Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao

28/5 Moo 1, Tambon Koh Tao, Amphur Koh Phangan, Koh Tao Thailand
Thanks to "Mango Bay Boutique Resort", July 2015.
Traveller (446)
Vista dalla camera
Room & Suite (79)
Thanks to "Mango Bay Boutique Resort", July 2015.
Pool & Beach (35)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#9 of 24 villas in Koh Tao
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quaint
Languages Spoken
Thai
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
237Reviews14Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 137
  • 47
  • 22
  • 17
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ekta p wrote a review Jan 2020
Malaysia437 contributions158 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is only accessible by boat and the resort provides free transfers from the pier twice a day. Once you are here, you are totally isolated into a tiny paradise of your own, so if you are seeking party scene or night life, this is not the place for you. However if you want sea, fishes and snorkel at your footsteps, it is a fantastic place to be.
The resort opens into a bay with lot of colorful marine life and crystal clear water that you can enjoy either by swim or kayak. You can also take their boat trip to the nearby island. The rooms are however on top of the mountain so be ready to climb the stairs up and down the whole day.
However, since you are a captive audience, the prices are slightly on the higher side and you need to pay for the kayak, jacket and practically everything. Also, the resort buys water from the land so sometimes you maybe in a situation that their is a damage and no water. We had such a problem on our 2nd day of the stay and the water pressure was negligible.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Big M, Direttore at Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Douglas R wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my wife decided to book this resort just for 2 night as we was thinking that was to isolate after we arrive and stay the first day we decide to extend as stay for more 9 night . The restaurant have a lot choices of food Western Italian and Thai so we can change dish every meals ( the spaghetti Carbonara are the top like eat at Italy) the drink card is also very assorted. The room as well are really very clean and comfortable and they have every think that you need from terrace you can enjoy a fantastic view on the sea by drinking a cup of coffe . The sea have the most clear water what Me and my wife have see at koh tao ( we stay before other 3 bays ) perfect for snorkelling as direct in-front of the hotel pier is full of coral and fish we spend many hours a day in water and we can even see a sea turtle.
Last but really important is the atmosphere staff are very friendly the manager is from Italy and him can speak many language and is the most friendly host that I have find in Thailand him have explain us al Koh tao history and have organise us 2 great excursions . We will be back sure and of course recommend this place to all as friend is really a must . A small tip book direct the hotel as you will get more benefit !!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom Andy wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay at this hotel for 3 nights and we really appreciate it , service is great they come to pick up us at pier they have free transfer 3 time a day from pier to the resort and from resort to the pier . Restaurant is really good we can taste really excellent Thai food fresh fish every day and a good wine selection the service is a bit slow but at the same time the waiters Nail was really lovely . The room are very spacious clean ne whit a amazing view we will suggest to book a Chaba villa they are direct on the sea front and not so much stairs . The sun deck is really nice place to chill out and enjoy some cocktails or fresh juice during the day the music was also very good there . A tip to every one to book direct whit the resort as you will get special benefit and at the booking moment you will get a really costumer care. Hi recommended to every one and of course we will be back at as next trip to Thailand.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
grace wrote a review Dec 2021
England, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice resort for stay and nice staff. love the service and a special thanks to the chef for the very original thai food. A lot of fish and coral in front at resort , really a tropical aquarium for person like me that love to do snorkelling is perfect place . For sure I will be back again and recommend to all my friend .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Forgot past And enjoy present
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samson D wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I personally really love this place . The hole resort is perfect for vacation . Snorkelling was nice a lot of reef fish and coral , and clean . The restaurant have good food . welcome drink and other things was amazing . We really enjoyed and have fun so much... thanks to all stuff and also the owner.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Moris B wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are absolutely loved it . The hole vive of the resort is perfect . The beach is is nice , quite and clean . The restaurant offer great food . Honey duck was amazing . We enjoyed our time here so much...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sofea M wrote a review Jan 2017
26 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Please weigh your expectation before making your actual booking with this place. We wonder where does the 4 star come from? And to name your place under the "boutique" category? Far from that. After a night stay, mind you we paid for 5 nights! We left without asking for a refund. Need to access safety level!! PRIORITY!! no safety vest from your boat. Maximum capacity on the passengers exceeded! Disastrous! In all honesty, staff were great but manager is horrendous. Room doors and slide doors are not properly fixed. Bathroom with lots of caterpillars and worms. We do not pay $$$ to be in a run down chalet hence no compromise on things that do not live up to the expectation of reviews. Yes, an upmost state of serenity without civilization if that is what you are looking for. Overpriced and limited food as well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cynthia L wrote a review Jan 2016
8 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Pretty much the only way to get to the resort is a damn boat ..Which is really not bad had the boat been on time and not super early or super late ..The ladyboy in the restaurant is rude ..The room was decent not luxurious by any means .They didn't even help us carry our bags down the cliff during check out we did it ourselves which is quite dangerous ..Honestly I could have dealt with all the other bs if the food was banging ..If there is good food,a clean room and pretty water I'm a happy girl simple ..The food is inedible and utterly disgusting ..With the ladyboy being so rude I wouldn't trust him to deliver anything to my anyway ..ILL NEVER RETURN NEVARRRR!!! View is beautiful .I found koh Tao to be boring not as amazing as Koh Samui but if you dive then I'm sure it's a great option for you just not mango bay ..
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabriele P, Direttore at Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao
Responded 2 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review but after I read your review i have ask my staff what happen whit you and your friend from what my staff report to me you have be start complain for the waiting time at the pier that is very clear as schedule from resort to town and from town to resort if you have to wait 30 minute at pier waiting area is normal second wen you going at restaurant as waiter ( ladyboy ) told you please shoe off like every body and say to you friendly and whit a nice smile like Thai style you got that angry and you trow your shoe at restaurant in bad manner and from that on every think was no good even the food that your friend have eat but if the food was so disgusting why you not have ask to speak whit the manager and if the waiter was so rude as well why you not have ask to speak whit the manager?? Last of all we have 4 bell boy that wen you check in and out carry for you the bag but I can clearly remember that all of you have carry a small back pack down whit out ask any think at reception ?? Later if you consider Koh Samui better that Koh Tao is really depending what a person looking for Best regards and thank you for your review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
devera r wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In koh Tao this is the best resort I have bin during my stay at island the resort having all luxurious items, rooms are very good and clean, with AC. You can get free wifi with high speed , and also get the best ocean view from balcony. Enjoyed a lot..
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Be good..always stay happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr.B wrote a review Feb 2016
Cavriglia, Italy26 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Starting on the positive side...the place is beautiful. Sea is beautiful, great for snorkeling. Very isolated but they do run a boat to the port and nearby island which is awesome. Rooms are very nice and up many stairs which is not as bad as it seems. Reasonable price too. I think not for children as there is no beach unless you swim there in deep water.
On the bad side we found the Italian manager very unpleasant, the first night he was drinking vodka with Russian guests and we got really bad food, then the next morning he was topless then came to our table smoking a cigarette smelling like he needed a shower. Actually he told us that he built the place but from what I've read this is not true. The guy at the reception was really nice though. Perhaps the manager needs a long holiday.
So to finish things off the day we left there was not so good weather and the taxi boat run by the hotel took us to the pier, on the journey there were big waves and my wife's suitcase got washed off the boat into the sea, luckily it floated, then the driver instead of getting it first went for his flipflops and after our suitcase. .nice priorities! So we ended up with all our clothes soaked and all electrical equipment destroyed. I would expect a resort like this to invest in a more seaworthy vessel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sani T asked a question Nov 2021
Suddenly past fast
Answer from Sani T
Good place
Answer from Big M
Bangkok, Thailand8 contributions6 helpful votes
Yes we have room for 4 person and we have life jacket for rent
Ritabrata_das asked a question Dec 2017
Howrah, India164 contributions14 helpful votes
Do they have any beach area, any pvt small strip where we can take a stroll......?
Answer from Fantasia77
Longueuil, Canada454 contributions115 helpful votes
No! Just some stairs to go in the (deep) water. No beach, no sand. Not for beach lover but perfect for snorkeling amator.
Answer from bhavesh_13
Mumbai, India59 contributions24 helpful votes
yes they have a daily boat transfer at 12 and a pick up back to the resort by 4
george wrote a tip Dec 2021
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't be afraid just enjoy that's it"
Read full review
grace wrote a tip Dec 2021
England, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Forgot past And enjoy present"
Read full review
Pottipati S wrote a tip Nov 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Privacy is important"
Read full review
devera r wrote a tip Nov 2021
1 contribution5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be good..always stay happy"
Read full review
Nishchal wrote a tip Jan 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms villa are great"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Koh Tao area.
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKoh Tao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MANGO BAY BOUTIQUE RESORT KOH TAO - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao
Which popular attractions are close to Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao?
Nearby attractions include The Beer Masons (1.6 miles), Sai Nuan Beach (3.5 miles), and John Suwan View Point (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Gallery Restaurant, STUFFED North China Taste, and Gambero Rosso Andrea.
Does Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Koh Tao HotelsKoh Tao Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Koh TaoHotels near Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire