We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 25: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our last hotel on the trip,golf course resort. Very large cold foyer, patchy wifi, absolutely nothing around the hotel as in shops or restaurants. Breakfast selection ran out when I asked staff about refilling items they said none left.

Helpful?
Thank Terry-ann C
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The rooms in this hotel are in need of refurbishment. They are very dated and most of the woodwork is chipped around handles, sockets are coming off the walls and the lighting control panel by the bed is upside down. This is probably as it has fallen off the wall before. There is also a clear language barrier between staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank RaoulDJ
Chris S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. We apologize that you did not have a perfect guest experience with us. We are renovating our guest room recently. Hope to welcome you in the future and you can see our improvements. Thanks again for your stay. More 

Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The location is far away from the downtown Shanghai. Stayed there for 2 nights in a golf course view room. The road to the hotel was dark at night and it's in the middle of nowhere. No convenience store nearby the hotel within walking distance. The room was standard and wifi was signal was a bit weak in our room.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Perseus2324
Chris S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. Welcoem back again. More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

In a great setting with lovely views of the golf course from the balcony of the rooms, but that is about all this hotel has going for it. A strange smell lingers around the place, and the rooms are not very clean or fully functional (my shower was only working sporadically). Bed was uncomfortable and I'm not sure my aircon... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sebastian P
Chris S, PA TO GM at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review

DEAR GUEST, Thanks for you stay and your comment. Your comment is very important to us. We apologize that we did not provide a perfect experience during your stay. We will follow up the problems you mentioned. Hope you will come back in the future and see our improvements. More 

Frederikshavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2016

This is a great hotel with a good location inside a Golf course, It's the first time I have been on a hotel in Shanghai with a green view. They have the fastest WiFI experienced in China, maybe due to a lack of guests. Room is very nice, and the breakfast is ok.... Now to the odor, as soon as... More 

Helpful?
Thank TM2205
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Cold, dirty, terrible food and awful service. We are wearing jackets inside, the breakfast food is clearly lasts nights leftovers and bread is stale. Rooms need to be cleaned properly, like vacuumed! Staff look at you like they wish you weren't here, do things like tell you where the restaurant is, but not tell you it's closed! So you walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare T
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying us. We apologize that we did not give you perfect guest satisfaction. Regarding all of your problem you had during your stay, We have reported to the related department heads. They will follow up quickly and ensure these problems will not happen again. Hope in the near future you will come back again and... More 

Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2015

AC was not working in the room. After coplaining and 2 hours waiting. nothing was solved. Room was changed and in the new room water was cold only. Breakfast was quite "pour". The feeling was that the hotel was empty and everything was in "safe money" mode. Shuttle bus to Metro is so and so and there is nothing in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo B
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and sharing with us your comments. We are sorry that we did not give you a 100% perfect stay in the hotel. We are a hotel next to a golf club and you can enjoy the nice golf view in most of our rooms. Also our shuttle bus can take you to and... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2014 via mobile

For a recognised international hotel brand you would expect service staff to speak English. The front desk was perfect but as for breakfast restaurant staff, other than good morning their English is non existent. Also their failure to clear tables to allow others to sit down for breakfast is terrible, I stayed 3 nights and cleared tables for breakfast twice.... More 

Helpful?
Thank stylishgolf
Richard R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review

Dear Stylish Golf, Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay at Crowne Plaza Lake Malaren. we apologize for the gaps in service from our Food & Beverage team and worse yet for experiencing problems with pests served with your tea; we strive to deliver a great guest experience and as such are disappointed that we... More 

Beijing
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I am surprised this is a crowne plaza hotel This could easily be where Basil Fawlty trained or maybe he has been relocated here. Decor from early 80's perhaps The Internet access instructions are different to what you need to do - if in doubt use 8888 and 8888 Mini bar gets stocked when you arrive - nice touch as... More 

Helpful?
Thank blackgav
Richard R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review

Dear Guest Blackgav, Have reviewed your comments regarding your stay at our hotel and am disappointed that we failed to provide you with a great stay experience, for this we humbly apologize as not in keeping with our normal standards which are reflected by other guests here. We will review with the team to ensure that all comments are addressed... More 

guam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We loved the hotel. We decided to stay at the hotel because my husband wanted to play the course where the BMW Masters is held. Then go into Shanghai to stay after. We were so glad we decided to have the airport pickup us up. It would have been complicated getting a taxi. So nice to get out of baggage/... More 

Helpful?
Thank ltpt

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Anting
#127 of 4,566 in Shanghai
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Shanghai Jiading
#97 of 4,566 in Shanghai
115 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
#82 of 4,566 in Shanghai
291 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
#94 of 4,566 in Shanghai
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Lake Malaren is the first international hotel in the Baoshan district, a fast developing, northern suburb of bustling Shanghai. Known for its rich and natural settings on the Lake Malaren Resort, Crowne Plaza Lake Malaren Shanghai is a mere thirty minutes away from Shanghai's city center. The adjoining Lake Malaren Golf Club operates 2 Jack Nicklaus PGA accredited 18-hole courses surrounding the hotel and was certified as the First Silver Signature Sanctuary in China and Asia by Audubon International in 2006. The resort and both golf course are part of the greater Lake Meilan Luodian New North Town development.The newly opened Metro Line 7-Meilan Lake Station is a short 3-minute drive from the hotel. And just 60 minutes to Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport or 90 minutes to Shanghai Pudong International Airport by subway.It is also a short 30 minute drive from the hotel to the city center and easily accessible to Shanghai Pudong International Airport with 75 km by outer-ring road (G1501) and 30 km to Shanghai Hongqiao Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren

Address: 6655 Hutai Road, No.9 Meilan Road, Shanghai 201908, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Price Range: £85 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren 4.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#139 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#356 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Colorado Springs, Colorado

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only come here if you need the convenience of the location and not looking for any sort of quality.”
 of 5 bubbles RaoulDJ, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Gold course view”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“verificare che funzionino il riscaldamento e l'acqua calda”
 of 5 bubbles LorenzoB637, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Great looking golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles nicoleg204, 27 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Room facing the golf course but takes around 1hour from airport to arrive the hotel!”
  • Golf Course
  • Golf Course
  • Golf Course
  • Golf Course
 of 5 bubbles Cindy_CSY, 20 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay