We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Hilltop

PricelineUS$46*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$60*
US$46*
US$47*
US$60*
US$46*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Hilltop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

605 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 417: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Hilltop
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Rooms are not soundproof and I was woken up very early from the outside noise although I had intended to get proper rest from the previous days journey. Staff looked surprised when informed. Average hotel and service and one should not have high expectations if staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dallas M
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was quite a disappointment for us during our 2 days stay. The hotel is quite noisy as its located up hill and near by a temple. WiFi signal was not available throughout the hotel. food was okay and the staff was doing it's best to accommodate a relaxed environment, but the loud sound from the temple was overwhelming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. Please note that the hotel is situated in the middle of the city center of Kandy; hence noise is quite...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had rooms with city view. fairly big room they were very clean. Good hospitality and foods were good with a choice. However walkways are bit slippery, Pool attendant is available. Carom and table tennis available as in door games. No garden.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting our hotel as the preferred holiday destination and we are glad to see that you have received an amazing experience. Many thanks for recommending our hotel and we are glad to see the nice comments on everything including the culinary experience and the staff members. Please do pay another visit to...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We fortunately only had to stay 1 night at this hotel. We were first offered a room overlooking the pool. The room was basic and ok but when we saw the bathroom it was disgusting. The tiles were cracked, black mildew in the shower and behind the sink and the toilet was dirty. The towels were stained and looked unwashed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
Faridabad, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice location ..Hilltop is a decent hotel which offers basic amenities.The rooms are just about OK though the bathrooms are very small (stayed in a standard room) The food is very good and the staff were very polite. Just a small advise - the hotel is on a small hill and the climb if you walk is very steep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajit13
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We hope that you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back and assure you of delivering our superior service at all times. Yours Sincerely, Senani Perera, General Manager, Hotel Hilltop, Kandy.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We selected this hotel expecting a great service as done in the past. We were offered a room with an awful smell. When complained, the front office sent a person with an air freshener?? As our son and my father could not bear the smell, we complained again and got another room. The bathrooms were not up to the standard....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Upali K
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,      Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Whilst thanking you for addressing the concerns you had during your stay, we truly apologize for the inconvenience caused. We truly apologize on the concern with regards to bad odour; please be informed that we will take measures at our earliest to...

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the Hilltop. It was a nice experience given the fact that while the setting and view is great, one just can't venture out on foot to take in the sounds and smell of the city. The staff was generously courteous but a bit aloofish. Surprisingly housekeeping staff though eager had a hard time with English. Took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Babur I
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,      Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Whilst thanking you for addressing the concerns you had during your stay. We are surprised that you had to face inconveniences in requesting a bottle opener which is a common request by the guests; however, we apologize on the oversights.     We hope...

Carshalton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We were surprised to find such a large modern hotel had no lift. We had to go down 4 flights of stairs to our room. The room itself was fine but very noisy with constant honking from the street below. The coup de grace was the call to prayer at 5.00am which lasted for nearly an hour both nights we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat B B
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest,      Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Whilst thanking you for addressing the concerns you had during your stay, we truly apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please note the hotel is situated in the center of the city of Kandy, amidst many religious places; hence the noise. We are...

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Very good experience. Great staff, very involved. The food was nice, so was the view. We stayed here for 2 days and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. I will definitely recommend any friends visiting Kandy to check it out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank balmukundsinha
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We assure you our best services at all times. Yours Faithfully, Senani...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Every thing was good as per a 3 star hotel. City view is not good at day time as it is an eye sore. The night view was eye catching.The room was clean & nice & comfortable & quite large. Ample tea coffee sachets should be provided. When we requested a whole lot was sent to the room. We booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrishanthi P
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us which pave us way for further improvement. We hope that you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back and assure you of delivering our superior service at...

394 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (365)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 52 in Kandy
672 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 52 in Kandy
923 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 52 in Kandy
1,223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 52 in Kandy
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#44 of 52 in Kandy
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get the basement rooms going down near the reception hall. It was very loud and struggled to sleep.”
upalik2016, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Naybe higher rooms are quieter than lower ones”
PatBB_13, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request for a room with a nice view of the mountains if it is available. City view is an eye sore during the day.”
ChrishanthiP, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Standard A/c rooms are not good for the price they offer”
dilankaa2015, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better view. Good to check with the hotel before going as they do not adjust rooms after you've checked-in.”
651garimap, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$46* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$47
TripAdvisorUS$46
HotelQuicklyUS$60
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates