We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Balmoral Hotel

Show Prices
#12 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 633: English reviews
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is so well located in the heart of San Jose just blocks from the National Museum, the Jade Museum, the Gold Museum and more. It's bar and restaurant offer a wide selection is on the pedestrian mall. The bar is one story up open the the bustling crowds and shops below. The breakfast buffet is quite large with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chuckkolb
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fine, with TV and modern, ample tile shower. Good sized closet with louver doors in case you need a couple of more hours of drying laundry. They have through-block drive so taxis can pull out of traffic to drop you off and pick you up. Relaxed and convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
Alessandra G, Guest Relations Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Very grateful for your comments. Glad that you enjoyed and appreciated your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you soon. Best regards, Alessandra

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The rooms in this hotel are dirty with large gaps under the doors. You can hear others in their rooms and hallway. There was NO hot water and they were sorry about that. The breakfast and coffee were both good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
Alessandra G, Guest Relations Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you posted your review. I am not sure what room you stayed in but we are characterized by our cleanliness and attention to detail. About the hot water in some rooms you do have to wait a bit longer for the hot water to arrive but of course there is hot water. We wouldn't have so many happy clients....

Hercules, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms were clean and nice. Unfortunately there was construction in front which made getting there by car or uber a pain. Also construction on windows right outside of our room kept us away during the day on our day or arrival after an all night flight. Front desk staff were absolutely great and restaurant was also reasonable and nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank smokeyandus
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for understanding the inconveniences due to proyects to improve the quality of the hotel. Thank you for your review. We are glad that overall you had a nice experience in our hotel and restaurant. We hope to host you in your next trip to San José. Best regards, Alessandra

Marlton, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a nice hotel. My room was clean and a good size. The wi-fi works very well and the front desk is helpful and friendly. They will help you arrange tours and also transportation to and from the airport. The on site restaurant is pretty decent as well. There is an all you can eat breakfast starting at 6am....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michele200929
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We hope to host you in your next visit to San José. Best regards, Alessandra

Mattoon, Illinois
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms were spacious, clean and well kept. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and the food was very good . Breakfast was excellent. The staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

It makes us very happy to learn your experience both in the hotel and the restaurant exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind review. And we do look forward to hosting you again. Best regards, Alessandra

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had a two night stay at the Balmoral Hotel recently while on a trip to Costa Rica. I found the front desk staff extremely helpful and gracious. My room was very comfortable and had every amenity I would have wanted. A nice perk was that phone calls from my room telephone to the U.S. were free! I dined at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie20252
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Very grateful for your lovely review. So very happy you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for recommending us to other travlers. We look forward to hosting you again. Best regards, Alessandra

mexico
Reviewed 1 week ago

we rented a car at the airport to start our trip, and to save on taxi´s, we drove to the hotel which offers free parking for their guests.our gps took us right there, BUT, we could not get to their parking lot, part of the one way street was blocked due to road repair, and the street directly in front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank almo52
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had such inconveniences. Glad that the staff at the garage went over their way to help you. It really isn´t our fault that they are making works on our main road. Thank you for pointing out the areas where you feel we need to improve. I don´t know which room you stayed in but we have...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great downtown location for walking to historic sites. Room was fine, although daytime renovation work beside our room kept us on the go - too noisy to be a retreat. Superb breakfast and very kind, helpful staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for unde4rstanding that we are making improvements to the hotel. Glad you had a pleasant stay and took advantage of our unique position. Best regards, Alessandra

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good service and a great location. The first room we were checked into (311?) had a strong smell of mould or something similar. We asked for a new room and the one we were moved to was one floor up and over (412) and had some of the smell but a much more mild version. Both rooms looked onto the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dalton48

642 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deluxe (30)
Viewed
Family Suite (53)
Viewed
Junior Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard (23)
Viewed
Standard Plus (20)
Viewed
Standard Plus (Accessible) (23)
Viewed
Superior (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (198)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (80)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
893 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
1,314 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: £73 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balmoral Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Balmoral Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Inner atrium facing rooms were well priced. nothing scenic but that was okay by me.”
 of 5 bubbles 245anneo, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room where there is no work being done”
 of 5 bubbles almo52, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room's window faced into a shaft. Small twin beds in a supposedly standard double room. In attentive front desk. ”
 of 5 bubbles lindagG378VO, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“323 is a very quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles I2961CWcharless, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you disregard my warning make sure you check the bed before laying down. ”
 of 5 bubbles jennifert355, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5