We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cariblue Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

965 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 526: English reviews
nottingham
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we were a little apprehensive about this, our last hotel in Costa Rica having read some bad reviews. However, we have had a lovely stay here - our chalet was clean, comfortable and everything worked as it should. The staff were pleasant and helpful and even allowed us to keep our room well after the checkout time so that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tedanddick
CARIBLUE2015, Manager at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear friend, thanks for your review, we always are trying to improve our hotel on every aspect, so comments like yours help us to continue working on that direction, thanks again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

My family checked into our hotel room around 9 pm. A young man walked us to our room and unlocked our door for us. We had many bags and struggled to carry them all, we were offered no help. We arrived in the dark and had no idea of our surrounds. They neglected to inform us that we were less...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor T
CARIBLUE2015, Manager at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear friend, Greetings from the Caribe, I remember very well you and your family, and we really sorry about yours feelings. When I talked direct with your father about his cell phone, my first recommendation was make a report to the pólice and offer our assitance with it(I even act like interpretor when he made it), he decide to did...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in Puerto Viejo after a 5 hour drive from Manuel Antonio, to check into the Cariblue Beach Hotel. On arrival we went straight to reception to check in, I gave them our Booking.com reservation details, they couldn’t find the booking. After further investigation they informed us that they had not received a request for a booking from Booking.com....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gerripl
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two weeks over Christmas and New Years and enjoyed it very much! The staff worked extremely hard decorating for the celebrations and did a fabulous job. We arrived very late in the evening so reception was closed ( our plane was an hour late leaving Toronto and rush hour traffic getting out of San Jose was as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scuba_Sue53
Geertruidenberg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel! The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly at the reception! We had some problems with insects in our room (well of course, it is Costa Rica). But the staff was willing to help. The food in the restaurant is very tasty, but expensive. There are a lot of restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanneroza34
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We had a beachview room, so slept to the sound of the waves, which were big in the aftermath of hurricane Otto. Fortunately little rain except on departure day so our bags got wet on the trek to Reception as all rooms have separate paths through the extensive gardens, home to the black and green dart frog (and other critters)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisBrown38
Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We stayed at Cariblue for five nights. As others have noted, the staff is adequate but not enthusiastic and do not go above and beyond, with the exception of a couple of the waiters. The "beachfront" restaurant is good, but the one in the reception area is extremely overpriced. The beachfront one also closes extremely early. It should be the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

The room was really nice and clean in the middle of the great garden . The pool is excellent. Breakfast is ok - nothing special . We did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner . People were very nice .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arno27410
Whissendine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Hurricane Otto arrived in the carribbevn just a few hours after we did so all our experiences of Cariblue were through a very wet lens. Our room was a first floor bungalow, very spacious and with a very large and comfortable bed. The en suite had just a shower, no bath and was adequate without being plush. Views from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dr_John_Poyser_4952
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 November 2016

This was a very nice gated place with guards at night, although we never felt threatened or scared at all, and we walked around at night quite a bit. Very good free breakfast, dinner was a bit pricey but very good, room was nice with a huge bathroom. We were 2 couples, we got rooms 201 and 202, unfortunately we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
CARIBLUE2015, Manager at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Friends, Greetings from the Costa Rica South Caribe, we apreciate your opinion and let us to express to you our deep concern about your comment, is a shame we didn't know of it when you been here. But thanks to inform to us, we´re going to check it. Please if you have any other situation to share , send...

1,362 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (653)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
9:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (263)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (676)
Viewed
Amenities (65)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Beachfront Bungalow (67)
Viewed
Bungalow (50)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (46)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (16)
Viewed
Jungle Family House (88)
Viewed
Main Pool with Bar (23)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Standard Jungle Bungalow (42)
Viewed
Superior Room (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
2.4 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
448 reviews
12.0 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: £85 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cariblue Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
nashville, tn
The Netherlands
6 months ago
Texarkana, Texas
11 months ago
Bryson City, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Cariblue Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean Beach Front #404 is great! The Junior Suite is near the restaurant, pool and reception and has a huge bathroom and beautiful porch!”
 of 5 bubbles scuba_Sue53, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Depends on what you want - a honeymoon suite in the jungle, or one of the limited beachview rooms. Click on their website to check.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisBrown38, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are small and overlook the road which lies between the rooms and the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles Dr_John_Poyser_4952, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try not to get 201 or 202....sewage smell but not overwhelmingly so”
 of 5 bubbles 157barryg, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beach front rooms are nicer, but all have good jungle view.”
 of 5 bubbles pamelacN4129CY, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay