We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
01/10/2017 02/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    El Faro Beach Hostel

    | Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park, 300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    Please select your travel dates.
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    01/10/2017 02/10/2017
    No availability for your dates from these sites
    Traveller (59)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Makanda by the Sea
    562 reviews
    #16 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    Parador Resort and Spa
    2,465 reviews
    #11 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
    916 reviews
    #17 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    Gaia Hotel & Reserve
    1,581 reviews
    #3 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    Overview
    • Excellent18%
    • Very good22%
    • Average20%
    • Poor20%
    • Terrible20%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Breakfast included
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    1.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Makanda by the Sea
    562 reviews
    #16 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    Parador Resort and Spa
    2,465 reviews
    #11 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
    916 reviews
    #17 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    Gaia Hotel & Reserve
    1,581 reviews
    #3 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (169)
    There are newer reviews for El Faro Beach Hostel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    61 - 65 of 87 reviews

    Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

    Being from NYC, the first thing I always do when I get to a hotel is check for bedbugs. I got my flashlight out, and they were in every bed of our room in the hostel. When we told the person at the front desk,...More

    Thank Corey T
    Response from Diego E, Gerente at El Faro Beach HostelResponded 22 June 2013

    I must say we are very surprised and disappointed with this review... After trying to dispute it with Trip Advisor (because it seems a suspicious review) with no results.. I have to reply in our defense: 1) First, we DO NOT have bedbugs problem in...More

    Reviewed 29 December 2012

    I stayed here with to of my friends in a dorm for a night just becuase we alredy payed for it. Well the dorm was dirty, dark, and smelled like smoke. I'll try to explaint who are the dorms, porbably it was a place where...More

    1  Thank arskasv
    Response from Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach HostelResponded 11 January 2013

    Dear Arskasv: Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this forum! We feel bad that you didn´t have a great time with us... In our defense, I have to say that our electrical stove is working pretty well as always. What happened is that some...More

    Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

    National Park Backpackers has a nice location, right next to the entrance of the park (though the trade off is that you're further from The beach and supermarket and "town"), but unfortunately that's where the compliments end. The real deal breaker was the mattresses, which...More

    Thank Michelle S
    Response from Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach HostelResponded 5 December 2012

    The management and staff here at NPBP are extremely sorry that this guest was not happy with her stay at our Hostel. However, for the sake of TripAdvisor readers, we feel compelled to reply. If this particular guest had simply told us about her situation...More

    Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

    Our stay here was relaxing & fun. The hostel is great. Nice rooms & beautiful clean pool right outside the door. Food is yummy & reasonably priced. The National Park is only a few yards away & was stunning with loads of animals & butterflies,...More

    1  Thank Lottipop
    Response from Diego E, Gerente at El Faro Beach HostelResponded 25 November 2012

    Hello Lottipop! What a brilliant review you have written... We all the staff at NPBP are very happy that you had enjoyed in the most beatiful National Park in Costa Rica which is just 100mts away from us. A great thanks for recommending our hostel...More

    Reviewed 27 October 2012

    This is a nice, simple hostel! We stayed in a private room, which was basic (an ok bed, and a little storage space) but clean. The site though is really nice: a pool, a kitchen if you want to cook your own food, and movies...More

    1  Thank megou_quebec
    Response from Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach HostelResponded 7 November 2012

    Thanks to our recent friend from Quebec for such a nice review on this forum. We are actually improving our wifi connection and our fridge although it´s really big we are considering to put more when we have more people staying. Welcome back anytime to...More

    Makanda by the Sea
    562 reviews
    #16 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    Parador Resort and Spa
    2,465 reviews
    #11 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
    916 reviews
    #17 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    Gaia Hotel & Reserve
    1,581 reviews
    #3 of 46 hotels in Manuel Antonio
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    Details
    • Hotel class
    • Number of rooms
    • 20
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your El Faro Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Costa Rica >
    • Province of Puntarenas >
    • Manuel Antonio
    • Also Known As
    • El Faro Beach Hostel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (59)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (59)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Gaia Hotel & Reserve
    1,581 reviews
    1.91 miles away
     
    Parador Resort and Spa
    2,465 reviews
    1.62 miles away
     
    Makanda by the Sea
    562 reviews
    1.46 miles away
     
    La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
    916 reviews
    .06 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Rico Tico Jungle Grill
    327 reviews
    1.00 miles away
    Restaurante Buru by the park
    164 reviews
    .03 miles away
    Raphael's Terrazas
    602 reviews
    .76 miles away
    El Wagon
    1,479 reviews
    .81 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Naturalist Michael Araya Flores
    128 reviews
    .61 miles away
    Playa Espadilla Norte
    91 reviews
    .22 miles away
    Manuel Antonio National Park
    146 reviews
    .71 miles away
    Costa Rica Jade Tours
    1,213 reviews
    .39 miles away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from El Faro Beach Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Dont stay here"
    Read review
    "A.C. doesn't really work in private room on the first level closest to the restaurant."
    Read review
    "go to another hostel."
    Read review
    "Rooms away from pool and tables, if you want to get some sleep"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing