We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Matamanoa Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Matamanoa Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

998 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 769: English reviews
Start your review of Matamanoa Island Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stunning island, great diving, great food, fantastic people. The island itself is beautiful & the rooms are great value for the price you pay. BUT - The best thing about the island is the people, the staff are very friendly. If you enjoy a drink or two after a hard day on the beach then look for Sia & Joe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig F
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I don't even know where to start. From my arrival and greeting (complete with a beach welcoming ceremony and fresh fruit juice / cool cleansing towel) to my very tearful departure, I was immediately treated like family at the resort. My room was beautiful and fully accommodated my needs (I know people like to go on and on about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cupcakelovah
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review

Vinaka, we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit

Montreal
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had to cancel my reservation 1 month in advance because I found out I was pregnant and they do not recommend to go to Fiji while pregnant because of the virus Zika. I informed them as soon as I found out but they refused to refund the hotel room charges for the 3 nights I had reserved. This hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank camilla8899Montreal
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review

Camilla, not quite correct, and the booking conditions when you booked clearly stated that the time for cancellation had passed and no refund would be given. Matamanoa offered you a credit to use at a later date. It it your responsibility to ensure or your travel agent's to have adequate travel insurance prior to travel. Vinaka

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of 6 stayed on Matamanoa in January to celebrate my mothers birthday. It was everything we could hope for and more. From beginning to end the whole experience was incredible. Snorkling is amazing, private plunge pools and day beds a luxury, and friendly staff who provided great service during our stay. I would recommend Matamanoa to anyone and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabarrett90
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review
Google Translation

Vinaka

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our stay here despite of the weather being a bit inconsistent, but it was the wet season. The people and service were great but even better with a please and thankyou so be polite it doesn't cost anything.The island was beautiful. Despite reading other revues about the lack of variety of menu options we found there were plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Glenn G
Liverpool, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband visited matamanoa resort as part of our honeymoon for 4 nights. We arrived on the south sea cruise in the morning and were greeted warmly by the matamanoa staff. They had carried our bags and provided us wet towels and cold drink on arrival. We booked the beach front villa, and were transported to the villa...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisha992
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recommended for couples and newlyweds. Such a great place to forget about everything and just live for the moment. Great food and great staff. Very happy staff serving from morning to dark. Bures with own pools. A must to be holiday place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacoro L
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review

Vinaka

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have to say we had a very enjoyable stay at Matamanoa Island. The staff were beautiful, climate superb, water and reef was something out of finding Nemo. We were there in January so we did have the crying nocturnal birds but they didn't bother us to much. The snorkelling was my highlight! Not many places you can go in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julianacampbell
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Where do I start to review such a beautiful island? My now husband and I fell in love with Fiji when we stayed at the Outrigger on the lagoon 4 years ago and did a day trip on Castaway Island resort. I promised myself next time we came back we would stay on the islands :) Matamanoa was honestly the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Paulette1111
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review
Google Translation

Vinaka

Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The bad impressions started when the hotel staff recommended a VERY bad hotel in Nadi for our overnight stay before catching the helicopter the next morning. Tokatoka resort - just don't go there!! We arrived at Matamanoa by helicopter and the first thing we were greeted at the landing space was sewage. As I said, we were paying Maldive prices...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SaraSara2515
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula vinaka, whilst this is a very negative post of your experience on the Island, and we do welcome feedback even feedback this negative, let me attempt to put this into perspective. I can't comment on Tokatoka Resort but we always recommend a selection of mainland hotels, it's your final choice. You arrived on a helicopter @ 1000 hours or...

1,752 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1717)
Viewed
Room/Suite (182)
Viewed
View from Room (179)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (213)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (303)
Viewed
Dining (95)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (739)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamanoa Island
12.6 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
664 reviews
16.0 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
408 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
821 reviews
7.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
853 reviews
21.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Matamanoa Island rated 4 star, is an intimate and secluded, adults only Fijian Resort. We are set in the beautiful Mamanuca Islands approximately 30 kilometers west of Nadi International Airport - experience a true gift of nature. The Island boasts a volcanic cone jutting out of the azure waters of this unspoiled marine sanctuary. Clad with native bush and palm trees, the brilliance of the vegetation contrasts magnificently with the white curved sandy beaches and pristine coral reefs. Combined with nature, we have created a haven for those who want to relinquish the pressures of a busy lifestyle. This is for those who dream of peace and tranquility. To achieve this special atmosphere, Matamanoa Island Resort has adopted a year round policy of not permitting day-trippers or children under the age of 16 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matamanoa Island Resort

Address: Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Matamanoa Island
Price Range: £217 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matamanoa Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Matamanoa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matamanoa Island Hotel Matamanoa Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matamanoa Island Resort staff and other travellers.
58 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (58)

Questions? Get answers from Matamanoa Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Splash out for a room with a plunge pool.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a villa with a pool and stay nearer the main resort during bird mating season they are quieter.”
  • Villa 15
  • Day Break View From Villa Deck
  • Our Pool and Day Bed
 of 5 bubbles GlennG954, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Villa 6 - Very Private and a little away from the main area.....however not an issue as all rooms are fabulous!”
 of 5 bubbles rosievaccaro, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No need any tip to choose a good room. This is how good it is!”
 of 5 bubbles 26elsiec, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Beach front!”
 of 5 bubbles brittanyg619, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5