We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Casa Colon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I read the reviews of this hostel that left me with the impression that it would be mediocre. That was all I really needed for one night in San Jose anyway. However, I had a private room. When I unfolded the sheets, there was dirt and pubes everywhere. It was disgusting. I've stayed in some gross hostels, but that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

This is a great little hotel in the heart of San Jose, the staff are very warm and friendly and the attached restaurant served basic but delicious food. Our room was very big with a massive bed and ensuite bathroom. I would definitely recommend staying here for a night or two

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philmaynard
HostelCasaColon, General Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

We really appreciate your review, hope to see you the next time.

Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We had a great time on our first night in San Jose. Close to bus terminal, 3 blocks away. Costs $9 US to go to playas del coco. The place was friendly and safe. Nice Italian restaurant beside the hostel. They even had a hair dryer. Breakfast was ok. Egg, bread, cheese,jam n tea and juice. So happy the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grace f
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

It is really good to know our Hotel was a good choice for you. Thank you very much for your comments! Best Regards.

Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Clean and spacious hostel with really nice carved beams and comfy seating area. It was a little soulless when I was there, but it was low season. I stayed in the dorm at the back of the hostel and couldn't hear any noise from the road, 3 good nights sleep. The breakfast was a bit of a poor, possibly should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tetlstone
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and give us your review. We are really glad to hear your stay here was a good experience. Best regards!

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 15 October 2016

My partner and I began our two week adventure at Hotel Casa Colon. We took a taxi from the airport, having made reservations here. When we arrived, we were offered a larger / more private room upstairs. We politely turned the room down, as we were happy with our original booking. It was close to the shared bathrooms, so the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki W
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

First at all, we are very thankful with you for taking the time to give us your detailed review. Thank you for the comment about the hand-dryer, we are really going to take it in count. And finally, is great to hear that your experience was comfortable. Best regards!

Kingston, Jamaica
Reviewed 10 September 2016

This is a great place to stay...my go-to place in San Jose. The location can´t be beat - you will be close to the market, as well as the bus station to Turrialba. The airport will just be a 20 to 30 minute car drive away - it will be easy to flag down a Taxi and you should not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johanna R
HostelCasaColon, Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thanks for your recommend our Hostel, Hope to see you the next time. We really apreciate the recommendation for the toilets Greetings!

Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed here for just one night before a flight out of San José. It's a $5 taxi ride from the Tica bus stop. It was the perfect choice because it feels more like a hotel. Our dorm was clean with comfortable beds and there are hot showers so we got a good night's sleep and were refreshed for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cleo P
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments! We are happy to hear our Hostel was a good experience for you and our staff was friendly! For us is very important to keep all the areas as clean as possible. Your review is very important for us, and help us to know what we need to improve and put our attention. Best regards!

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 July 2016

I stayed here for a night before departing San Jose. Pros: -This place has a great location - just a short walk to the main shopping area in San Jose. -The staff was nice - and pointed out the safe areas to walk around in the city. -The rooms were very clean - it felt more like a hotel that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie Lynn D
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments! We are happy to hear our location was good for you. Also is great to know our staff was helpful. For us is very important to keep all the areas as clean as possible. Your comment is very important for us, and help us to know what we need to improve and put our attention. Best...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Very average hostel. I booked a solo room, however, it was at the end of a hall near the lobby and dining room and could hear the kitchen staff very clearly. This room also did not have any windows, which was disconcerting. One also has to walk through a dining room to get to the bathroom area where shower stalls...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob P
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

We are very thankful for the time you took to give us your opinion. We are completely willing to improve our hostel based on feedback from our guests. Best regards!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at casa colon at the end of our trip. Price wise you get a lot for your money, we booked a private room which was more akin to a hotel room than a private hostel room. Breakfast included was of good standard. Staff were OK, we had issues with the card machine on check in which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. As you said we work to provide a good service and a good place to stay. The situation with the card machine it could be a misunderstood. Nevertheless, we already talked with our team in the way to improve the knowledge on this topic. Best regards!

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (119)
Viewed
Deluxe Private Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Second Deluxe Private Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 84 in San Jose
99 reviews
2.9 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#27 of 84 in San Jose
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#62 of 84 in San Jose
453 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
2.7 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#9 of 84 in San Jose
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. We are a boutique Hostel with excellent quality, higher standards of each of the services Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. (In addition sofa in Junior Suite) The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Colon

Address: Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: £13 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casa Colon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Casa Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Colon Hotel San Jose
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Casa Colon staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Casa Colon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get a taxi from ticabus, walk! it is about 300 metres away at most.”
 of 5 bubbles tetlstone, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs may get you a quieter sleep :)”
 of 5 bubbles 45nikkiw, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper and are in a private room, perhaps ask for a room a bit further from the dorm rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles jricha06, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“if you're booking a dorm ask for one upstairs, you wont get any sleep downstairs!”
 of 5 bubbles F4229JDmattl, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Good restaurant, small bar, clean place, not for partying”
 of 5 bubbles melinamans, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay