We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Adventure Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Adventure Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 22: English reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

The location is really good, next to many bars and restaurants. Just a few block from the subway stations , from the beach and from Rodrigo de Freitas Lagoon. There is also a Bar inside and the food is good. Nice variety of beer and live music sometimes. :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ViajandoComGabi
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The people working here made me feel right at home. I could lock my own door and return the key to the front desk - good security system. Close to great food, beautiful views and a couple minutes walk from Ipanema beach. I met a few new friends also staying in the Adventure Hostel and was so happy that I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arichard01
Laura M, Gerente at Adventure Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Obrigada pelo seu feedback e te aguardamos para conhecer nosso bar anexado ao hostel.

Salvador, BA
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Staff incompetent and not helpful. I was given a dirty room since the beginning of my stay. Poor breakfast. Where was the cheese, ham, or any portion of protein? Tourist info was poorly given. Staff behave like they were the guests. They speak aloud and smoke at bed time. Since windows are open, smoke enters to your room and their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilirestrepo
Laura M, Gerente at Adventure Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Acredito que o seu desconforto com ruído foi porque ficamos ao lado de um bar na esquina da rua. Sobre...

Rosario
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We were 6 friends in the same room. We werent shearing the room with no one else. The four of us, whose luggage didnt have a padlock, found out that U$D 200 were missing from day 1 // Standard hostel; great Ipanema location. Good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank riallautaro
Laura M, Gerente geral at Adventure Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nosso hostel oferece sistema e métodos de segurança que dependem do uso devido dos hóspedes. Temos circuito interno de câmeras...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 4 February 2016

great location in a heart of Ipanema and friendly and helpful staff.... if you are looking for adventure, trip to nature or a party just ask them, they will recommend something... great hostel to recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davor556
Laura M, Gerente at Adventure Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you to share your opinion with travellers!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Amazing staff, people, experience, location, price, etc. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. I stayed in 3 other hostels in Rio De Janeiro and this was the best. It books up pretty quick on weekends, so book early.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jordanstarr
Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Great Staff, very comfortable rooms, very nice breakfast, a lot of privacy, easy going place, at night very calm & smooth if you want it that way right after being party all night, 3 blocks away from Ipanema beach only. I love Brazil & I love Rio, I'll be coming back soon and definitely Adventure Hostel has become in Rio...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickyPionnier
Winterthur
Reviewed 28 April 2015

This hostel is in a great location, close to Ipanema Beach and many bars and restaurants. Staff is nice and helpful. I stayed in a 5bed dorm, which was big enough and with everything you need. Wifi is good and also available in the room. The only disadvantage are the number of toilets and showers, which are way to less...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank biddingpoints
Reviewed 28 February 2015

This is a great location in a safe area. Ipanema is beautiful and the staff was SO helpful and very fun! I definitely recommend staying here and hanging with the staff. Would stay here again 100% !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherinelovely
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

It's in a great location and has all the potential, but it seems that the owners have forgotten about its maintenance as the bathrooms are hot, uncomfortable and insufficient for the number of guests. The rooms have bunk beds of 3 which aren't that comfortable too. They also have a poor breakfast given in a strict quantity in hand to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olucasdias
Laura M, Owner at Adventure Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Primeiramente gostariamos de agradecer a preferência e sua opinião. Acabamos de passar por uma reforma, creio que vá gostar! O...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#14 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
191 reviews
Ipanema
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
#34 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
580 reviews
Ipanema
The Mango Tree
The Mango Tree
#25 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Babilonia Rio Hostel
#3 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
135 reviews
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#6 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
229 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 709 in Rio de Janeiro
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Ipanema

Neighbourhood Profile
Ipanema
Ipanema is considered Rio's crown jewel. It offers the best view of the sunset from Arpoador and is inspiration for the legendary song, “The Girl from Ipanema.” Ipanema is an upscale area, home to many high-end restaurants and luxury shops, many of which can be found on the charming Garcia d'Ávila Avenue. The neighbourhood is very rich culturally, housing many art galleries that show contemporary art. There is also a great variety of nightlife in the neighbourhood, which buzzes with many options for every taste.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Adventure Hostel

Address: Rua Vinicius de Moraes 174 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Price Range: £13 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adventure Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Adventure Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Adventure Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have rooms with private bathrooms :-)”
 of 5 bubbles jordanc351, 20 Feb 2014 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay