The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa

Animal dirt and mosquito eggs outside the window
Traveller (394)
The view from room 108 and 109 and the Parakrama Samudra in the horizon
Room & Suite (133)
The breath-taking surroundings, including the pool and view of the Parakrama Samudra lake and beyond
Pool & Beach (67)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#9 of 17 hotels in Polonnaruwa
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa is designed to give you a one-of-a-kind experience. Being located right next to Parakrama Samudra, every room has a breath-taking view of the reservoir. Thanks to the nature-oriented approach of the hotel, our guests have the opportunity to see wild elephants, who come close to the premises, from their rooms. Our guests can also enjoy bird watching and observe fishermen at the Parakrama Samudra. Making use of the beauty of Parakrama Samudra, the infinity pool is created to appear as if it is continuing from the reservoir. Complementing the rich heritage surrounding the hotel, our dining options include authentic Sri Lankan dishes while the Western cuisine is available upon request.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycle tours
Kids pool
Concierge
Secured parking
Internet
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English, Sinhala

Location

New Town, Polonnaruwa 51000 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Sigiriya Air Force Base Airport
18.3 mi
See all flights
China Bay Airport
44.4 mi
See all flights
533Reviews1Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 184
  • 94
  • 54
  • 59
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Adrián Manzanares wrote a review Jun 2023
Doha, Qatar
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, I would like to highlight the location of the hotel. It is located in front of the Theppam Channel. The views are astonishing. We could see some buffalos crossing the channel but sometimes it is possible to see elephants as well. The hotel is also very close to Polonarruwa's ancient city and the food was also very good. The hotel is not very cozy and definitely it is not the cleanest. The swimming pool was green. Insects were everywhere as the hotel is just next to a lake. The staff were not very attentive. They didn't clean our room and didn't ask if we needed clean towels. They were also helpful and recommended us a very good guide to visit Minneriya. At some point, they ended up being a little annoying with their jokes and behaviour. For its price and location, I would say it's not a bad option for a short stay in Polonarruwa.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Junhi wrote a review Mar 2020
New Delhi, India
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived exhausted as i travelled from Colombo to Kandy the day before by car and again from Kandy to Polonnaruwa: morning time driving and afternoon, meetings and site visits. It has a fantastic location and offered a perfect environment to relax. Staff was very friendly and offered personalized service. Food is also good. New Manager Anton is reachable any time and friendly. I will definitely go back at my next trip to Polonnaruwa.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: each room has a different setting, i know only the room I was: Eramandu. It has a quite spacious...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Asitha G wrote a review Dec 2018
Colombo, Sri Lanka
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This small hotel is located on the edge of one of the largest lake and just a few minute drive from the ancient city center. The staff was friendly and felt like they do care lot for the visitors. This was experienced from the reception to the restaurant.

The rooms were kept very clean with a lovely view of the lake. You could experience wild elephants swimming across the lake to the hotel garden if you are lucky on certain days. The hotel offers limited facilities, but, whatever offered was of acceptable quality.

Variety of food offered was tasty with many local menus. Even though the stay was short, our family enjoyed the location and the hospitality of the staff members.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duminda W wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a great hotel at great place. It was well maintained by the previous management. However sad to say that this place is now turned to ruin. Bath Rooms are full of mold. Staff very unprofessional. No staff available until 8 30 morning. I have been used this hotel for last 13 years but sadly currently the management is let it to die. Amazing place with nice pool. Tourist board Sri Lanka should reconsider about the current contract before they bulldoz the entire property
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lokendra A wrote a review Jun 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Poor service, reception had mosquito larvae and had to wait one hour in sweltering heat in lobby for rooms. Poorly maintained. Even though our arrival was informed one hour in advance the hotel staff was not ready.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chamara Karunatilake wrote a review Aug 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night at this hotel. Service and the food were good. But the rooms were below par. There was no TV in the room, malfunctioning A/C and a leaking bathroom sink. Had a really hard time sleeping due to the A/C issue. The pool was out of service. This is a hotel which can be improved up to a very high standard. But I guess poor management has let it down to the current state.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karuwe wrote a review Jan 2020
Munich, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place, fantastic food, wonderful staff, super location just ideal to discover all sites of Polonnaruwa, very romantic sunset at the wonderful lake. We absolutely loved the hotel.
Best price/value in Sri Lanka!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Himaru78 wrote a review Aug 2023
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible place to be. The staff is totally unprofessional and clad in casual clothes. The hotel is no better than a wayside cheap Inn.

There was a outdoor wedding with loud music which ran pass the midnight and the management had no control over it!

I do not recommend the place at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not book this place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gayan w wrote a review Mar 2018
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not go to The Lake Hotel if you don't want to waste your hard earned money. Give it to charity instead. I was checked in at 3:30pm but they were unable to give me a room with a proper air-con until 6pm. All air-conditions were either broken or not maintained properly. They said they were over heated. Reception staff was very unprofessional in all aspects. I had to ask for a porter and welcome drink. Waited more than 30 mins in the reception desk for no reasons. Manager was friendly, but he was unable to help us at all, instead asked us to move out to another new hotel managed by them and asked us to pay the excess fee. They ruined our trip. We had lots of plans to do on Polonnaruwa, but we ended up staying sleepless. We were in B&B but we skipped the Break first because the dining area was full of bad smell and spider nets. Room walls were full of patches and dirty marks and insects. We found many insects under the bed sheet and pillow cases. TV had no working channels. No Wifi in the room area. Bath room lock was broken. Shower floor tiles was broken with holes, there was a big cockroach and a little frog inside the hole. Taps were tapped as a cover-up. Toilet cover seat was small and not properly fit-in to the toilet base, hens it was very difficult to sit on that seat. Tower hanger was just above the toilet. There were hundreds of mosquito eggs in the window and inside the pool. There was a light holder without a bulb. Hotel staff agreed about the dirtiness and complained about their own room service. When i complained about the bad smell, they sprayed very strong Air freshness many times inside the room, and it was very hard to breath. Overall this is my worst hotel experience in Sri lanka.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manusha-fdo wrote a review Apr 2015
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family visited this hotel 15th April. I made a reservation through their official website. When I got in to hotel at around 3.30 evening they said it's fully booked and I had been transferred their another hotel. Which is better than The lake polonnaruwa. I had no idea what they mean by much better. The hotel have no swimming pool or a things to do my kids. Even I satyed nearly 3 hours in The Lake polonnaruwa hotel with my family and kid's who are extremely tired the hotel staff didn't even bother to offer a welcome drink or a simple glass of water. I stayed till morning in that given hotel and left.
This massage not only for my sri lankan friends but for the people who visit sri lanka to spend their holiday. This is not a reliable hotel for your reservation. Don't spoil or waste your vacation for these kind of irresponsible hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christopher R, Front Office Manager at The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa
Responded 4 May 2015
Dear valued Guest, Thank you for your time comments on Tripadvisor, of your experience on your stay at THE LAKE. We apologize to any inconvenience caused to you. Being honest we had a technical issue in operation and is a well aware and did are best in upgrading you to a better room accommodation in person, informing that you could use the pool facility at will. Some of what you had stated is an aggravation purposely with adverse comments trying to influence other guest not to come over and that will not work. However many thanks for staying with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Himaru78 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Colombo, Sri Lanka10 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book this place."
Read full review
Junhi wrote a tip Mar 2020
New Delhi, India13 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"each room has a different setting, i know only the room I was: Eramandu. It has a quite spacious room with a sitting corner."
Read full review
ghislainey2014 wrote a tip Feb 2019
Oxford, United Kingdom20 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ground floor rooms have a terrace and just as good a view."
Read full review
Suranjani W wrote a tip Jan 2019
Sri Jayawardenepura, Sri Lanka26 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request for a room overlooking the Parakrama Samudraya."
Read full review
PrasadJ wrote a tip Dec 2018
Kandy, Sri Lanka61 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Select a Room at Ground floor"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Polonnaruwa area.
PRICE RANGE
£149 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaNorth Central ProvincePolonnaruwa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LAKE HOTEL POLONNARUWA - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa
Which popular attractions are close to The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa?
Nearby attractions include Gal Vihara (3.0 miles), Polonnaruwa Vatadage (1.7 miles), and Polonnaruwa (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jaga Food, Priyamali Gedara, and Rasa Bojun Gedara.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Sinhala.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Polonnaruwa (1.8 miles), Lankathilaka Image House (2.8 miles), and Sathmahal Prasada (1.8 miles).
Does The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
All Polonnaruwa HotelsPolonnaruwa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PolonnaruwaHotels near The Lake Hotel Polonnaruwa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire