We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pension de la Cuesta B&B

TravelocityUS$25*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pension de la Cuesta B&B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. The place is in a great location, the rooms very clean and the shared bathrooms clean and fine. Staff were friendly, especially David. There is some noise at night (from the road or people getting up to use the bathrooms) but that's true of all places in the city. We found it decent and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peden13
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

My friend and I went to SJ for the first time and needed a place to stay when other plans fell through so we checked around and found this B&B. I called beforehand (Spanish helpful here) and they were very nice and told us the price for 2 people and it was the most reasonable. If you are looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CevicheLover
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

We only stayed here one night on our way to the Caribbean coast and I'm glad it was only one night. Our room was in the main hall pretty close to reception and also really close to the kitchen/shared space. We could hear everything at all hours of the night. Nobody seemed to have respect for other travellers, which is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cynthia B
Buchs St. Gallen, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 March 2015 via mobile

We booked a deluxe double room with private bathroom for our last night of our vacation. Sadly, we were not satisfied at all. The bathroom turned out to be a very small room where you had to cross the shower to reach the toilet. No sink (we wonder how they expect people to brush their theeth - under the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mabetravelling
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2015 via mobile

Our room was full of mosquitos. Whilst our daytime host was knowlegeable he told us that the night porter would call us a cab as he would definitely be there at 5 am. Unfortuantly this wasnt true we nearly missed our bus. Not pleased.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieDonne
Reviewed 22 November 2014 via mobile

Nice location just next to the park. Very friendly and helpful guy at the reception. Our room was very clean with enough space to put your stuff. The bathrooms and showers are clean but scarce (the staff takes showers in them as well). And don't expect a hot shower: when someone else starts using water the shower almost stops (i.e....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reinoudoor
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 20 October 2014

I stayed at this B+B for two days last week and had a really nice experience. The rooms are pretty sparse, but the prices can't be beat and it's in a good location. Very easy walking distance to all the sights. There are three bathrooms for the hotel, and there was always at least one available when I needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heiner S
Roy S, Manager at Pension de la Cuesta B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much Heiner, it was our pleasure to have you as our guest!

Reviewed 17 October 2014

The location is great - close to everything (you can reach any bus terminal for about 2000 colones). Walking distance from the market. A lot of places to eat in the area. It is safe, although we didn't go out late at night. Very well equipped kitchen and a nice living room to relax. The place was quiet and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 22 September 2014

We stayed in this hostel, which is in a dangerous area in San Jose, and had one of the worst stays we've had in 8 months of travelling around the world. We were attacked by bedbugs and had to fight to try and get our money back! As if we should pay anything at all after something like that! The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank meeky82
Roy S, Manager at Pension de la Cuesta B&B, responded to this review

Wwe would like to offer explanation about this complain 1. The guests arrived one day before their reservation check in date , therefore we were unable to notify them about the water issue in the area. 2. Our receptionist did not give them bottle water however they were given a big tankard full of clean water. 3. We did refund...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped here a couple of nights before heading to the Caribbean coast. Very pleasant. Our room was comfortable and reasonably clean. The hotel was quiet but friendly. Shared bathrooms were fine. Helpful staff. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dtb23

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Casino Costa Rica Morazan
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#41 of 84 in San Jose
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#34 of 84 in San Jose
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#22 of 84 in San Jose
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Trianon
Posada Trianon
#39 of 70 in San Jose
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaps Place
Kaps Place
#1 of 70 in San Jose
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1920, first Bed and Breakfast of the capital of Costa Rica, San Jose, it was once home and art gallery to a bevy of local and expatriate artists, including Otto Apuy, Diedre Hyde, and Guillermo Conte, as well as other poets, writers and filmmakers, a place where artists and authors gathered together in its past time. With its handcrafted classic wood frame structure of the entrance and the interior design like colonial style mosaic tile floor of early 19th century, you can see the traces of Costa Rican history and art trough the building. The hotel is located at downtown San Jose,a nice and safe neighborhood, surrounded by great variety of fine restaurants, main bus stations, grocery stores, 3-5 minutes walking distance. We are recommened by mayor travel guides, Lonely Planet,Frommers, Fordor, Moon Book, Let's go. If you are looking for budget and comfort stay, we are your great choice in downtown San Jose. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pension de la Cuesta B&B

Address: Avenida Primera Calle 11 Y 15 | 50 Metros Oeste Parque Nacional, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: £21 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension de la Cuesta B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Pension de la Cuesta B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension De La Cuesta Hotel San Jose
Pension De La Cuesta Bed And Breakfast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pension de la Cuesta B&B staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pension de la Cuesta B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not get room 8 whose window opens to the street.”
aitchm2016, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The double room with bathroom was very private and quiet -- faced away from the street.”
580ly, 22 Jan 2014 | Read review
“nice price with nice service.”
GirasolLi, 14 Jul 2013 | Read review
“The rooms close to the computer place and lounge could be noise, if people talks loud. I was at the room 14 (female dorm) just beside at the computer place, and one night I could not sleep well, because one guy was awake at the computer and all the time he was moving the chair, walking around and the floor is made by wood, so the noise was loud!”
fsdive, 5 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Try to get a dorm away from the street windows.”
SingleNomad, 1 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$25* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$35
Hotwire.comUS$25
Orbitz.comUS$25
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates