We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Ocean View Cottage

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Ocean View Cottage
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 85: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for two nights. The bedsheet was dirty, no ventilation=humidity. Breakfast was cold, omelett was not fried, barely touched the frying pan . Staff was unfriendly, and would rather not be bothered . The lobby and in general the whole place was filthy. Overall a bad place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathrinesn
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We booked this hotel directly through net, and we did not face any problem; there is no need to pay in advance (maybe because we went in a lean season). The rooms were really spacious, the washroom was clean (even at the European standard), and the view from the balcony was awesome. We did not try the food there though....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maitreya1801
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Travel safe.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Unbelievably cheap accommodations for what you get - we had ocean-view rooms. When we first got there, our rooms had two extra bedsheets, enough towels for two people (and some to spare), toilet paper and a spare roll - pretty amazing, considering we often had to ask for these at the other places we'd stayed in on our trip. plus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Priya I
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Travel safe.

Karachi, Pakistan
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Loved the location. Right on the beach. You come out to a nice sandy beach. The pool was nice but a bit small. Luckily, we had it all to ourselves as there were hardly any occupants, being off-season. Rooms were not bad either. We had the sea facing rooms. The only thing I missed was the hustle hustle of busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christyrone
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Travel safe.

Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

It's a good place and next to beautifull beach. Very free area.. swiming pool is well maintained. Foods are super ! And especially owner Mr. Charith is very friendly and helpfull. You can get any help from crew. And have a walk in the beach. Security is good. But remember the sea is bit rough and its not good to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sachin y
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Travel safe.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Mihindu and his staff are friendly, accommodating, and extremely helpful! If you want a simple, no frills place to stay, this is it! Anything we needed, the staff made sure we had. We will definitely go back to enjoy the waves and friendly folks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riley D
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Travel safe.

Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The Ocean View Cottage is a hotel. Don't let the name mislead you. It's on the beach with a great view from the 2nd floor. The rooms are clean and air conditioned. It is on the busy Galle Road, as most everything in Hikkadewa is, which means you can easily jump in a tuk tuk or walk and get to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravvelKat
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Travel safe.

Nanjing, China
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

OK's Own swimming pool, direct to beach, secluded sun area, not many rooms, clean, friendly (but slow) staff. Not OK's Rooms are white and sterile, steep stairs up to bedrooms, tired/broken fittings, no bar/alcohol, restaurant is very basic & slow, it's a long walk to the main town area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyBallasb
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Travel safe.

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

I did a lot of research before settling for this hotel in Hikkaduwa and I was not disappointed. My room was huge, the bathroom was nice and the property has a cute swimming pool also which is open 24 hours. The hotel overlooks the beach although the if you want an ocean view room, you have to pay extra. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ghoshneha
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Travel safe.

SF Bay Area
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We stayed at the hotel for one night. The room was nice, however, the bathroom can use some improvement. Our room had a balcony with beautiful ocean view. There are lot of restaurants within walking distance. The staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast was basic. The wi-fi only worked in the lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddd5119
MrLDGCA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ocean View Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Travel safe.

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
1.4 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#6 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunbeach Hotel
Sunbeach Hotel
#15 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#13 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Rock by Bansei
Coral Rock by Bansei
#9 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated at the tourist paradise of Hikkaduwa, south cost of Sri Lanka. We offer 20 rooms with 10 of them offering the view of inland Sri Lanka, facing the sun raise every morning, while 10 others offering the beautiful sea view, facing the signature sunset in the evening. En-suite bathroom with hot and cold water. In room minibar. Air conditioned rooms are also available. Spacious garden with swimming pool, directly leading in to the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean View Cottage

Address: Galle road | Thiranagama, Hikkaduwa GL80244, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Price Range: £34 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ocean View Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ocean View Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Cottage Hotel Hikkaduwa
Ocean View Cottage Hikkaduwa
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ocean View Cottage staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ocean View Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book the sea-facing rooms with AC.”
 of 5 bubbles Maitreya1801, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ocean-view rooms - beautiful views!”
 of 5 bubbles Payir, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a room with balcony facing the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles ddd5119, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
“obviously, the sea-view rooms are the best - those at the front are marginally affected by traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles LittleLegs-CurlyTop, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“choose a room facing the beach”
  • OceanViewCottage
  • OceanViewCottage
 of 5 bubbles 101dianat, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay