We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel
View Map

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 111: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were moved here when our hotel was overbooked. In dire need of maintenance. Pool area uninviting with paper cigarettes and rubbish left on ground as staff just step around it and broken daybeds are scattered around. Breakfast was cold but good fruit selection. Rooms not cleaned properly but upside beds were comfortable. Unbelievably overpriced.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely dirty floor in the room, a white piece of paper turned black!!! Complained and housekeeping came with a broom... Washed the floor with an extremely dirty mop - guess what; floor is still extremely dirty, our feet becomes black of dirt when walking on the floor... A/C had to be fixed by maintenance, this was with success...

Rabot1956, General Manager at Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Aasland Olav, We are very grateful for your valuable feed back and do appreciate your patronage of The Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel. We do apologize for not exceeding to your expectations. Our team members are committed to meet with the highest standards of services. As you have experienced the room you were occupying is a direct sea view and should...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Let me start with the positives, the location is sensational and going to sleep hearing the waves crashing was amazing, the beach out the front is also lovely for an early morning swim. Staff are lovely even when having to deal with the loads of complaints. It would not take much for the owners of this hotel to fix it...

Rabot1956, General Manager at Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your kind patronage of The Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel. Your feed back is very important to us to enhance on our services and product. We acknowledge reviews positively to ensure customer satisfaction and experience. We apologize to have not met with your expectations. In reference to the buffet breakfast please note we do cater to a...

Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow, this place can't be further away from the pictures of this hotel online. The walls have mould, the bathrooms are disgusting - mould in the shower, broken and rusted toilet roll holder, soap holder by basin hanging by a loose screw. Wifi doesn't work in the rooms AT ALL, so everyone sits in the lobby. I would rather pay...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As far as beach side hotels go, this really isn't too bad. Location is fine, if not a bit away from the busiest part of the beach town which his great as its quieter at night if this is what you are after. The rooms are okay, obviously laden with sand from the beach and previous guests, the sea view...

Rabot1956, Manager at Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It will definitely improve the teams moral. Sorry about the breakfast if it did not meet with your expectations. However as disciplined hoteliers we look forward to your next visit and shall ensure total comfort and satisfaction.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reception seemed cluttered when we arrived. They did mess up our room though. we had booked it 2 weeks prior and it said sea view but when we got their it had magically been taken already and we just took the room given. The waiters were really helpful and the manager really nice. The pool was really dirty with...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as a group. Generally we had a good stay. The food at the restaurant is nice and it is a good location. Good for proximity to the beach and also has a pool with sun loungers. I am rating only 3 because our bathroom and bedroom floor was really dirty so we had to...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Pros - Excellent location, most staff are courteous, relatively clean Cons - Pathetic food quality (please avoid eating here at all costs !), restaurant doesn't serve fresh food (be it breads, rice, chicken, sea food etc.) lax management attitude, high European appeasement culture, pathetic WiFi strength, limited breakfast options, poor complaint management

Rabot1956, General Manager at Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your kind patronage of The Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel. We appreciate your positive and constructive feed back which will encourage us to further enhance and develop our services and standards. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences caused and not meeting with your expectations. Since the hotel is catering for many nationals it is difficult to maintain...

Kalubowila West, null, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Not just bad its disgusting when you go to the washrooms.. We checked in to this hotel in the evening it was ok at the beginning. We requested a cot wen we booked this hotel in advance which was not ready when we checked in. However when we went to the room it was not maintained as they said. none...

Rabot1956, Manager at Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Madawalagamage, Thank you for your kind patronage of The Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel and the feedback. We at the hotel acknowledge all guest feedback positively to enhance our facilities and services. We sincerely do apologize for any inconveniences caused. However the past reviews received have been very positive and encouraging to further develop the product and improve on team...

Negombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 29 November 2016

This hotel is located in one of the best location in Hikkaduwa. However it seems that management/owners of the hotel neglected to update its infrastructure, services and staff with modern requirements.

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.3 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#8 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
1.1 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#15 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
70 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#12 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
#14 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a breezy welcome at the newly revitalized Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel. The popular beach hotel is now an even better place for you to relax and unwind in style. Come to enjoy our enhanced sea view rooms with stylish brand new furniture, full size glass doors and balcony. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel

Address: 298 Galle Road, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Price Range: £49 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hikkaduwa
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hikkaduwa Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions

See which rooms travellers prefer

“sea view is the best”
 of 5 bubbles 371aaishahs, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great views and beach access”
 of 5 bubbles VinayakY, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Most Terrible Stay!”
 of 5 bubbles gihanim, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are with average quality”
 of 5 bubbles Prasad_Siriwardena, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the Superior room at the end on the beach”
 of 5 bubbles BoLanka, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay