We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostel Casa Colon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 161: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent just one night here while bussing through CR. It was a great option location-wise. We got off the bus and walked to the hostel, dropped off our bags, and walked into downtown. We stayed until after dark so we took a cab back, but then we were well-situated to walk back to the bus stop in the morning. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although a hostel, more representative of a economy hotel. We arrived 1 day early and they were able to accommodate us with a private room. It was a lovely, well equipped room but located in the front adjacent to a busy street. Had to sleep with ear plugs. Our booked room with A/C was equally well equipped, clean but much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oxford2017
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay here. I stayed here with a friend in a deluxe 2 bed room. This hostel is about a 10 minute walk to the Mercado and all of the awesome places nearby. We met the owner and you could tell he really cares about his hostel. It is very clean here and they also have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maritza D
Sandnes, Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

San José was not a city of my taste. Therefor I finished my trip here just before my morning flight the next day. Case Colon is a very good hostel. It's big, clean and has a nice friendly staff. They also offer an airport shuttle. It´s located centrally in the city, and was only a 10 minute walk from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ptByrkjedal
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Casa Colon is a hostel with it's own restarurant. I was in the restaurant and was GREATLY disapointed. I was here for a cooffe during the day to check the place out. and it seemed nice. However I asked for a menue to order lunch - I got the menue but then no one wanted to take my order for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaos M
Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I read the reviews of this hostel that left me with the impression that it would be mediocre. That was all I really needed for one night in San Jose anyway. However, I had a private room. When I unfolded the sheets, there was dirt and pubes everywhere. It was disgusting. I've stayed in some gross hostels, but that was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alexandra S
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

This is a great little hotel in the heart of San Jose, the staff are very warm and friendly and the attached restaurant served basic but delicious food. Our room was very big with a massive bed and ensuite bathroom. I would definitely recommend staying here for a night or two

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank philmaynard
HostelCasaColon, General Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

We really appreciate your review, hope to see you the next time.

Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We had a great time on our first night in San Jose. Close to bus terminal, 3 blocks away. Costs $9 US to go to playas del coco. The place was friendly and safe. Nice Italian restaurant beside the hostel. They even had a hair dryer. Breakfast was ok. Egg, bread, cheese,jam n tea and juice. So happy the location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank grace f
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

It is really good to know our Hotel was a good choice for you. Thank you very much for your comments! Best Regards.

Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Clean and spacious hostel with really nice carved beams and comfy seating area. It was a little soulless when I was there, but it was low season. I stayed in the dorm at the back of the hostel and couldn't hear any noise from the road, 3 good nights sleep. The breakfast was a bit of a poor, possibly should...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tetlstone
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and give us your review. We are really glad to hear your stay here was a good experience. Best regards!

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 15 October 2016

My partner and I began our two week adventure at Hotel Casa Colon. We took a taxi from the airport, having made reservations here. When we arrived, we were offered a larger / more private room upstairs. We politely turned the room down, as we were happy with our original booking. It was close to the shared bathrooms, so the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nikki W
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

First at all, we are very thankful with you for taking the time to give us your detailed review. Thank you for the comment about the hand-dryer, we are really going to take it in count. And finally, is great to hear that your experience was comfortable. Best regards!

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (119)
Viewed
Deluxe Private Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Second Deluxe Private Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#5 of 84 in San Jose
872 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 84 in San Jose
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#59 of 84 in San Jose
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#27 of 84 in San Jose
231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
0.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. We are a boutique Hostel with excellent quality, higher standards of each of the services Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. (In addition sofa in Junior Suite) The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Colon

Address: Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: £14 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casa Colon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Casa Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Colon Hotel San Jose
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Casa Colon staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Casa Colon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely choose a room in the back away from the busy road”
 of 5 bubbles oxford2017, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a taxi from ticabus, walk! it is about 300 metres away at most.”
 of 5 bubbles tetlstone, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs may get you a quieter sleep :)”
 of 5 bubbles 45nikkiw, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper and are in a private room, perhaps ask for a room a bit further from the dorm rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles jricha06, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“if you're booking a dorm ask for one upstairs, you wont get any sleep downstairs!”
 of 5 bubbles F4229JDmattl, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay