We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Manga Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Manga Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Manga Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Europe
Reviewed 10 January 2016

The hostel is well managed and the staff is helpful. Our double private room was ok, a bit small but nothing to complain about. The bathrooms were decent, but we did not have hot showers throughout our stay - even though we let the staff know a couple of times. The breakfast was included, which was a positive point. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EU2020
mangahostel, Proprietário at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, and thank you for the compliments. Our staff is our mainly priority. That's way I got surprised to know that we didn't fix your shower during your stay. Usually, any problem as that is quickly solve. We apologize about that. Thank you for the recommendation. Kind regards, Manga Hostel Team

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

A truly horrible experience, and a hostel which I strongly suggest you avoid. For starters, upon arrival, we were asked to pay up front and then sign a document which told us the rules, including the fact that there were no refunds. I didn't like this, but signed it anyway, unaware of the dawning issues. The street-side room we were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mckplus
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Stayed here for the carnival and it had a fantastic atmosphere. The rooms are basic but colourful and the hostel is kept locked all the time with some one always on the desk. We did have our door tried a few times and felt very unsafe leaving at 5am to catch our flight as a cab would not come down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Stayed here for a few days. The staff members are very helpful, breakfast was served everyday at 8 o'clock, nice coffee and natural juices. They have really cool activities on weekends where you can socialize with other guests, but if you're the quiet type and want some time alone, you got that as well, there are many comfortable areas to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay Z
mangahostel, recepcionista at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Jay! Thanks a lot for your description, it was amazing! Exactly what we want to give people, we really appreciate you had a good time and we hope you will comeback! Kind regards, Manga Hostel Staff

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 April 2015

The location is really good and the hostel is great to meet people. The staff were very nice except for one of them, Gabriel. He was really rude and when he checked me in he was also checking his mobile phone and not really listening to me. I have never seen anything like that before. The interior is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura222G
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 22 March 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VisitRio
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellingAustins
mangahostel, Recepcionista at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Claire C
mangahostel, Recepcionista at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

Copenhagen
Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank inat
mangahostel, Recepcionista at Manga Hostel, responded to this review

300 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Ipanema Room (40)
Viewed
Itacoa Dorm (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Room (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Bossa in Rio Hostel
Bossa in Rio Hostel
#10 of 755 in Rio de Janeiro
402 reviews
Botafogo
Meiai Hostel
Meiai Hostel
#6 of 755 in Rio de Janeiro
587 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 755 in Rio de Janeiro
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Forest Hostel
Rio Forest Hostel
#9 of 755 in Rio de Janeiro
245 reviews
Santa Teresa
Sante Hostel
Sante Hostel
#28 of 755 in Rio de Janeiro
103 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Rio
El Misti Hostel Rio
#17 of 755 in Rio de Janeiro
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manga Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Manga Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“P.s Don't choose the 23 bedroom room as it gets too packed and they only have 2 bathrooms and 3 showers for those that are in that room.”
 of 5 bubbles danpY1097UJ, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Super friendly staff, always willing to help.”
 of 5 bubbles 296jayz, 3 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The 23 coed room is great if you're not picky about privacy. you meet lots of different people from all over the world.”
 of 5 bubbles 752ceciliam, 13 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Book in to the biggest dorm you can find!”
 of 5 bubbles szko, 29 Oct 2014 | Read review
“They have shared rooms and private rooms. It's up to you and your budget.”
 of 5 bubbles Camila_MC, 7 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5