We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
Grand Haven, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed one night here but had a very good experience. The food in the bakery is excellent as well as the dinner in the restaurant. Our host arranged for a surfing lesson and kayak fishing trip, both of which were very fun. Although there is not easy access to the water, the view is beautiful and very quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Visited Tamarindo and stayed here. It was excellent for the price and Trish was fun to talk with. There is a group of Howler Monkeys that hang out in the trees next door. The rooms were clean and had great beach / ocean views. Location is great! Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Don't ever stay here. This is the worst service and guest treatment I have ever got. Owner is French and very rude. Myself and a friend drove down to Tamarindo and checked-in to this hotel, dropped our bags in the room and went out for a walk about. Very quickly we agreed that this was not the place for us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
zoesandy, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo, responded to this review

Hello, This 2 mans was very nice people when they comming in the hotel.They asked me a good price for the room for 2 days,We charge the room and 4 hours later,(they use the shower,the beds!!!)they tell in my emploed : we dont want to stay here,we dont like tamarindo,no my hotel,TAMARINDO!!!and in the all hotel wen you charge the...

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. We were supposed to stay only one nite but we really liked the place, so we decided to stay 2 nights. The beach it is located at an easy walking distance but there is not access directly. Staff and owner ( french woman, Patricia) very nice :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaNi M
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Quaint rooms, nice location, and an excellent restaurant! The walk to the beach through the marsh area is picturesque. The amenities were not world-class but very nice and met our needs. The food at the restaurant is everything you want near the beach, would go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1time2fly
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Very pleasant staff, owned by a French couple. They are very helpful in setting up excursions and ideas for different activities. Right on the beach, but a bit of a walk (10 minutes) to Tamarindo beach and downtown shop. Very good value for the money. Clean rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rusty-rayray
zoesandy, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo, responded to this review

Thank you very much! We hope to ee you again! Sandy

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Good location but no service and not that clean. Very basic would not stay here again. Did not feel safe as the lock on the door are flimsy. Restaurant closed when we went Owner wanted $100 deposit when other hotels did not require additional deposit even though room already paid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
zoesandy, Gerente at Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenas dias! Estes clientes se equivocan de hotel y quisiera regressar a samara!!pero le explicamos que no puediamos regressar el...

Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We visited Tamarindo, CR 6/10 to 6/13. The hotel is very small but has most everything that anyone could ask for in a Hotel (no swimming pool). The lady that checked us in was so friendly helping us with check in and offered local recommendations that were spot on. Access to the beach was direct from the Hotel which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CCTEXAN08
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

I am somewhat conflicted in this review. I stayed in the ocean view junior suite #11. Views were as promised and the balcony was a great feature. I would recommend this room. Additionally, all the hotel staff were friendly/helpful and the French bakery was tasty. However, the hotel has some flaws. The most ominous of which is pests. In our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
Magnolia, Texas
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Family of three during the off-season. Used a on-line booking engine that provided some mis-information that had us in a room that would not accommodate three. This potentially disastrous mixup was quickly addressed and handled by the hotel staff and for one night we were actually given a much nicer room than what we paid for. The location cannot be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.4 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#4 of 23 in Tamarindo
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#9 of 23 in Tamarindo
2,203 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#13 of 23 in Tamarindo
84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 23 in Tamarindo
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family and friendly hotel located on the beach. Tropical garden, with faun and flora. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo

Address: Calle Central 275, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Price Range: £45 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tamarindo
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tamarindo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best rooms are upstairs to the right once inside the hotel area. I think #10 and #11. They have amazing views with great private decks.”
 of 5 bubbles KenW843, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get an Ocean View room for a few extra bucks. You will appreciate the views.”
 of 5 bubbles CCTEXAN08, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Spring the extra for the Junior Suites with balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles GoonGloop, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“No mini fridge in room”
 of 5 bubbles samanthabP9027HY, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Take the rooms with balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 177germanb, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay