inspiration for the legendary song, “The Girl from Ipanema.” Ipanema is an upscale area, home to many high-end restaurants and luxury shops, many of which can be found on the charming Garcia d'Ávila Avenue. The neighbourhood is very rich culturally, housing many art galleries that show contemporary art. There is also a great variety of nightlife in the neighbourhood, which buzzes with many options for every taste.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bonita Ipanema is located in one of the best spots of Rio de Janeiro, in the heart of Ipanema between Leblon, Copacabana and Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas. The Pousada & Hostel is only 3 blocks away from Ipanema beach, next to all transports (subway, bus and taxi) and just a few steps from a great variety of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel

Address: Rua Barao da Torre 107, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Price Range: £19 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonita Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't accept people over 30 years old.”
 of 5 bubbles bocklerm, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Chose a 2nd or 3rd floor room if you want to leave your balcony doors or windows open.”
 of 5 bubbles th27701, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dorm rooms have huge lockers for all your stuff!”
 of 5 bubbles nburgess12, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The private rooms are excellent but the dorms are too tight”
 of 5 bubbles biabianunes, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Free wifi at the pool and reception, not in the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 681mashat, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay