We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (61)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (5)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good19%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
Breakfast included
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Las Mariposas
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
89
24
10
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
89
24
10
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree coffee in the morningthe owneramazing towngreat communitycommon areasclose walk to the beachhuge mango treecozy atmospherewet clothescosta ricasuper closethe location is perfectplace to staycommunity kitchenrooms are nicestayed longerenjoyed my stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Great place to meet people as a solo traveller. Close to the beach. Mariano is very energetic and brings people together. The family dinners are delicious and a great way to get to know people. The facilities aren't the best or the cleanest but good...More

1  Thank L D
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

I fell in love with samara, and that's also because of mariposas. I've been traveling for 4 moths and decided to come back and spent my last days here because I like it so much. The people are great, the rooms are clean and Mariano's...More

1  Thank Alice I
Reviewed 5 February 2016

From the beginning i arrived i felt welcome. Marianno the host is doing a great job, and he is a great chef! he cooks almost every night the "family dinner". he is full of energy and has always a smile on his face. the rooms...More

1  Thank Svenvaethdouble
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Well... I'll start with the positive. Mariano is nice. He makes you feel welcome and is just the right amount of eccentric to be enjoyable to be around. Unfortunately, the rest of this place is kind of grim. The dorm was little more than a...More

Thank Booka S
Response from LAltink, Eigenaar at Las MariposasResponded 18 January 2016

Hi, Thank you for your review, could you pleas write me at hostel.lasmariposas@gmail.com because I would like to understand more about your experience at the hostel. Thank you, Leonie

Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

Love this spot. A fun ambiance to meet new people. You can rent the hamocks for only 8 $ or you have dorms and private rooms for a little more $. The staff is incredible. Mariano will cook you the best dinner you can get...More

Thank Francis T
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (61)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (5)
Room & Suite (5)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Las Mariposas staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"The private rooms above the kitchen are beautiful. The upper dorm seems to have a little more space than the..."
Read review
"Try to get a room on the second floor to avoid room being flooded."
Read review
"rainy season go for rooms on the second level and never leave stuff on the ground. Chance it gets wet if..."
Read review
"I really love the bigger room. It's $3 more per night, but it's a slightly nicer room."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing