We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel El Tumi

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel El Tumi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 21: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Our stay here was very comfortable with friendly service. We were here for about 5 days and we had clean serviced rooms and bedding. The hotel is nice a central and easy to walk virtually anywhere important. Noise was a bit of a problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayno171
Administracion H, Administradora at Hotel El Tumi, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Wayno, Thank you for take a time to write an opinion and choosing us for your stay in Huaraz, we hope you'll choose Hotel El Tumi the next time you are in Huaraz. Have a very nice day ! Margary Aguilar Alcántara Hotel El Tumi

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I stayed at El Tumi a couple of times during my climbing trips to Cordillera Blanca. The hotel is nice and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. El Tumi is located within 10 minutes of walk to Plaze de Armas but on a quiet street. So it is easy to get to the central Huaraz area for restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val R
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for take a time to write an opinion and choosing us for your stay in Huaraz, we hope you'll choose Hotel El Tumi the next time you are in Huaraz. Have a very nice day ! Margary Aguilar Alcántara Hotel El Tumi

uk
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I had been staying in truly awful hotels in various remote towns for work, and then came to Huaraz on the way back and heard that this place Tumi was the best in town. Well, it was fairly clean and comfortable, and had hot water, so that was just wonderful for me after days in crappy places. So although it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pirranD
Administracion H, Administradora at Hotel El Tumi, responded to this review

Dear Client, We appreciate your opinion, about your visit in our Tumi Hotel, we are working to make the experience in our hotel be unforgetable. Maybe if you return to Huaraz and come here again , you will change your experience Have a great weekend. Best Regards Margary Aguilar Alcántara Administradora Hotel El Tumi

Ternat
Reviewed 16 September 2015

place is nice clean and there is not toomatch noise during the night. The f9d in the hotel is very good and there are different kinds of breakfasts. The enterence for wheelchairs must be a little whider.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eddywillems1
Amparo B, Gerente at Hotel El Tumi, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment !! It's gratifying to know that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay in our hotel. We hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit. Best regards,

Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

We arrived very early, before 06.00pm and we didn't had a reservation but the guy from the reception was sleeping in the very comfortable lobby so he opened up for us and we could get in. We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are not big, but they are clean even as the bathroom with a very nice hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vakantier
Amparo B, Gerente at Hotel El Tumi, responded to this review

Dear Passenger, First of all thank you very much for choosing us in this opportunity, your comments are the most important reason why every day we work ..." I hope that you can repeat your wonderful experience with us again. Gladly we receive again offering the excellent service that you already know and take their suggestions. Best regards,

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

It's not far from the main square. All services working. Quite neighbourhood. Cable tv--- service good . Local channels international channels. Front desk people up to any enquieries. Taxis charge 4 soles everywhere in town. There are italian restaurants around.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ErikLu
Amparo B, Gerente at Hotel El Tumi, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Pasajero , Muchas Gracias por su comentario. Es grato para nosotros saber que tuvo una cómoda y placentera estadía...

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Room was small, noisy and a bit smelly. Although they let us in earlier than normal check in time into our room, staff was so so and they won't go out of their way for you. Not worth the price. They listed a queen size bed, but we only got a double sized bed. Food was average and servers were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoveHuanchaco
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

This city don't have too many hotels, this is good. Have a great kitchen and service to the room (in the restaurant I have some bad experiences). Is near to all the important places in the city, like banks, police station, markets, city hall, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedro V
Rexburg, Idaho
Reviewed 18 October 2014

We stayed here for three nights while doing work in Huaraz. We had a larger room which was ok. It is very dated. It was clean. The bathroom had a terrible odor. It was a sewer gas smell. The toilet would not work. Fortunately there was a public one at the bottom of the second floor stairs which we would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mezollinger
Amparo B, Gerente de Ventas at Hotel El Tumi, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for rating our hotel. I have no words to express my concerns after reading your comments. I will look into this so as to find out what could have happen. Your comments will help us improve our services. Sincerely, Amparo Bulnes Sales Manager Hotel El Tumi

Yungay, Peru
Reviewed 6 June 2014

After really enjoying our stay, we had one minor hiccup with a shower that wouldn't get hot. They said they would be up right away and never came until I finally called back down to tell them it was now at least lukewarm and I was showering in it, not to bother. We were checking out and were told there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ross574

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
0.5 mi away
La Casa de Zarela
La Casa de Zarela
#2 of 16 in Huaraz
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arawi Pastoruri Hotel
Arawi Pastoruri Hotel
#5 of 16 in Huaraz
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Joya
Hotel La Joya
#15 of 16 in Huaraz
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galaxia
Hotel Galaxia
#7 of 16 in Huaraz
91 reviews
12.7 mi away
Cuesta Serena Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
San Sebastian Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Huaraz, El Tumi Hotel gives you the most warm stay, with a personalized service and everything you need to make your stay the best you could have in Huaraz. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Tumi

Address: Jr. San Martin 1121, Huaraz 02000, Peru
Region: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Price Range: £32 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Tumi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel El Tumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Tumi staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Tumi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“tird floor there is a theras with a view on the huascaran”
 of 5 bubbles eddywillems1, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“wifi was very slow”
 of 5 bubbles LoveHuanchaco, 28 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Avoid rooms facing Avenue San Matins (main). Even a 22 hours has a little traffic .. nothing that is a hard traffic of the big city ..”
 of 5 bubbles Fernando_Vasques, 5 Aug 2013 | Read review
“There seem to be some rooms that don't overlook the street or the garage, you'd better ask to have one of them.”
 of 5 bubbles CCCTUK, 28 Apr 2012 | Read review
“Doubles face inside, Twins are a bit more spacious and face the street. Ask for a high floor (piso alto) to avoid traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Vitzi, 27 Oct 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay