We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Arenal Country Inn

Expedia.comUS$98*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Arenal Country Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Arenal Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The staff is amazing, really professional, the breakfast was included and good. The room was clean and very quiet. The beds are confortable, I would go there again. The water of the pool was hot in January, clean. Good place, good view of the volcano on a clear day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maude G
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you felt at home in our clean, comfortable cabins and well kept grounds, and with the friendly service of our staff. Most of them have been with us for many years and are very valuable assests. We will pass along your praises. Thanks for choosing Arenal Country Inn, we look...

Vienna
Reviewed 25 January 2017

During our trip by car through Costa Rica, we spent some days in the, family run, Arenal Country Inn. Despite it's rural character, it is comfortable and homely, and first of all, near to the busy town of La Fortuna to profit from it's nightlife, restaurants and other benefits. The contact with the owner family was very kind.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christian704
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Christian: Thank you for choosing to stay at our family owned and operated Arenal Country Inn. We are glad you had a great time at our inn and on the beautiful grounds and tropical gardens. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

View of a maintenance shed. Enough room to squeeze around the bed. Told us we were getting a King and got a double and 2 twins. No hot water. No wash cloth. No towel racks. No bureau. No place to put your luggage except the floor. You get to choose between plugging in your refrigerator or your bedside lamp. Overhead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a lovely bungalow set in spacious gardens. The accommodation was clean and had air con and a fan. The pool was lovely. Its a small walk into town but it went past a local market which was interesting. There is some road noise in some bungalows which is worth being aware of.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Liz: Thank you for choosing to stay at our family owned and operated Arenal Country Inn. We are glad you had a great time at our inn and on the beautiful grounds and tropical gardens. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future

Liberia, Costa Rica
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Rooms were very clean and almost looked new! The pool was clean, the grounds were very well maintained and breakfast was buffet style (with a good combination of eggs, pancakes, rice & beans, fresh fruit, cereal, hot coffee, plantains and sausage). Town is walking distance but not next door (also only a $2 taxi ride to town). There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snag08
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are glad you had a wonderful stay. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are constantly working to update and maintain quality facilities for each of our valued customers.

Los Angeles
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

The wifi here is not strong enough for the rooms. The wifi is available only around the lobby area. You can get very weak signals in the rooms. The hotel runs out of hot water while you are showering. The rooms are run down and old and need upgrading. That may be what you get for what you pay. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniel126
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your comment. I commented that we do not used to make up our photos. What you see in them is what you will find on our property. Before you buy you have the freedom to choose the best option that fits your possibilities. Our prices always go according to supply and demand. To...

new york new york
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We were in cabins 7 & 8 which were identical. The rooms are poorly designed: cluttered yet there was no place to put stuff. the only shelves/storage was a sort of crawl space partly behind the beds. The room itself was dated. Service left much to be desired and the staff was indifferent; we arrive in the dark, pouring rain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newyorker59
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your comment. I commented that we do not used to make up our photos. What you see in them is what you will find on our property. Before you buy you have the freedom to choose the best option that fits your possibilities. Our prices always go according to supply and demand. To...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Really liked this hotel. It was clean and comfortable but the best part was the staff. They really went above and beyond to help us out and to make our stay enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dunia2000
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are glad you had a wonderful stay. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are constantly working to update and maintain quality facilities for each of our valued customers.

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Cleanest place we have stayed in La Fortuna. We arrived late at 10PM and the owner and security guard were extremely accommodating! Slightly dated rooms are very well kept and very clean bathroom. The breakfast that was included was absolutely delicious. Highly recommend if you're looking for great service and affordable pricing. We will be back, thank you!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keela M
ArenalCountryInn, Propietario at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Keela: Thank you for your lovely review and for noticing and enjoying all of the hard work and love our family and staff puts in to serving all of our guests and keeping everything beautiful and delicious for you. It was great to received you and we look forward to having you back soon!

Reviewed 19 September 2016

The room was great, very clean. the mountain view is nice. The breakfast was the most delicious than I had enjoyed. The garden is well-kept also the pool. We enjoy the nature and traditional country north garden.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ERICK S
ArenalCountryInn, Gerente at Arenal Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope you come back to stay with us again soon!

198 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (49)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.5 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Arenal Country Inn is a small hotel with twenty rooms distributed in ten bungalows; all of then surrounded by exotic gardens. All you have to do is reach the door of your room and you will go from the most comfortable human made environment to the magnificent nature. Rooms with cable TV, A/C, mini fridge, telephone, safe deposit box, private bathroom and terrace. Large swimming pool area, food service, internet access, tour desk and parking. Impeccable cleanness and friendly service is our promise. We will make our best to make your visit a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arenal Country Inn

Address: 1 km south of the Catholic Church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £62 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Country Hotel
Country Inn La Fortuna De San Carlos
La Fortuna De San Carlos Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arenal Country Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ashburnham
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Arenal Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room closer to the lobby for better wifi.”
josebS4716VU, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We liked #18.”
Sportsgirl59, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You will need a flashlight to navigate the grounds at night.”
752karenm, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Find the rooms closer to the pool as they're more modern!”
alexandradI7584XH, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room 21 is one of the biggest”
mustoml, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$98* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$219
Orbitz.comUS$98
CancelonUS$125
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates