We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 353: English reviews
Start your review of Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
 Click to rate
Manchester (UK)
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

It is a very nice hotel and the staff looks after you! the room was very clean. I am usually scared of insects but it was very clean and one of the staff members came with me to the room to check before i went to sleep as he knew i was scared. It is a very beautiful place and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my 2nd holiday to Tunamaya, the best place to stay in Tioman island especially if you are here for diving!. Very happy with the rooms near the beach, sound of ocean will make you fall in love with the resort and location is amazing. Food was amazing, Love most satay satay satay. It's great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aqtaufiq
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would say a great service by the whole team.. I check in to Tunamaya on 10th feb and checkout on 12th Feb. But after checkout, we waited for the ferry at genting vilage. At that point,only I realised that they were no ferry to mersing jetty because of the strong winds and high tide. I quickly called tunamaya to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annsilia
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly staff & beautiful location. The rooms we're very spacious, well equipped & very clean. Mattress was very hard though!Overall we had a wonderful stay, however there were a couple of things that could have been better. Movie night was shown in the open area by the dining room. Volume was so loud it intruded on guests as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicksC4252GC
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to this resort to do some training with colleagues could not of picked a more Idyllic location.we took a one hour boat trip from nursing to the island the view as we got close to the island was amazing. From the moment we stepped foot on the island the staff were amazing from simple things like looking after the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel k
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very warm resort suitable for short quiet get away. Nice short stretch of sandy beach which was a black tips shark nursery. A good variety of menu selection, though the food served were always cold. Seems it was pre prepared way in advanced and there was no consistency in the taste.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mir_wayferer
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I used to be a seamen so I tried to avoid beaches & islands during my vacation but love to go mountains & enjoy hiking.. Initially this trip is just to satisfy my lovely wife & since she show me a small rain forest & mountains behind the hotel, I've no other choice ... but unexpectedly we've very much wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nyiphonemin
TunamayaT_Marcoms, General Manager at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi nyiphonemin, Sunshine Greetings from Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort! It was certainly our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay with us :) At Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort Tioman Island, we always treat our guest as VIP and we will make sure your holidays will be memorable. I am glad to heard that you are happy with our...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights and 4 days in Tunamaya beach and spa resort. I would say it was a great short vacation. I did my diving lesson got my certificate. My instructor (Hussein) was the best instructor ever! First diving ever in my life. Friendly staff too. Very quite and relaxing for me and my Boyfriend. No internet connection inside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simple_me88
TunamayaT_Marcoms, General Manager at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi simple_me88, Sunshine Greetings from Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort! It was certainly our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay with us :) I am happy to know that you got your diving licence at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort, and enjoyed your snorkeling too. :) On behalf of the team, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back...

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We chose Tunamaya for its rainforest location and duplex style villas. The cost was extremely reasonable for beachfront villas, wooden houses that sit less than 15 feet from the water. The spa is a must-do, especially the relaxing massages. It sits high in the treetops, where monkeys tend to linger, so be camera prepared! Scuba shop extremely knowledgeable, snorkeling available...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bryana H
TunamayaT_Marcoms, General Manager at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Bryana H, Sunshine Greetings from Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort! It was certainly our pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay with us :) I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stayed with us. We understand that we can create more activities for the children, and yes: we will plan something for that! :) Thank you for...

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Rooms were nice but for that kind of price (6-star luxury rating), I've had better. Restaurant food was good but not great. Try have variety, though and lots of Western cuisine options. It's secluded so you get lots of privacy but that also means you're stuck here without any other options. You can take a boat out to the "town...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jeaniecyl
TunamayaT_Marcoms, General Manager at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jeanicyl, Sunshine Greetings from Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort Tioman Island. Thank your for your kind feedback especially about our food. We really appreciate it so much. Thank you for all the tips you've shared and we also will keep on talk and discuss with the ferry company to make their services better in the future as we also...

1,010 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (693)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (279)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (307)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Beach Cluster Villa (37)
Viewed
Beach Villa (50)
Viewed
Partial Family Villa (41)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Rainforest Villa (84)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
3.6 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
476 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
63 reviews
5.1 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#5 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a rainforest at the southern tip of Tioman Island, Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort Tioman Island and its private beach provide a lush escape for sun seekers. With the island's serenity enveloping the resort, and with sights that include a view of the island's approximately 1,000 year old rainforest terrain, our resort's 54 villas are blessed with a natural ambience that's difficult to beat. Choose from villas with sea views, rainforest views or garden views and go face to face with marine life and admire soft corals, sea urchins, turtles, clown fish and even reef sharks in the clear turquoise waters in front of the resort.The resort also has Tioman Island's only infinity pool for seaside lounging, and it provides activities like jungle trekking (towards Asah Waterfalls and the twin peaks) and pizza making and batik painting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort

Address: Lot 20 & 21, Kg Sarang Burung,Mukim Tioman, Kampung Mukut, Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Price Range: £98 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a view to the sea”
 of 5 bubbles dagvan, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for room at the front, most beautiful sea view”
 of 5 bubbles aqtaufiq, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rainforest is more quite than Beach Villa. Don't expect WiFi signal from your room.”
 of 5 bubbles nyiphonemin, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Very cosy and comfy! ”
 of 5 bubbles Norbaiti, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for beach/sea view, you won't regret.”
 of 5 bubbles JohorTimes, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5