We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

569 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 566: English reviews
Decatur, United States
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Bed was too old and soft. Great location but over priced. Staff provided good service. Room needs to be updated and freshened. Bar hours aren't very good - need to remedy this. Parking is easy to deal with and good access to rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed yesterday NEW

It had been three years since I last stayed at this Doubletree, I was recognized by both the parking lot attendant and the gentleman at the front desk. I am a Diamond member and have stayed in over 50 Hilton branded properties, and this Doubletree ranks #1 in customer appreciation. Warm welcomes and warm cookies!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiamondBirdy
Murfreesboro
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location, place and food! Staff was great! Close walking to most anything you could need. Restaurants were very close, as well as the University of Alabama Birmingham. No problems or issues anytime I stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy check in with friendly, helpful staff! Easy parking and room access! Comfy bedding! Great workout room! Location close to good food and fun! Great menu for room service and restaurant! It was a perfect getaway!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinepL7770TH
DOTHAN, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall a good experience. Rooms very comfortable, quiet, and clean. Breakfast buffet big disappointment for the price. Fastest elevators this side of the Mississippi! Good location near many downtown attractions and dining venues. Staff was friendly and accommodating. I like the emailed invoice statement. Would like to see a larger lounge / bar area for this size of hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
Indianapolis, IN, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice facility and helpful staff. Airline personnel get preferenctial treatment due to a contract. Creates problems and delays for paying guests. This needs to be corrected. Shuttle service is a second thought. With it's proximity to UAB hospital needs to be valued service offered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doris M
Oxford, Alabama
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checking in was good, wasn't sure if membership points we're registered. My room was clean but a little worn and smelled of smoke. I was there for only hours, but overall the stay was good and I experienced no problems.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 348erniew
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is all about location and the friendly staff. Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service. Typical DoubleTree amenities and rooms are clean. Would recommend for short stays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travel-bug313
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in was a breeze using the Hilton app. The digital made it possible to completely bypass the front desk. This was very much appreciated after a long bday of traveling. The accommodations are on par with other Hilton properties. Location is very close to UAB where we were doing business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yoki1964
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I cannot accurately describe how horrible this place was. During my stay I broke out in a rash all over my body from something in the sheets. When I complained they gave me another room which had no bed. I was given a 3rd room which was a downgrade and given no discount. The General Manager did not reach out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
Matthew G, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Matt A, I'm sorry you feel the way you do about your stay back in October. I do understand that our overnight clerk switched your room to a parlor style room that only has a sleeper sofa when you requested to move a few days into your stay. It appears this was quickly corrected and you were put in an...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Address: 808 South 20th Street at 8th Avenue, Birmingham, AL 35205
Region: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Price Range: £109 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get on the 14th floor if you are an HHonors member.”
 of 5 bubbles GuyFromAtlanta_GA, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“14th floor”
 of 5 bubbles jodythecat, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we stayed on the HH level away from the elevator”
 of 5 bubbles rsusanw, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“corner room had nice views”
 of 5 bubbles Rednorge, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“A room with odd # will have a little less ambulance and train noise. Remember, this is downtown with 2 large medical centers.”
 of 5 bubbles socalgalx4, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay