We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mut Mee Garden Guest House

1111/4 Kaeo Worawut Road Nai Mueang Subdistrict, Nong Khai 43000 Thailand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (393)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 20 guest houses in Nong Khai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
To BOOK ROOMS we prefer email. We always answer within 6 hours. See our website. Mut Mee Guest House is located in a beautiful garden beside the Mekong River in the middle of Nong Khai Town. Here we have pretty rooms, a full restaurant, yoga instruction, meditation, massage, and two bookshops. Nong Khai is famous for its extraordinary Sculpture Park, with some sculptures over seven stories high and the Phu Pra Bat Historical Park where people lived 3,500 years ago. Famous throughout Thailand is the Tha Sadej Market in the centre of town. The University boasts an aquarium with 2 meter long giant catfish in a walk through tank. Nong Khai is often known as Naga City as it has more than 500 Naga sculptures throughout the town.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Thai
604Reviews2Q+A96Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 342
  • 173
  • 48
  • 17
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
10thDragon wrote a review Sept 2023
Thailand199 contributions106 helpful votes
+1
We booked via a 3rd party website. The majority of the pictures show nice rooms in a nice (brick built) building and we booked a 'superior' room in (what we thought) was that building. On arrival we were told "the room you booked isn't available now but we have a 'superior' room available in another building which is bigger and better than the room you booked". We were led into a very old wooden building next to the nice building we had seen on the website and shown the room - apparently 'superior'!. We didn't like what we saw of the room and given that we noticed the building roof was literally falling down, we asked if another room was available (or the one we had originally booked), and told "no" - so we asked for a refund and we would go to find an alternative hotel. To this request, we were also told "no". After speaking to the owner on the phone - we were told that "a room is available of the type you booked (Superior) but you have rejected it, so no refund". We rejected it because its NOT the room we booked (as the receptionist informed us on arrival) and in an old wooden building where the roof appears to be falling down. We have spent several years in the hotel industry and realize that problems can and do occur, but the true test is how you deal with them - and it seemed like we were being blamed for not accepting the alternative room offered to us (which was our prerogative), and were apparently labelled as 'rude' by the staff and the owner. Looking back at previous reviews on other booking websites, several guests have gone through the same experience of being told their room is now not available when they arrive, and its obvious that the owners refuse to accept responsibility whenever someone writes negatively about their experience at this resort and almost always lays the blame on the guest instead of accepting responsibility. As the staff refused to speak to us even, we had to engage with the booking website to intervene on our behalf and after submitting photographic evidence of our experience, we eventually managed to secure a refund several days later but had to find alternative accommodation after wasting almost an hour trying to explain why we didn't want a room that we had not booked, when it could have been easily resolved with a simple "sorry your booked room is not available, and yes, we will give you a refund if you are not happy with the alternative room we show you". No doubt we will get told from the owners, in the reply to this review that this was all our fault anyway!.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check the room you book is the one you will get. if you take your car, there is very little...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Wright, Owner at Mut Mee Garden Guest House
Responded 19 Sept 2023
I am listening very carefully to everything you are saying. I have accepted that the building where you were offered a room is in need of some refurbishment to the exterior, and this matter is in train of being attended to. We appreciate that what you were offered, notwithstanding it being a lovely spacious room in good condition, with a beautiful balcony close to the river, was not acceptable to you, even though many others have been delighted with it in the past, and when the matter was brought to my attention, I authorised a full refund for you. The reports coming to me from both my staff and my wife were that they had suffered quite a bit of abuse at your hands, including the use of some bad language. It is clear judging from your many responses on the internet, that this incident has caused you some distress, and for this, I apologise.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pushibear wrote a review Jun 2023
Paris, France92 contributions87 helpful votes
I had a pleasant stay in a nice room that overlooked the Mekong. Friendly staff. No restaurant; it seemed that the place hadn't quite recovered from the COVID crisis, but good riverside restaurants are not far. Excellent location. I rented a bicycle but had to change two times because they were not in good shape. I would book here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Wright, Owner at Mut Mee Garden Guest House
Responded 21 Jun 2023
Yes, our restaurant is fully open. However, I think you may have stayed with us on a Saturday and as there is the big "Walking Street Festival" every Saturday afternoon and evening we close our restaurant for half a day. It gives a chance for our staff to have a rest, and there is simply no point in competing with the many, many stalls with delicious food at the festival. I am glad you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to your return. Julian, Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jamie R wrote a review Oct 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom5 contributions13 helpful votes
We didn't get the chance to stay here, but Julian went out of his way for us to find out about the Chinese Dragon Dance Festival (Sing Toe Festival) held in Nong Khai in late October. Even though he wasn't in town his wife popped around to the Chinese school to enquire and shared all the details to help plan our trip. Speaks volumes about the kind of people running the place and I wouldn't hesitate to book if we were visiting (unfortunately we'll miss the festival as don't arrive in TH in time).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Augie March wrote a review Sept 2022
Sydney, Australia239 contributions130 helpful votes
If your looking for something different to the multi-story plastic sanitized hotel then try here. Each room is a separate cabin type affair. The lodgings have a Thai flavor and are basic and somewhat worn. As others have said beds are in the solid category. Nevertheless, the garden setting and closeness to the river is brilliant. The night we stayed the night market with food, clothing and other items was but a two minute walk away. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I could have sat out in the covered eating area all day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lindsey H wrote a review Aug 2022
Calgary, Canada17 contributions10 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay at the Mut Mee Garden Guesthouse. We had a regular villa with our own bathroom and it was basic but clean and well laid out. The grounds at Mut Mee are fantastic, you are right off the walking path on the Mekong with beautiful views at sunset. The common areas are shady with good fans and were a really comfortable place to relax and visit with other guests and the owners. The staff at Mut Mee are incredibly helpful and friendly and really helped make it a great stay. The only drawback to the stay was that we found the bed to be quite uncomfortable, you could feel every spring in the mattress and it was quite hard. Other than that I would definitely recommend Mut Mee if you are planning to stay in Nong Khai.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
madtat wrote a review May 2022
Riverside, Rhode Island1320 contributions138 helpful votes
+1
Arrived here first visit well into my 2nd month of Thai travel. Occupancy here post Covid was spotty at best. Thai’s still under mandatory mask law. Mostly Brits and Thai’s vacationing. I stayed in one of the pricier rooms with a/c and a view but pricier here is still a bargain at $25 US a night. The room was modest in size but plenty big for one person with an equally well sized bathroom. Good size balcony at entrance facing river. Great working small fridge. A/c was weak but powerful fan made up for it. Shower and toilet both good. Bed Thai very firm. Housekeeping very friendly and efficient as were all front desk staff. The grounds are nicely decorated with natural vegetation and assorted artwork. There are several covered areas to plug in laptops and iPhones while you stay out of your room. With a decent amount of rain in May, the mosquitoes were bothersome even during the day, anywhere there was shade. One of my biggest disappointments was finding out the restaurant was closed indefinitely and had been for sometime. There is no mention of that on Hotels.com and in fact the amazing International restaurant is mentioned four times. That’s an issue. I strategically stay where I can eat breakfast as opposed to having to leave the property to travel who knows how far to eat. Fortunately there is great breakfast on a limited menu at Macky’s a 15 minute walk on the river. Let me just get a couple more negatives out of the way so we can finish on a high note. There is a neighbor adjacent to to the property, only an arms length away, with several dogs and some domestic issues. I stayed several nights and was woken every night, more than once, by either the dogs, yelling, music or all of the above. I live in the city with obnoxious neighbors and I have dogs so the dogs didn’t really phase me but the neighbors screaming at 6am was way past annoying. Not Mut Mees fault by any means but like the restaurant that really isn’t open . . . Guests need to know before they come. One last thing that is a Thai staple is lizards; the small, medium & large Ching Chok. The hotel is a really beautiful rustic group of buildings. I love the tile work in the bathroom and especially the very unique shower. Because of the thatched roof and some deterioration around the roof line, my unit was very accessible to lizards. I don’t have a problem with lizards per say, I just don’t like them in the room. Yes they eat bugs including mosquitoes and the many ants that gather at the bathroom sink but I would rather deal with a couple of bugs than the mess the lizards make with their droppings. It’s on the walls , floor, my bed cover, the bathroom sink and in my soap dish. Yes I’ve seen my share ofThai lizards but this became an unhealthy environment. Once again out of the control of the owners to curb the potty geckos with the rustic construction but something to consider. That aside, after spending a great deal of time walking around the the city and the riverfront, in my opinion Mut Mee has the best central location to everything that’s happening; direct waterfront, the extremely long boardwalk (promenade) with several restaurants at one end plus a good sized enclosed street market running behind the restaurants and extending even farther. If you like walking or biking for exercise it’s a great location combined with a variety of restaurant choices and shopping next to the Mekong. If not for my few negatives I would easily give this lodging 5 stars instead of 4. A good hotel doesn’t have to resemble the Hilton to earn 5 stars if it’s got character and charm and employees that greet you every day with a smile and the sincere desire to ensure you’re happy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Room A overlooking river is worth shelling out a few extra baht. It’s away from the neighbors...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Mut Mee Garden Guest House
Responded 14 May 2022
I am very sorry about our restaurant. During Covid we were only able to keep on 5 staff out of the 22 staff that we had previously empolyed. It was a disaster and we at one point felt we may not be able to continue at all. Costs to keep the business alive at all were spiraling out of control, but the human cost of having to say goodbye to people who were kind and generous over many years was terrible. One of the first things that had to go was the restaurant. We simply had no customers to keep them employed. We have on two occasions now tried to reinstate the restaurant. Once at the end of 2020 and once last year. On both occasions it was a disaster. So for a long time it was very difficult to say when it would reopen, and as the online travel agencies are very slow to post information, we just couldn't say much about it. We have now decided that there is no point in reopening the restaurant in the slow months of May and June, but we may try in July and August... however these traditionally are only a little bit stronger than the May June period. Definitely we will have it open again in October and there is every indication that we will be completely back to normal by then. I am sorry about the animal life, that is something beyond our control! All the very best, Julian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A Tripadvisor Member wrote a review Feb 2022
I spent ten days recently at Mut Mee, in late January 2022. What a lovely, lovely place. The room I stayed in was clean, cool, and had a patio with views up over the promenade and across the Mekong. The bed was great for me, a hard-mattress fan, and I couldn't have been happier. Service is perfect: cheerful, welcoming, and a little hands-off, as befits a guest house rather than a hotel: so you make your own bed, but there is always someone to help with anything you might need. The garden was glorious, with meticulous landscaping, a profusion of flowers, and thatch-roofed open pavilions which made a perfect place to hop on line and do work. I loved seeing how the garden was open to and used not only by guests but by residents of the town. Nong Khai itself is a sweet small city; I think it's suffering because of the extended closure of the border with Laos, but to me as a visitor the quietness had its own appeal. For foreigners, there are significant bureaucratic obstacles and uncertainties involved with traveling to Thailand now... but Mut Mee is a destination worthy of the journey. I can't wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stockmktgenius1 wrote a review Dec 2021
Udon Thani, Thailand6 contributions7 helpful votes
Beautiful. Friendly- every meal there was someone interesting to talk to. Manager friendliest I’ve ever met. Right overlooking the Mekong River. A lovely riverwalk runs along the property. Take it and find a gourmet restaurant (or a fish joint) overlooking the world. Room looked like a honeymoon suite. Double bed 700. Superior 900. We’ve stayed at plenty of other hotels in NK. Wish we’d found this sooner. A special place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Spend 3 days- 2 isn’t enough!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Mut Mee Garden Guest House
Responded 11 Dec 2021
Thank you so very much. I am so glad you found us friendly, for us, it is as much about making friends. Do hope we see you again. Julian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Des P wrote a review Nov 2021
Sydney, Australia1073 contributions187 helpful votes
What a great little place I opted for this hotel based on the location. Close to walking Street close to the Market's not too far from the train station or the bus station located right on the Mekong River. Teh staff are excellent. Great place and area to relax. Cycle around the MeKong do a day or two Laos, talk to the locals, visit a market. It's a different Thailand here compared to the bigger cities. Worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Joe K wrote a review Feb 2021
Paris, France159 contributions85 helpful votes
One of the best places to stay in Nong Khai. I love Mut Mee's homey feel with its lots of trees. You can step out of your room and jog along the river. The place has an open plan but you still have privacy. Julian is friendly and listens to what you need. Wifi works well. Hope to be back there soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nong Khai area.
PRICE RANGE
£8 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mut mee guest house hotel nong khai
LOCATION
ThailandNong Khai ProvinceNong Khai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MUT MEE GARDEN GUEST HOUSE - Updated 2024 Prices (Nong Khai, Thailand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mut Mee Garden Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Mut Mee Garden Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Wat Pho Chai (0.6 miles), Tha Sadet Market (0.4 miles), and Nong Khai Muay Thai Gym (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mut Mee Garden Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mut Mee Garden Guest House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mut Mee Garden Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mut Mee Garden Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ca Phe Viet Restaurant & Coffee, Macky's Riverside Kitchen, and Mai's Bar-Restaurant.
Is Mut Mee Garden Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Nong Khai.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mut Mee Garden Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Mut Mee Garden Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sala Kaew Ku (Wat Khaek) (2.6 miles).
Does Mut Mee Garden Guest House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.