We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Hostelworld.comUS$16*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
Herzele, Belgium
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Just what you need. Came in late but still got place. Friendly personel, also arranged a tour to kinabatangan. The hostel is not expensive, very clean and has cold rooms to have a good sleep. Excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pieter G
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Pieter We hope you enjoyed your stay at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers and have a great time in Kinabatangan. We hope to see you again! Cheers Jonathan

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in a triple room and the staff were amazing, super helpful and even cooked us breakfast! Room was great with fan AND aircon, choice of a hot shower (not that you want one cos the weather is so hot anyway). Cheap rate, great staff, great rooms and excellent location. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sandakan.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JHelD
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jheid Thank you so much for the compliment! We hope you enjoyed your stay at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, and do drop by if you’re visiting Sabah again! Cheers Jonathan

Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

These guys know how to do it. Very helpful, nice breakfast containing eggs being made for you , big TV with x-box, a computer with great wifi, a catalogue with every sights nearby etc.The rooms are clean and the location is great. I can't find a single bad thing about this hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Alexander We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers. Thanks for taking the time to drop a few kind words for us! We hope to see you again! Enjoy the remaining of your holiday :) Cheers Jonathan

Pieve a Nievole, Italy
Reviewed 22 July 2015

The trip was fine, the place was good. The room was clean. The only thing that I disliked is that the staff forgot to refund my deposit for the key. So, if you go here, it is better that you don't leave the money for deposit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Messina_Nicola
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Messina_Nicola Thank you! We hope you enjoyed your stay at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers! And we hope to see you again, do visit again! From our experience, we never had never refund the key deposit unless the guests didn't return the key to us or they lost the key. I will definitely check on it and if its really our...

Goroka, Papua New Guinea
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

They went out of their way to accommodate us. Flowers on the bed to celebrate our honeymoon. Excellent breakfast. Staff were helpful and on hand to help always. Our hosts were welcoming and friendly. The room was spacious. First hot shower for us in 6 weeks! Wifi very good - even got it in the room. Very central harbour location....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Humpingtons
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Humpingtons We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers. Thanks for taking the time to drop a few kind words for us! We hope to see you again! Enjoy the remaining of your holiday. Hope you have a great honeymoon. Cheers Jonathan

Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

Spotless comfortable rooms, fast wifi, clean bathrooms. Free flow tea and coffee is a bonus! Staff are so helpful and you can tell that they have an emphasis on customer service. Reasonable price - 70MYR for a twin room! Definitely stay here if you are in Sandakan!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzannah C
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Suzanna C Thank you so much for recommending us! We hope you enjoyed your stay at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, and do drop by if you’re visiting Sabah again! Cheers Jonathan

Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay in the borneo sandakan backpackers hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and there is a tour operator next door where you can book tours nice and easy. The rooms were very clean and had ac and a fan. The free breakfast in the morning was also good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip F
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Phillip F We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers. Thanks for taking the time to drop a few kind words for us! We hope to see you again! Cheers Jonathan

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 May 2015

If you are looking for a place to stay in Sandakan, stay here. Our family of five had a dorm room (6 bunks) with fan and aircon. Beds and pillows were clean and very comfortable. Bathrooms and toilets were very clean and shower was great. the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. We booked tours through them and found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank p0zzie
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey there p0zzie and family, Greetings from the sunny Sabah! Thank you so much for recommending us! We hope you enjoyed your stay at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers! Hope to see you again in the near future! Chur, Jonathan

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

We picked this hostel as we only had one night in Sandakan and just wanted something cheap and easy which this was. Its location is good in the middle of a shopping street with the shopping mall 2 minutes away. We had a private room with shared bathroom and everything was very clean. The staff were very friendly and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jenni_rad
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Howdy, Jenni_rad Thank you! We hope you enjoyed your stay at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers! And we hope to see you again, do visit again! Cheers Jonathan

Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Dorm beds very comfortable. Aircon. The stuff was amazing. Very helpful. They let me sit all day on their computer to fix my hard drive that was acting up. They also printed me insurance forms from my email free of charge. They make good breakfast and I really felt like home away from home there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haggai B
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Haggai B Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts! We hope you enjoyed your stay at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers! Hope to see you again in the not so distant future. Cheers Jonathan

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
315 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are proud to present you with the newly built Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, strategically located in Sandakan Harbour Square, a well-developed domestic area at the town of Sandakan. A couple of minutes’ walk to restaurants, banks and shops, Borneo Sandakan Backpackers offers comfortable and convenient accommodation for couples, singles, families and backpackers travelling to Sandakan.Borneo Sandakan Backpackers is directly in front of Swiss Inn Hotel. Our building is painted in red and white with a vertical red "BACKPACKERS" signboard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Address: Block HS-5, Lot 54 & 55, 1st & 2nd floor, Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Price Range: £10 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Sandakan Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borneo Sandakan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers Sabah, Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Borneo Sandakan Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better in-room WIFI is available on the first floor”
Faithalicious_x, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The doRm was great. 6 beds only but I was alone for 2 nights which felt like a private room. Airconditioned and comfi beds.”
haggaib, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Thin walls, bad sound insulation”
ekaterina280199, 1 Nov 2014 | Read review
“don't go into a dorm. If you're on a low budget go down the road to Harbourside BPs - they have nice dorms.”
HappyShake, 12 Jul 2014 | Read review
“I had a dorm room to myself which was awesome! It was ery quiet and dark (no windows) but there was a ventilation fan which kept the room fresh.”
Tee_G1301, 23 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$16* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$17
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates