We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Helga's Folly

    70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
     2 people are viewing this hotel
    US$100
    US$85
    SAVE US$15
    US$95
    US$100
    Traveller (475)
    Dining (85)
    Room & Suite (57)
    Overview
    • Excellent57%
    • Very good22%
    • Average6%
    • Poor6%
    • Terrible9%
    Travellers talk about
    “madame helga” (45 reviews)
    “family history” (19 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Laundry Service
    2.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$85
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$95
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$100
      View Deal
    View all 15 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (536)
    There are newer reviews for Helga's Folly
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    231 - 235 of 475 reviews

    Reviewed 22 December 2014

    We came across the most unexpected hotel when we were in Kandy , Sri Lanka in Dec 2014 , Helga’s Folly www.helkgasfolly.com . Set up on a mountainside overlooking Sri Lanka’s second largest city , Kandy it is a labour of love that is a...More

    6  Thank w h
    Response from Blythspirit77, Owner at Helga's FollyResponded 24 December 2014

    Thank you so much for your kind and very gracious review, which is much appreciated by all. So glad that you were able to understand and enjoy what 'she' had to offer. When the curtain goes down on me, I am confident that another exciting...More

    Reviewed 9 December 2014

    You cannot go to Kandy without visiting Helga's. They serve high tea which we were supposed to do as part of our tour but this did not happen as time ran out. However we did have a short visit and Madame Helga gave us a...More

    3  Thank Barbara S
    Response from Blythspirit77, Manager at Helga's FollyResponded 11 December 2014

    Dear Madam Barbara. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your gracious review, which is much appreciated. So glad that you were able to understand and enjoy the Folly, 'our home' which it is not not only to Madam Helga and her...More

    Reviewed 9 December 2014

    We had great expectations of Helga's Folly but we disappointed. On our arrival, although the décor was interesting, the complete lack of enthusiasm of the staff and the absence of other guests didn't greatly inspire us. We were shown the bedrooms which were appropriately shabby...More

    7  Thank Tony B
    Reviewed 2 December 2014

    My partner and I were taken to visit Helga's Folly by our tour guide one afternoon during our short stay in Kandy. We were enchanted by the Hotel and decided to dine at Helga's Folly that evening. So glad we did. We had the place...More

    3  Thank theweather
    Response from Blythspirit77, Owner at Helga's FollyResponded 3 December 2014

    Dear 'The weather'. Thank you so very much or taking the time and trouble to write your gracious review which is much appreciated by ALL. So very glad that you were able to understand and enjoy what HF has to offer. Sorry that we could...More

    Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

    Nice place to stay.....................nice friendly staff........................the food was great. I would stay there again. ........... I loved the decor ........................................not a bad location however the road upto it is very very dark so it can be intimidating if your alone.More

    2  Thank Paul W
    Response from Blythspirit77, Public Relations Manager at Helga's FollyResponded 27 November 2014

    Thank you so much for taking time to write your kind review Paul. So very glad that you were able to understand HF and were able to enjoy 'her'. Take care, and hope to see you back again. All the very best for Christmas and...More

    Hotel Thilanka
    1,328 reviews
    #12 of 56 hotels in Kandy
     
    Hotel Suisse
    1,110 reviews
    #14 of 56 hotels in Kandy
     
    Elephant Stables
    557 reviews
    #1 of 56 hotels in Kandy
     
    Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
    2,520 reviews
    #5 of 56 hotels in Kandy
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Laundry Service
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Outdoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$83 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #6 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
    • #8 Family Hotel in Kandy
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 15
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Helga's Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Sri Lanka >
    • Central Province >
    • Kandy District >
    • Kandy
    • Also Known As
    • Helga`s Folly Hotel Kandy ,
    • Helgas Folly Kandy ,
    • Helgas Folly Hotel Kandy
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (475)
    Dining (85)
    Room & Suite (57)
    Pool & Beach (11)
    Hotel & Grounds (310)
    Bathroom (11)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
    2,520 reviews
    2.06 miles away
     
    Hotel Thilanka
    1,328 reviews
    .43 miles away
     
    Elephant Stables
    557 reviews
    2.11 miles away
     
    Hotel Suisse
    1,110 reviews
    .29 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Natural Coffee
    598 reviews
    .73 miles away
    Balaji Dosai
    625 reviews
    .77 miles away
    Slightly Chilled Lounge Bar (Bamboo Garden)
    1,516 reviews
    .40 miles away
    The Empire Cafe
    931 reviews
    .73 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic
    8,580 reviews
    .65 miles away
    Kandy Garrison Cemetery
    393 reviews
    .56 miles away
    Kandy Lake
    2,963 reviews
    .66 miles away
    Kandy View Point
    610 reviews
    .46 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    shoes1066
    5 March 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Blythspirit77 | Property representative |
    Yes .. All reviews help us and we do take them seriously .. Thank you for your excellent site. Very best from all at the Folly.
    -1
    Votes
    Martin P
    21 July 2016|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from Blythspirit77 | Property representative |
    About 15-20 minutes.Very best from us all at Helgas Folly..
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "best views"
    Read review
    "Look out for the monkeys!"
    Read review
    "Every room has unique artwork decorating it. I like being suprised so I would select at random for this..."
    Read review
    "Don't stay!!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing