We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atlantida Lodge

Traveller (162)
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (19)
Location: Located right next to the soccer field, in front of Playa Negra Cahuita and a few steps from the beach, and only 20 miles km south from Puerto Limon. Description: Perfect place to capture the atmosphere of peaceful that exists in the Costa Rican Caribbean. The Reception, Swimming Pool, The Brown Pelican Restaurant and Gardens are a "Tropical Adventure Center" where the forest over 30 years around the hotel, will immediately captures you. It features Massage room, restaurant for 70 people, Pizza oven, Kukula Bar with musical activities all months, Private Parking lot, Bike rent, wide pool and Frogs observation center among other things.
Read more
Property amenities
Breakfast Available
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
Reviews & more
19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 71
  • 42
  • 20
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The staff was confused upon our arrival and couldn't figure out our reservation until someone who spoke spanish translated. The room was nice, no ac, and the WIFI didn't work in the room. The shower had no hot water. Breakfast was great. Location was great! We had to ask
Read more
Response from Mijail A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Atlantida Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Dear O3575TS Thank you for your comments and I Will explain to you in detail: 1- We only have Internet at the Front Desk Area, we never mention that we have internet in the rooms in our web pages. 2- Its true, we had a litle problem with your reservation obviosly we fixed and gave you the room. 3- We Never mention in our internet information that we have AC cause, we Dont Have AC in any of our rooms. You can check that in our web pages. 4- Concerning the shower, you could mention that issue at front desk with the manager and they will fix it with our maintenince deparment. 5- We really sorry about your points of view but if our staff dont explained to you those points, you are welcome to mention and we more thant happy trying to help you and all our clients. Its a Shame you did not mention those points first hand, Im sure, everything Will be fixed for you every moment. We hope you and your family have a wonderfull 2019. Atlántida Lodge
Read more
Nice location but the hotel was basically run by children. Children at reception, children behind the bar, children servicing breakfast (the worst Ive had in Costa Rica). The only adult was the prowling night time security guard who presumably doubles as a child catcher.
Read more
Response from Mijail A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Atlantida Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jean March Thank you for your comments but we are not agree with your words. Basically we dont hire Kids, as you said. Our Staff, are Young people that finished University a couple a years ago and more and we combined youth with experience staff. Our staff are people well traiend for hotel service and our owner are focus to give opportunities to them and continue with the normal transition with staff who has more tan 20, 30,... years working and with new generation. It is imposible work with only old people, we need to do the right mix between them. In the past few days we re been with high occuancy and so many people happy with our staff and service. In the other hand, Its weird you didnt express your insatisfaction of the breakfast first hand with the general manager. If you are not happy with something, if you are there, and have the opportunity. why you didnt talk first hand? We would learn from your experience, but... In fact we have opposite comments in our book about service and food.
Read more
Pleasant hotel close to "playa negra" (a black-sand volcanic beach) and 10 minutes walk from Cahuita town. Nice pool and rooms set in nice gardens with plenty of natural wildlife. Friendly staff and good bar and restaurant, with nice breakfast. Good wifi in lobby and bar
Read more
Response from Atlantida Lodge C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Atlantida Lodge
Responded 13 Aug 2018
Dear PEHowland Thank you for your comments and Hope we can see you again at Atlantida Lodge Sincerely Mijail Alpízar Sales & Director Manager
Read more
the location is excellent ,on the beach, 5 minutes far from the center , the environment is like paradise , Breakfast is good , the rooms are simple ' but clean , no aircondition but fan is enough , worth the money we had paid
Read more
Response from Atlantida Lodge C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Atlantida Lodge
Responded 22 Jun 2018
Dear Mirit Thank you for your words and hope we can see you again at Atlantida Lodge
Read more
Our stay at atlantida lodge wasnt the best.. the staff were unfriendly and not helpful. There were also people smoking marijuana by the pool while children were around. The owners must of changed hands.
Read more
Response from Atlantida Lodge C, Director General at Atlantida Lodge
Responded 14 May 2018
Dear Pia We are sorry about your inconvenints and felt sorry you didnot aproch to front desk and talk with the manager about the issue of clients smoking at the pool. Its important to mention Atlantida Lodge dont admit people smoking any kind of cigar or other kind of cigars inside the instalations. We will check our 20 cameras into the lodge and willnsee who were in that behavior. About the "un friendly and not helpful" we respect you comment but we dont share your words. Precissly that weekend we helped a young couple. The wife felt bad and we escorted them to the hospital charging nothing for the 20 miles in/out transportation and extra night at the lodge. We always recomend to the clients if they have something to say, say it before leave the property we will do anything to help them. Sincerely Steve Harvey General Manager
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
This guy lived right outside our room
Los caminos que conducen a las habitaciones
How to Get to Atlántida Lodge Cahuita: There’s several ways to Get to Atlántida Lodge: 1. Car Rental.- Rental cars can be arranged at the airport or in advance through major car rental companies. Prices can range between $40 and $100 U.S.D. a day, depending of course on factors such as the type of car, the length of the rental and the insurance you choose. Although the road to Cahuita is paved and smooth, we recommend hiring a 4x4 for any secondary road adventures you might take while you're here. 2. Taxi: A private taxi will probably cost around $200- $250 U.S.D. 3. Public bus: The bus to Cahuita leaves from the MEPE Bus. $10 U.S.D. for the bus fare to Cahuita. Buses depart at 6:00 am. 10:00 am. 12:00 pm 14.00 and 16:00 pm. 4. Shuttle service: Several companies offer shuttle services between San José and Cahuita at fixed times and prices. They have the advantage of being faster than public transportation (no stops) and more comfortable with air conditioning and much fewer people. Prices vary depending on the company, but can range between $25 and $45 U.S.D. How to get There, using a Rent Car: Take Highway 32 and follow it north towards Limón, through Braulio Carrillo National Park, Guápiles, Siquirres and Matina. Just before getting to downtown Limón you will see a sign on your right towards Cahuita. Take that road to the right and follow it south all the way to Cahuita, bordering the coastline. Once you've arrived to Cahuita, all you have to do is continue to Playa Negra beach and get to the soccer field, You will find the lodge. For convenience enter Atlántida Lodge in Waze and the system will take you straight to the property
1 vote
Dear Mazstaff Kind regards from sunny Cahuita. At this time we dont know hows gonna be the weather. Forecast says rain but in 2 hours is sunny!!!! Regards!!!
2 votes
Dear Nan Kind regards from Sunny Cahuita. If you need just one bike we can give you a hand on that. The bus stop around 3/4 mile from the lodge. We only have mini-fridge at the suite. Sincerely Atlantida Lodge
0 votes
Does the room have a safe?
Hi Kimberly we do have safe in our safe box in front desk.
0 votes
Show all answers
do you have mosquito netting? is it necessary?
Hi there is no necessary unless you need it for medical prescription
0 votes
Show all answers
"All rooms are similar"
"Go to Puerto Viejo!"
"Don't accept the rooms to the right of reception backing onto the car/bus parking area"
"Rooms 12-16 are closer to the pool area, reception and main restaurant"
"Our room was not far from the beach...we could hear the sea from our room"
US$86 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
atlantida hotel cahuita
Costa RicaProvince of LimonCahuita
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing