We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Save
Traveller (267)
Room & Suite (141)
Pool & Beach (63)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good15%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“contiki tour”(32 reviews)
“ring the bell”(17 reviews)
“koh phangan”(84 reviews)
Hotel website
Name/address in local language
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Poolside Bar
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
467
78
36
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
467
78
36
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontiki tourring the bellkoh phanganfull moon partyair congreat atmospherebeer pongnice poolstayed longerawesome placefan roomlaid backgreat resortchillratavibeisland
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel with my wife because it was close to the beach and far from the full moon parties areas but we were very disappointed. We were quite quiet until a group of young came and party until 3am singing and screaming (the...More

Thank BenComte
Property's Favourite Review
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

When we booked to visit Koh Phangan I searched online which area of the island would be most suited to what we were after, relaxing but still fun with things in the area to do and see. It turned out the north west of the...More

Thank Hughes28
Response from Nathan R, General Manager at Shiralea Backpackers ResortResponded 5 June 2017

Thanks Hughes28 for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Shiralea and offer some feed back on your experience. By the sounds of this you have a great time in the resort. We are very happy to hear that you found...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were part of a Contiki Tour, so we had not idea of the kind of accommodation we would be staying. Part of this tour we stayed in three different places. Two of them were amazing, but SHIRALEA was disappointing. Unless you’re into backpacking, this...More

Thank Lee P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I saw this on Agoda a week ago for $7 a night for dorms, what a steal I thought. And not only were the prices lower, the bar had a party ever night I was there, bartenders were fun and made great drinks, pool parties,...More

Thank Phillipos L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Shiralea is more than just a hostel, it's a place that you can call your home. The staff here make you feel so welcome and comfortable that you'll never want to leave. The food is delicious and the bar is always fun with great...More

Thank Dan J
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Internet
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$13 - US$26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$13 - US$26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (267)
Room & Suite (141)
Pool & Beach (63)
Dining (55)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
karthikraj k
29 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Nathan R | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Hi, all of the scooter rentals will want you to leave a passport as a deposit. If you don't feel comfortable leaving your passport you are some time able to leave a cash deposit. But we have a scooter rental place just up... More
0
Votes
erin f
21 July 2016|
Answer
Response from dannixx27 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do host a pre full moon party, we left the hostel around 11/11.30pm, they arranged taxis for everyone and had paints etc. There is a cple of shops nearby where you can buy t-shirts/vests and props etc. There is a... More
0
Votes
Rebecca L
11 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Nathan R | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Hi Becky, We organise the taxi to the party and the fare is 250THB. There are many taxis to get you back and the fare will generally be higher, and dependent on the number of people in the taxi. Regards, Nathan
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Try somewhere else"
Read review
"maybe the aircon bungalows are a little bit more silent."
Read review
"Be extra careful of the Bell ;)"
Read review
"Air con rooms are beautiful. We also stayed in a fan room which was also good."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing