We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 74: English reviews
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really welcoming and friendly employees. The rooms are super clean and taken care of. Good vibes all around, the bartenders keep the party alive. The breakfast is amazing, I recommend getting the private cabin, it's five dollars extra, breakfast included. If you are looking for surfing lessons, Jonathan is the man!! Very experienced, good teacher, even better person. A fun,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GarrenB6
SeaTac, Washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at 3pm on Saturday, went to the Airbnb, cleaned up, grabbed dinner, and then set out for some late night fun. We found this place, the fun music, ping pong table, pool table, and crowd drew us in. We spent the next 3 hours drinking, dancing, signing at the top of our lungs, and laughing. This place was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allie S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff are great -very helpful, food is good, kitchen is clean, rooms are comfortable and clean, bathroom is ok if you don't mind a few roaches. My biggest qualm is the noise- the adjoining bar blared music till 3 in the morning. If it's a bar, then that's fine, but when you're trying to get sleep it's a joke. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came to la oveja negra because it was one of the cheaper hostels in town that also included a surf camp, and could not have been happier with my stay. Comfy dorm room with air conditioning, fast wifi, great hangout area, and an awesome bar/restaurant with very reasonable prices. The staff were super friendly and welcoming. They set me up...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jamie L
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent place to eat and drink, the food was amazing, the people working there were really kind , good vibes , nice people, nice music i really enjoy the place , its highly recommend, i love la oveja negra !! Its a must in tamarindo , costa rica !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cristina G
Santiago A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this review
Google Translation

Queremos darle las gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros. Esperamos poder contar con su visita de nuevo , Pura...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I hung out here one night with some of the locals I met and it had a great vibe. Here were pool tables and ping pong tables and great food and drinks. I met some awesome people here on a Wednesday night. I will absolutely be back during my next trip to Tamarindo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marypete9
Santiago A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this review
Google Translation

Queremos darle las gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros. Esperamos poder contar con su visita de nuevo , Pura...

Irvine, California
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

My son wanted to go there because they had a poster outside that said "Even Donald Trump likes our Mexican", and that made him laugh. We didn't expect much, but indulged him. Best decision ever! The food was delicious - simple, but very fresh and flavorful -, they had an awesome drinks menu, and the place had a pool table,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Regina B
Santiago A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this review
Google Translation

Queremos darle las gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros. Esperamos poder contar con su visita de nuevo , Pura...

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

I made a quick stop to La Oveja Negra to grab a drink on my way back to my hostel, but I never actually got it. I went to the bar - which was not very busy at all - and was not greeted by any of the three bartenders. I continued to wait. A group of three men came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn L
Santiago A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this review
Google Translation

Queremos darle las gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros. Constantemente estamos tratando de mejorarnos, y tomaremos en cuenta su...

Caracas, Venezuela
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

12$ for a dorm with AC which is a really good price in Costa Rica. It has a kitchen that is not very good. The staff is amazing all of the girls are super nice. It has a common area with a small tv, a nice bar and a pool table. The only thing i complain is that the mattress...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio V
Santiago A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this review
Google Translation

Queremos darle las gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros. Constantemente estamos tratando de mejorarnos, y tomaremos en cuenta su...

Reviewed 27 April 2016

Ok, so when we check in and go to the room, I notice the holes in the ceilings....ok, whatever....and then we try to turn on the AC with both of the remotes the girl handed us because "she didn't know which one worked for it...but return it soon because we only have a few."....ok. The AC wouldn't come on. She...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin S
Santiago A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp, responded to this review
Google Translation

Queremos agradecer por compartir su experiencia con nosotros. Antes que nada queremos pedirle disculpas por los inconvenientes, respecto del agua...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.2 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 23 in Tamarindo
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#9 of 23 in Tamarindo
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#13 of 23 in Tamarindo
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Botella de Leche
La Botella de Leche
#1 of 74 in Tamarindo
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
Coral Reef Surf Hostel
#3 of 74 in Tamarindo
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp

Address: Playa Tamarindo, a dos cuadras de la Avenida Central | Frente al Hotel Portofino., Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Price Range: £13 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from La Oveja Negra Hostel and Surf Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go with a cabina if you have 2 or more people. Not that expensive and it's always nicer to have your own room and bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles 296tricias, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles CharlotteMcCracken, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the private rooms in the back, share with a friend - like a private retreat back there.”
 of 5 bubbles G9142HYmariat, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Try to get a room opposite the wall that borders the bar... you're more likely to get sleep!”
 of 5 bubbles Caityregs, 29 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Try for an exterior room that will have a window as well as a fan and a/c.”
  • Living room common area
  • One of the rooms - double bed + bunk bed
 of 5 bubbles kdubber10, 1 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay